We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crater Rim Cabin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Volcano House(Hawaii Volcanoes National Park)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
202
10
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe kitchenelectric blanketsfruitnational parkthe big islandliving roomwonderful hostsgas fireplacevacation rentallarge bedroomchain of craters roadlocal informationking bedfelt like homeour night staymin drivespent three nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 215 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This place is awesome! There isn't anything I can add that other reviewers haven't already said. Don't wonder if you will like Crater Rim Cabin, or worry if it is a good place, just book it if you can get it and enjoy! It couldn't be cleaner, cozier, or more amazing. Barry is a truly wonderful host and is so knowledgeable about the area that he pretty much planned our visit to Volcanoes NP for us. We were on east coast time and Barry didn't even mind our coming and going at 2:00 in the morning. Along those lines, keep in mind there aren't any 24 hour food options in the area so plan accordingly if you are jetlagged. Fortunately the cabin was so well stocked with fruits, cereals, bread, jams, eggs, juice, milk, etc that we had enough food to get by. Seeing the lava glow in the distance while sitting on the outdoor bench sipping coffee at CRC is one of my favorite memories of all time! The only "negative" is that now my kids are insistent that we buy electric blankets for all the beds at home. Book this place, you won't regret it. Thanks Barry for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frescafizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We started out our vacation staying at the Crater Rim Cabin, and we couldn't have been happier. Greeted immediately with a sign welcoming us as we pulled in (nice touch!) to also immediately being greeted by Barry one of the co-owners. Warm, genuine, funny, and down to earth, describes Barry. He showed us all around our cabin, and gave us helpful tips about the area and what to see. The attention to detail in keeping the Cabin humidity free (something we didn't realize until we were in our hotel in Kona for the remainder of our trip) was amazing. Never seemed stuffy or hot. Just cool and inviting. The Cabin, you just want to curl up and reeeelaaaax. Stay at least 3 nights so you can do and see everything in the area, and definitely go to Kailula Kitchen, great food!

We were referred to this Cabin by friends, and we will definitely refer others.

Aloha and mahalo nui loa!
Nicole

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicoleeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My husband, our 8 year old daughter and I stayed at Crater Rim Cabin back in March. I apologize for not writing this sooner. As others have said, Barry was the perfect host. He greeted us, showed us everything we needed to know about the cabin, and gave us all sorts of information on the area and where to eat. The room was spotless, and he thought of everything we could need. My daughter has some severe food allergies - and he even had not just one, but several types of gluten free cereals for her. He also got her some 100% pure juice boxes in addition to the eggs and fruits and other food they left for us. I have to say out of our entire 2 week vacation in Hawaii - this place was the most kid friendly and allergy aware of all the places we stayed. My daughter was so excited that she had her own bed and own special foods. She also loved the wall of windows and the cool mirror in the bathroom that could raise up and become a window. Thank you Barry and Jim for all your thoughtfulness and a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ookpik-AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We arrived at Crater Rim Cabin with a big welcome sign – we knew we picked well. Barry and Jim are just great hosts – I love the space that they created: warm, welcoming, and easy to be in. I really appreciated the humidifier which kept the dampness out, along with the fireplace. Though major props go to the heating blanket which WE LOVED. They provide plenty of information to make your visit a good one: maps, trail guides, bird and plant charts, and books on all aspects of Hawaii including, of course, the volcanoes. Barry gave us great advice on what to check out – I especially appreciated seeing the red glowing Halema’uma’u Crater at night, hiking the Kilauea Iki trail and driving the Chain of Craters road.

If you are going to spend any time at Volcano – this is the place to stay. You won’t regret it! We’ll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We loved our stay at Crater Rim Cabin. Barry and Jim are the perfect hosts and they have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and memorable. The cabin has a beautiful redwood interior, hardwood floors, and attractive furnishings. Everything you need to make a hearty breakfast is waiting for you. The gas fireplace and electric blanket on the bed will keep you warm on those chilly nights and mornings at the 4000’ elevation. The cabin has maps, trail guides, bird and plant charts, and books on all aspects of Hawaii including, of course, the volcanoes. Jim, in his days with the USGS, has taken spectacular photos of volcanic activity. The grounds are beautiful – we’re sorry we won’t be around to see Jim’s dahlia garden in full bloom.
The highlights of our one whole day here were hiking the Kilauea Iki trail, driving to the end of the Chain of Craters Road and watching the red glowing Halema’uma’u Crater as the sun set. Thanks, Barry, for all of the great advice on what to see and do.
We can’t wait to return to the Big Island and Crater Rim Cabin.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews