We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway and highlight of our trip”
Review of Crater Rim Cabin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crater Rim Cabin
Ranked #5 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Williams Lake, Canada
1 review
“The perfect getaway and highlight of our trip”
Reviewed April 27, 2010

The service and attention to detail was far beyond our expectations. We were greeted with chocolates, fresh fruit, coffee, milk, eggs, bread, all the condiments that would have been our own fridge. This cabin is on the volcano! The cabin has a spit personality of a perfect romantic hidaway for a couple and a great safe haven for a family. You really can park your car in the carport of the cabin and Barry will come out when you honk! Barry was great with all the information and tips we needed for the volcanos national park. I am so glad we didn't book a tour! He had the electric blankets turned on and ready, the fire place was sooo cozy. Our son felt as though we were being taken care of by family.The beautiful cabin was exactly right, we found there was plenty of room for 2 adults and a 9 year old. The cabin is about 2 minutes from the Volcano National Park, perfect for us as we spent a lot of time there.Hilo is only 30 minutes away and as easy drive. Don't miss out on the real Hawaii and this wonderful accomadation. The gentlemen gave us as much privacy as we wanted, yet were there if we needed anything. The linens and toiletries were very well stocked, and we had everything we needed and more. We will definitly be back, the cabin was the highlight of our trip! I would make this cabin for my base for the entire island as all the beaches and great spots really are very near. It is the very best place to stay on the island as we tryied to a few other places. We can't wait to get back to the tropic's and rainforrests. We wish that we had more time to socialize with the owners, that would have been great! Thank you so much Barry & Jim

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghcallender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
129
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midwest
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

The cabin is lovely and comfortable with exquisite touches such as a wood-burning stove, rain-water showers, CDs to play, a lovely reading nook, chocolate covered macadamias, breakfast in a private garden and an all-around tranquil setting. Jim will turn on the fire and the bed warmer every night so you come home to a very cozy spot. (In spring it can get nippy in the mountains though it warms up during the day). The town of Volcano is 15 minutes away if you need anything and/or you want to dine at a nice restaurant. The cabin is an out of the way spot-- 2 hours from Kona and 45 minutes from Hilo and the beaches but well worth it for seeing Volcanoes National Park, which, is not to be missed if you like natural wonders. The stars and the Halema'uma'u crater are amazing at night. All in all the area and the cabin are very special places.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, wa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

The perfect cabin, old but all the plumbing and electrical work well. It is super clean and well maintained. Homey feeling but so interesting with antique pieces, great lamps, Jim's famous photos of the volcano, fun dishes, and more. Private, it is a standalone cabin with flora and fauna in all directions, but comforting and convenient to know that the owners are several yards away on the other side of their lush rain forest yard if you need them. You are in the rain forest and it feels and looks like it here. And you are less than 5 minutes from the gates to the National Park. And 5 minutes from the town with the store and a few restaurants. Perfect local for seeing all you can of the volcano and the rain forest without wasting time driving to it.
Having lived there for many years, the owners know the area and what's available. They recommended hikes, and knew how we could get the latest info on the lava flows, and were a wealth of knowledge. The owners have worked as a volcanologist and a photographer at this volcano.
Our young kids (ages 8 and 11) loved it here, especially the yard, watch out for the drop off, anther geological sight in itself! Breakfast fixings are provided you cook yourself, great coffee!
If/when we come again, we’re staying here!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iremembertheopera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I can't compliment Crater Rim Cabin enough. As everyone else has said, the gentlemen who own the property are exceptionally nice, helpful, and friendly. They're quick to answer any questions or to give advice concerning where to go, what to do, or where to eat. The grounds are beautiful. The garden is amazing.

The cabin itself was more than I hoped for and exactly what I wanted a cabin in the woods to be like. While secluded, it possesses excellent amenities. It is generously sized for two and could easily accommodate a family. For our two night stay, the hosts provided food including bread, cereals, coffee, eggs, jams, fresh fruit and more. The cabin also has a full kitchen with stove, oven, and microwave. It's also worth pointing out that the cabin is exceptionally clean, more than most hotel rooms on the island.

The location also can't be beat. It's less than 5 minutes from the park entrance and only a couple of miles from the town of Volcano Village.

When we arrived, we were welcomed by a sign hanging in the covered carport as well as one of the proprietors who gave us a tour of the cabin. The gas stove was warming the cabin and the electric blanket was warming the bed. There was a list of local places to eat, and we were given an excellent suggestion of where to get a somewhat late dinner. The following morning we enjoyed a cup of hot tea while wandering the backyard and the garden. When ready to head out to tour the park, they told us the "not to miss" places, particularly since our stay was so short.

We have already discussed a future/longer trip to the area and will with out doubt be staying here. It was absolutely perfect!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2010

Crater rim cabin was fantastic. The gentlemen who run it are warm and friendly, it's incredibly clean, and it's very close to Volcano National Park. The garden is beautiful though we didn't venture out into it much as it is cold and rainy most of the time in Volcano. Very generous breakfast items provided. There is certainly space for one or two young children in the cabin though it would be tight for school-aged kids and older with their parents. The bed was not as comfortable for my preference but I'm sure there are others who would disagree.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmom39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Our stay at The Crater Rim Cabin was one of the most memorable accommodations either of us had ever experienced. A stay in the Cabin is worth rearranging your schedule for – it’s the best bargain on the island.

When we arrived at the cabin, our host was putting finishing touches to the place. He personally took us thru the rooms, pointing out all amenities including fresh water, coffee and food waiting for us in the kitchen, an electric blanket warming the bed in the bedroom, floor-to-ceiling windows in the bath (with an endless supply of fluffy towels), a library of information about the volcano and the local area – and a backdoor to the crater in the backyard. The entire cabin was spotless and perfectly appointed – we felt like we were in a magazine spread. Our hosts were quick to respond to all our questions; we could not have asked for more. Its central location is breathtaking and the hosts unbeatable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItchyFeetYV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Crater Rim Cabin was an amazing place to stay. Just minutes from the entrance to Volcano National Park, this private cabin is run by two lovely owners who live on the same property. Isolated amid lush vegetation, we felt like the only people on earth. Every detail is attended to. The full kitchen was great for cooking up a hearty breakfast before spending the day hiking in the park. The kitchen was stocked with breakfast foods : bread, butter, milk, condiments, coffee, and tea. The place was imbeccably clean and beautifully decorated. A little tricky to find, the owners are more than glad to help guide you there when lost, but directions were never a problem from there again. We also got to see some Nene wandering around on the golf course. We plan to go back someday and stay longer!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.1 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
889 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
900 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Rim Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Rim Cabin

Property: Crater Rim Cabin
Address: 23 Golf Links Road, Crater Rim Drive, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718-0045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, private cabin in the forest at the edge of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Close to the National Park entrance. Perfect for couples and families with small children. Full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Rim Cabin Hotel Volcano
Crater Rim Cabin Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing