We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay was fantastic”
Review of Volcano Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Volcano Forest Inn
Ranked #16 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“our stay was fantastic”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

BY READING A FEW OF THESE REVIEWS, IT SEEMS LIKE THEY MUST HAVE STAYED SOMEWHERE ELSE. our stay was absolutley the best out of all the B&B's we have stayed with in the past. The relaxing atmosphere ( so quiet you could here a pin drop! ) nice fresh and lite breakfast to get our day started, host was very accomodating and friendly, and we did have keys!!!! Did hear that they were under new managment, hopefully, people will give this beautiful B&B a try and enjoy it as much as we did!!!

Room Tip: Our room was very spacious (Honeysuckle)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windowman_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    35
    15
    10
    3
See reviews for
32
108
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placerville
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our stay here was wonderful. It is a very quiet and peaceful setting. We enjoyed the fresh fruit with our breakfasts. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful with directions and advice for the nearby attractions. We are looking forward to our return next year, now that we have discovered this island and this jewel of an inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann57CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon, no greeting. Your name is on a board outside with your room # and you go find your room. Key is in the door with your name on the door. That is it no "Hello" or anything. No One is around to greet you. Another couple came while we were bringing in our luggage and they were very confused where to go. I found the women who runs the place and explained to her we had a helicopter ride the next morning and would miss breakfast by about 15 min. Could we have something early or have something packed to take with us, she said NO I do not get up that early, it was 15 minutes. So I aske her when we came back around 10:15 if we could get something and she said NO we do not pack breakfast or save anything after 10am. The rooms were very nice, but no cups in the room to drink water or rine your mouth out after brusing teeth. They take you money and that is it! To Bad. I would never go back or recommend.

Room Tip: The room we had was nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 children and Carlos couldn't be more friendly and accommodating. Easy to find and close to the Volcano park - which made it easy to go see the lava glow at night. Breakfast was fantastic and Carlos made the kids a great breakfast - waffles, fresh sweet papaya, banana.... Egg sandwiches - not sure how this place could get a bad review. Rooms were modern and clean - quiet setting. Thank you, Carlos for making out stay comfortable :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhacklove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea Heights, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were very disappointed with our accommodations compared to other BB's we stayed in the area. In general, the innkeeper did his job, but there was no homey or personal touches to our stay. First of all, it was noisy very early in the morning. The curtains in the room didn't give us very much privacy and the refrigerator froze all of our food. Not only did our breakfast suck, we did not have any choices. Breakfast was late and there seem to no food sanitation procedures. Our papaya was mushy and having a cookie for breakfast seemed that there was nothing else to eat. I though it was tacky that the innkeeper was smoking and drinking beer,( it could be he was on his off time) but was very unprofessional in my opinion. He also spit in the sink, which I thought was gross and disgusting. There was nothing alluring on the property and we were uncomfortable withe fact that we did not have keys to our room to lock up our things or a safe for that matter. There was a few other things, but this pretty much sums it up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haunani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night while exploring the Volcano National Park with our twin girls. The area of Volcano, HI is cold rainy and damp this time of year so be prepared. It reminded us of camping in the woods back East, but Drew was great to make us at home. He warmed up the room, place is spotless and gave us the "inside scoop" on restaurants, what to really see around there and even a cheat sheet of all the key mile markers to stop at on the way south around the island. To top it off, great home cooked Almond Bread and fresh local Papaya in the morning. Thanks Drew and Cece, maybe we'll see ya in CT....although I don't know the mile markers here :)

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorsey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The positives: secluded location, fairly new structure, clean, Botanic Room was very spacious, Drew, the caretaker, was friendly and helpful, hot tea 24/7, no children or pets. What could make this inn better: addition of a juice with the continental breakfast, coffee available 24/7 along with tea, additional towel racks in bathroom with hooks on back of bathroom door. In the Botanic Room: replace or at the very least iron and hang the drapes completely, set the beds closer to the end table, paint the room a color ( a green from the comforter would be nice), hang a few tropical prints on the walls, and put down an area rug or two. Although the room was large, it felt cavernous and cold. If the owner would just make a few improvements, this property could be GREAT!

Room Tip: The Botanic is the largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leelani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.4 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Forest Inn

Property: Volcano Forest Inn
Address: 19-4034 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Volcano Forest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the restorative nature of The Big Island of Hawaii’s rain forest and volcanic activity and beauty. Tucked back amidst five tranquil acres, Volcano Forest Inn offers four spacious rooms with rain forest views. Refresh and revive after a hike in Hawaii’s Volcanoes National Park in your spacious room and shower with clean, soft rainwater. Awake to honeycreeper birds singing in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Volcano Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Forest Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing