We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Bed & Breakfast for Exploring the Big Island”
Review of Volcano Forest Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Volcano Forest Inn
Ranked #15 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Volcano Forest Inn is a great base for exploring the Big Island. Situated literally on the verge of Volcano National Park, surrounded by the rain forest and half an hour drive from the sea turtles at Punalu'u Black Sand Beach, this is right in the center of all the sights. We stayed 5 nights and would have loved to stay 5 more. The farmers' market in Hilo, within half an hours drive from the Inn, is most charming and exotic. You should try the sticky rice and mashed banana wrapped and steamed in a banana leaf. You will also find papayas like you have never tasted before. Our hosts at the Inn Drew and Neecee, also recommended the Shaka Bar, the southernmost bar in the US, a great place for breakfast (try the Portuguese sausage) and local dishes such as the laulau. We also recommend the drive all the way up to the observatory on the Mauna Kea. Volcano Forest Inn was the perfect starting point for all the day trips we did. The rooms are spacious, clean and peaceful with an outdoor patio. Warm coffee and home baked cake in the morning and lots of good advice from Drew and Neecee on what to see and where to go for a meal. Did we mention the free internet? Thanks for a great time! We will surely be back!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank inge b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

My first visit to Hawaii~WOW! The Volcano Forest Inn is a beautiful refuge in the rainforest. My hosts, Drew and Nice were friendly, helpful and down to earth! The inn is extremely well-kept, clean and spacious. The birds singing in the morning were so refreshing to wake up to! I went up to see Kilauea at night and the bright orange glow was magnificent. My hosts recommended hikes, restaurants and special beaches that I would have missed if they had not taken the time to share! Thank you for a wonderful stay at your beautiful and peaceful inn. I will recommend Volcano Forest Inn to my co-workers and family! I’ll be back for sure!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Michigander80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 3 restful nights in the very spacious Rainforest Room at the Volcano Forest Inn during a weekend jaunt in between weeks on Kauai and Maui. The room has larger windows on 3 sides, all looking out on tropical flowers, palms, and trees. The songs of the honeycreepers fill the air at times.

The inn is easy to find in this sleepy little town, and the spirit of Aloha is alive and well there. As is Hawaiian tradition, slippahs (shoes) are left at the door, and the interior is immaculate, warm and inviting! Nice and Drew are passionate about their roles as innkeepers, and welcome guests immediately upon arrival -- leaving us with a "thrilled to have you here!" feeling. They are as social or as "invisible" as you want them to be, but if you take time to sit and "talk story" with them, you'll find they have a great many insights and suggestions to get the most out of your stay in Volcano.

Due to HI state regulations, B&Bs cannot serve meals without a commercial grade kitchen, so this is more of a "B" than a "B&B" at this time. No worries, the general store right down the road has yummy baked goods and beverages at a very fair price (and also rain ponchos and fleece/windbreakers at a much better price than in the park!). Drew and Nice will have coffee and tea ready on your schedule, and may happen to share some of their personal goodies as well.

The Volcano Forest Inn is adjacent to the entrance to Hawai'i National Volcanoes Park, making it an ideal location for Hawaii's #1 tourist attraction. In fact, the inn is just a short 10-minute (if that) drive to Kiluea Crater, which is venting steam now and looks incredible after dark (glowing red). Staying so close to the park makes it easy to come and go to experience the volcano sights in different light.

Be aware that the town of Volcano is more than 3,000 feet above sea level, and as such is cool and often drizzley -- which is all part of the experience of this part of Hawaii! You will need fleece and/or jackets and pants in the evening, when the temps are in the mid- to upper-50's. Volcano Forest Inn has individual room heaters and wonderful hot showers to help take the evening chill off. In the morning, having coffee on the porch, listening to the birds in the forest, is a fitting start to the day!

We are looking forward to enjoying Nice and Drew's warm hospitality again on a future visit!

Room Tip: Check out the virtual tours of each room on their web site to select the right room for your needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent just one night here on our trip to Volcano National Park. Wished we could have stayed longer. The house looks brand new and is located beautifully in the woods. Rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. The owners are a very nice couple who made our stay special. It felt more like visiting friends. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My family stayed here for two nights. We stopped on Hawaii to visit the National Park and to do a lava hike before going on to Kauai. We found the Volcano Forest Inn to be convenient, spacious and immaculate. The innkeepers - Drew and Nice- were lovely - friendly and helpful with suggestions. Nice even got up early to make coffee the day we left knowing that we had an early flight. It is true that no shoes are allowed, there is no breakfast included ( we got the 10% off) and the doors do not lock but none of those things were problems for us. Coming from a metropolitan area it did feel funny not to lock the door but nothing was disturbed or stolen during our long day away from the inn and the breakfast at the Lodge down the road was really great. One of my boys did experience a loss of hot water but we all had hot showers as well. The proximity to the park and to Volcano Village, the huge, immaculate rooms, the lush, quiet surroundings and the congenial hosts are what gave this place 5 stars for us. Volcano is not a resort area. This is part of its charm. Come with those expectations and you'll have a lovely, comfortable, peaceful stay at the Volcano Forest Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScrabbleMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

No key was provided so doors to room could not be locked when away. No breakfast served - 10% discount off room rate given instead. Not enough hot water for three of us to shower. No shoes allowed inside of property. Wifi did not work. We selected this property based on the other glowing reviews but our experience was quite different.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beau L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed there for two nights and it is a a great place to be after a visit to Volcano National Park. We were welcomed with open arms to a clean and beautiful room and a great morning breakfast in the forest.

Thank you and best regards,

Elisabeth & Lars

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
0.9 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.8 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 22 in Volcano
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#16 of 32 in Volcano
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Forest Inn

Address: 19-4034 Old Volcano Road, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $160 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Volcano Forest Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience the restorative nature of The Big Island of Hawaii’s rain forest and volcanic activity and beauty. Tucked back amidst five tranquil acres, Volcano Forest Inn offers four spacious rooms with rain forest views. Refresh and revive after a hike in Hawaii’s Volcanoes National Park in your spacious room and shower with clean, soft rainwater. Awake to honeycreeper birds singing in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Volcano Forest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Forest Inn Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing