We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis in the Forest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Volcano Forest Inn
Ranked #17 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Oasis in the Forest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Nice and Drew Schultz, our warm and friendly hosts, were new the the inn, but they have a lot of plans to make this wonderful B&B even better. Situated in its own rain forest, this place is a birder's paradise (we saw exotic birds like apapane and kalij pheasants from the porch) and it's like having your own private retreat, although the inn is only a very short drive from the volcano park. Our room was much bigger & nicer than the picture on this website! The breakfasts were delicious and there was almond cake in the afternoon to eat with out tea or coffee.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TX-Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    34
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
104
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2010

Beautiful surroundings; sleek and modern decor, warm and gracious innkeepers. Our trip was part family business, part pleasure. A great part of the pleasure was our stay at Volcano Forest Inn. We chose this hotel knowing nothing about it except what we read in a review on the internet.. It was more than we expected. Although it is listed as a hotel It was a bed and breakfast tucked away in the beautiful rain forest surrounding the Kilauea Volcano. The charming hosts were always available when needed and always attended promptly to our requests. Drew and Niecy were charming hosts who were well versed on places to see and things to do in the area. Our room was spotless and roomy, with a gigantic walk-in closet, high ceilings, beautiful bath. It was well-furnished and beautifully appointed. The main gathering area contained the kitchen and dining room which was extremely clean and tastefully decorated. We were served a wonderful breakfast each day which included native fruits and fresh orange juice. Fresh baked sweet bread or other baked desert was always available. We felt really at home here, and well served. Volcano Forest Inn is only yards from the entrance to the Hawaii Volcano National Forst which has some of the most astounding scenery in Hawaii. The Inn is within walking distance to restaurants, shops, and a general store in the small town of Volcano Village. The only thing I would say was a drawback was that it was a little hard to locate. There are light pollution codes in Hawaii which ban the use of big lights so the small sign on the side of the road was inadequate to easily locate the hotel. However, I had the phone number and called and was given easy to follow directions to the Inn. There is no doubt that we will stay there again when we return to the Big Island. Drew and Niecy did a great job of serving us while we were there and we look forward to staying with them again on our next trip. We would recommend this hotel with no hesitation to all of our friends and family. Thank you Drew and Niecy for making us feel so at home away from home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckaruso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

The innkeepers, Drew and Nice' were what made the stay so good. The B&B, which they don't own, could use some sprucing up, although it was perfectly fine. It would also help if they could provide more hot meals at breakfast with more protein. However, we very much enjoyed our stay and enjoyed talking with them and the other guests. The rooms were comfortable, the food was good, and the company excellent.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CeejayteeNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night around Christmas and were pleasantly surprised by the B&B. Facilities were spotless and brand new (it's only a year old) and the room was huge for the two of us. There was a walk-in closet, free wifi and mini-fridge, and even the towels were bleach-white. You have to drive in a bit from the road to get to the lodging, which is fine b/c it's much quieter and feels more secluded. The Inn is right in the middle of a lush rainforest and we saw pheasants walking around. Very peaceful.

For me, my biggest stickler with accommodations is cleanliness, but here there was nothing I could fault (unlike the other place we stayed at the night before in Hilo). The Innkeeper Drew was very warm and helpful - he recommended we visit the caldera at Volcano National Park at night to see the lava glowing, and it was quite exquisite. A good tip for those visiting because most people don't realise the lava glows at night there. My only issue was that because it's a B&B (so it's no fault of the Inn itself), noise can easily spread throughout the place. So when another guest family woke up at 6:30 am and there were what sounded like children running thru the hallways, we woke up too. Other than that minor point, our stay at Volcano Forest Inn overall was a pleasure. Definitely highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobqb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Köln
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2009

Stayed there for two nights only. Drew and Nice make it a very nice and cosy place to stay. Fully recommended!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peppel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.2 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#12 of 31 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Forest Inn

Property: Volcano Forest Inn
Address: 19-4034 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Volcano Forest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the restorative nature of The Big Island of Hawaii’s rain forest and volcanic activity and beauty. Tucked back amidst five tranquil acres, Volcano Forest Inn offers four spacious rooms with rain forest views. Refresh and revive after a hike in Hawaii’s Volcanoes National Park in your spacious room and shower with clean, soft rainwater. Awake to honeycreeper birds singing in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Volcano Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Forest Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing