We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right close to Hilo”
Review of Crater Rim Cabin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crater Rim Cabin
Ranked #5 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a good B&B cabin between Volcano and Hilo in the heart of the best place on this planet.
If you are in volcano this is the place to stay.
Being from Asia this was a really good place to stay. Me Barry is nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labreview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 209 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We recently returned from a two week stay in Hawaii. We spent the first three days at Crater Rim. The property is located on a Crater Rim and you are told not to explore this beautiful property at night because there are large holes that you can fall through! Not to mention the edge of the property is on a cliff and you can fall straight down.!!!! It's all true. Barry and Jim are the owners, but the B&B is clearly Barry's baby. We arrived at 11:00 and Barry was busy cleaning the cabin. We dropped off our luggage, went to Volcano National Park , returned at 4:00 and Barry was still busy cleaning the cabin. The cabin is VERY CLEAN and NEAT. The area tends to be rainy and damp, so it's necessary to keep a dehumidifier on while you are out, and there is a gas stove to keep on while you are there, plus an electric blanket, so the cabin is very comforatable. Plenty of food is provided for breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The cabin is simple, but full of nice touches that make it very homey. Having a kitchen to cook in was decided advantage, and the supplies laid in by Barry (the most excellent host) were entirely adequate for breakfast. If you plan to do more cooking, don't count on the stores in Volcano, bring supplies from Hilo or markets. Barry's lived here a long time and is full of good tips.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tracy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We struck a very comfortable balance with the owners. They were helpful, attentive and considerate of our comfort and privacy. Very pretty and comfortable cabin with all necessary conveniences. We enjoyed cooking some dinners and pairing with wine from the nearby Volcano Winery. We like their Symphony wine very well, especially with takeout Pad Thai or Curries from nearby Thai Thai also a favorite. With such close access to the park, we were able to see everything we wanted, including very special experiences, such as the Thurston Lava Tube at night, with no crowds. We also found trips into Hilo, to Mauna Kea Visitor Center and the like to reasonable undertakings from Volcano. Our expectations were high, based on reviews, and they were met or exceeded by our experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The cabin is spacious and includes a bedroom area (the bed was quite firm), living area, full kitchen and bathroom. In addition there is a large garden area to enjoy that goes right up to the edge of the crater. The owner who met us was very friendly and provided advice about the local sights and sounds, which was particularly useful because the National Park (literally next door) was shut at the time. Some food supplies were provided for breakfast, but we had already stocked up at the grocery store. Good place to stay if you want some peace and quiet (there is wi-fi to keep you connected to the rest of the world though!).

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EchidnandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We were lucky that the ONLY two nights this lovely cabin was available in late November were the two nights we needed! From the moment we arrived to find the whiteboard sign welcoming us with our names and "Aloha!" we knew we were "home." Barry was putting the finishing touches on the inside (cabin is immaculate as others have previously stated), yet he helped us bring our luggage from the car.

He offered us suggestions for dining in the area and tips on visiting the park as well as the local Farmers' Market on Sunday. The cabin is very cozy with a king bed with electric blanket for those chilly nights, and plenty of lighting for reading all of the area guidebooks and maps provided in a large wicker basket. The kitchen is stocked with everything you need for breakfast, including a fruit basket, Kona coffee, tea, milk, cream, eggs, bread, jam, butter, honey and various cereals.

The bathroom is small but very adequate with plenty of towels, paper goods and toiletries.

The grounds are spectacular. You can tell that Barry is passionate about gardening. Barry and Jim live next door and there is an intercom so you can reach them if you have any questions.

We loved their line of soft goods from their business "Tutu Nene" and Barry let us shop in the warehouse which is adjacent to the carport. We took quite a few items home and placed a special order for more to be delivered after the holidays (they were in a backorder situation as their goods are popular with many local stores and museum shops). Tenants receive a 15% discount.

When we checked out we found that we had "lost" our food cooler (it turned up later packed inside another bag) and Barry offered us a Styrofoam cooler left by a previous tenant -- very generous.

We only wish that Barry and Jim were our neighbors at home as they are delightful guys and we really enjoyed them and left feeling that we were friends and not tourists. We highly recommend this B & B to everyone (and we hardly ever stay at B & B's). Thank you to those whose reviews preceded ours for helping us to find this charming place in Volcano!

Tip: The right turn for their private road is just before the Golf Course clubhouse. It actually looks like you're turning into the parking lot. You go a short 1/2 mile on this gravel road. Take it easy as there are plenty of potholes and look for the #23 sign for their driveway. The privacy and peace are well worth it!

We will share photos at a later date - took quite a few! Those already on this website are very accurate.

Room Tip: It's all good -- only the one king bed and then a futon in the living room. It would be cozy fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed at the cabin for 3 nights. The cabin is about 10 min drive from Volcano National Park and also served us as a good jump point to visit the Hilo side of the Island. I would also recommend it for exploring the areas south of Kona.

Cabin has full sized fridge, stove, microwave, kettle, toaster, sink and cooking utensils, so if you pick up some groceries on the way, you can prepare your own meals. Inside, it has a kitchen, bathroom, living area and bedroom, so quite spacious for two. It has charm and personality. You won't find a dishwasher or a Jacuzzi tub, but in no way does that take away from the comfortable and cozy environment. And, yes other reviews have mentioned this, but the place scrupulously clean.

Our host was knowledgeable about the area and very willing to share information to improve our vacation to the park and the area in general. We felt welcomed and would recommend this cabin to friends and would hope to return someday ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StewartTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
2.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.7 mi away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
719 reviews
3.2 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
433 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Rim Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Rim Cabin

Address: 23 Golf Links Road, Crater Rim Drive, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718-0045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $165 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, private cabin in the forest at the edge of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Close to the National Park entrance. Perfect for couples and families with small children. Full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Rim Cabin Hotel Volcano
Crater Rim Cabin Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing