We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hapu'u Fern Cottage at Volcano Village
Nearby Hotels
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
$122
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalaekilohana(Naalehu)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
8
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
2
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This place is AWESOME hot tub fireplace two bedrooms comfortable beds ect. I would recomend this B&B to all my freinds even you local guys!!!! Come for the weekend with the wife my wife did!
Mahalo nui loa Ches & Emerald Family

Room Tip: Get this place for at least a week two days is way to short for this side of the island
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chesley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Loved the hot tub, videos, cleanliness of the home,and the wonderful decorations on the walls. A lot of heart went into including all the comforts needed for a nice getaway. Mahalo again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlenna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed for two nights at Hap'u Fern Cottage. The owners Karen and Terry were lovely and had thought of all the little touches, fresh fruit, coffee, breakfast food etc. The cottage is well equipped with all that you could need for a holiday, with plenty of towels and kitchen utensils. The furnishings were a little outdated for our taste, (VCR instead of DVD, no children's TV channels, water coolers for drinking water) - however I appreciate that this is personal preference and everything was maintained in good order and clean.

My only gripe, and in some respects should have expected it, as the house is situated in the middle of a rain forest, it was extremely damp and the smell of mildew was a little overpowering (with an attempt to cover it up by overuse of air freshners!). As my husband suffers from Asthma, this was exacerbated during our stay. The cottage was also cold and even in August we felt the need to use the fire. If felt like the cottage needed a good airing!

That said, the cottage is in a fantastic location for the Volcano's National Park and we spent two fantastic days in the park and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DawnPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have stayed at the cottage on three occasions. Each time we were met by the friendly owner and reminded about the amenities. The cottage is always clean and decorated with fresh flowers. The wood burning stove and hot tub were both very welcome during the chilly evenings. The beds were very comfortable. Not really any grocery stores nearby so do your shopping before you get to the community of Volcano.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happytravelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Booked this cottage via Hawaii Volcano Vacations (great virtual tour and photos of the cottage) after having second thoughts about staying at the park hotel in a single room. This is a 2 bedroom, 1.5 bath cottage in Volcano Village in a park like setting, that is very convenient to the Village and a mile or so from the park. We enjoyed our stay there with our two kids, (11 and 8) and the hot tub was wonderful option at the end of a day of hiking through the park. Continental breakfast included, the only item of discontent is that the price goes up for $20/person when booking more than 2 people. Other then that, there is little not to like about this cottage. It made us feel like home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank dimitri7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews