We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”
Review of Crater Rim Cabin

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crater Rim Cabin
Ranked #5 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were so happy to find Crater Rim Cabin for the first stop on our island hopping honeymoon! We really enjoyed ourselves here. The library of guidebooks and maps were incredibly helpful, as was Barry himself. I really felt like we were staying at a good friend's house, albeit a good friend who keeps their place impeccably clean, offers a good balance of hospitality and privacy, and stocks the fridge for you! It was a great home base from which to explore the park and the island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 209 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

My significant other and I stayed at the Crater Rim Cabin for 2 nights. We were very happy to get the cabin after reading all the reviews online. I think the reviews do a good job of descibing the place. Our host, Barry, did a good job of making us feel welcome.
The Crater Rim Cabin is located within 2.5 miles of the National Park. It is a secluded place for sure.
When we arrived, we immediately saw the attention to detail.
This place is beautiful and lush and very nice. There are numerous windows that brighten this local, almost rustic cabin. The cabin looks out on the property that Barry maintains so well.
The king size bed was very comfortable. The gas fireplace makes for a nice touch. The electric blankets on the beds make for warm cozy sleeping in a damp, cold environment.
I appreciate everything Berry did for us during our stay and suggest anyone give it a try if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank May2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband made all the arrangements for our 25th wedding anniversary trip and he made a great choice with the Crater Rim Cabin. We arrived at Volcanoes National Park on a dreary, rainy, chilly March afternoon, but my mood improved dramatically when we checked in at the cabin. It's got great character - somewhat rustic but nicely furnished with a sort of Arts and Crafts period style. All the lamps and candles made the place cheerful, as did our host Barry who greeted us. The many nice and interesting touches of hospitality were appreciated, such as watching the hula festival DVDs while eating the complimentary chocolate-covered macadamia nuts after a day of hiking at the park. We would be delighted to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We loved our 3 night stay at Crater Rim Cabin in Feb 2013. Our hosts were so welcoming and had truly thought of everything we could need (including all the baby stuff that comes with travelling with a 9 month old). The cabin was spotless, the stocked fridge was great and we loved all the resource information that was provided.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingm0mcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at Crater Rim for 2 nights last year and are planning to stay again for our 2013 trip for 3 nights.
This cabin is a wonderful gem. It is very peaceful and there is a full kitchen that is stocked with some breakfast items and fruit. The cabin is 5 minutes or so from Volcano Park. We met Barry when we arrived and he went over all the local restaurants, farmers markets and suggested we head over to the park to check out the 'glow'. What a great suggestion, we did just that and saw one of the most incredible sights. The cabin is a stand alone building and you have a carport to park in. The hosts live in their home on the property but the lush rain forest provides a lot of privacy. We didn't see the hosts once we arrived because we left before dawn and arrived late at night but I felt if we needed anything they would be accomondating. Can't say enough about how great this place is. We stayed in the winter and loved the fire stove and electric blanket.

Room Tip: If you are staying a few days stop at the grocery store on the way and stock up on lunch, dinner ite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustav2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Years ago my husband and I vacationed on the big island and stayed in Kona. We vowed next time we visited to stay in Volcano. After a lot of research we came across Crater Rim Cabin. A number of emails and phone calls later we booked the cabin for 7 nights. A week or so before the trip Jim contacted us with directions, maps and a phone number in case we got lost finding the cabin. The directions were great! We drove down the private drive and the first thing we saw were wild pigs crossing the road. We found the cabin and were met with a welcoming sign personalized with our names. Immediately we felt like we were welcome!

After getting into the cabin, we were amazed at how clean it was - Barry (one of the owners) was inside still cleaning. There was an immediate connection and we felt like we were home.

Barry and Jim were there when you needed them providing suggestions, directions and supplies as needed. Barry realized I liked one of the cereals so he made sure there was plenty for me to eat. The fridge was stocked with eggs, homemade jam (delicious) and milk (I needed special milk and Barry made sure it was in the fridge for me!). There was also local honey - which was great.

We had been out all day and it was getting dark and did not leave a light on, so Barry went to the cabin and turned on the stove to warm the cabin, and turned on the electric blanket to warm the bed! Talk about service. It was so nice to come back to a warmed house (yes, it does get chilly during Jan in Volcano!) and a warmed bed.

The next time we come back to Volcano, we will definitely stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbaragvSkillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Return trip with same top rating. Thanks to Barry, attention to cabin amenties outstanding. Secluded location yet not far from town. Tropical setting (thanks Barry AND Jim) makes a picture perfect vacation.
Highly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Luxury one bedroom cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
2.5 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.7 mi away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
719 reviews
3.2 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
433 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crater Rim Cabin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Rim Cabin

Address: 23 Golf Links Road, Crater Rim Drive, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96718-0045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $165 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded, private cabin in the forest at the edge of Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Close to the National Park entrance. Perfect for couples and families with small children. Full kitchen, bathroom, bedroom and great room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Rim Cabin Hotel Volcano
Crater Rim Cabin Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing