We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally serene Nohea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Places

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Places
Ranked #6 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Totally serene Nohea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Just recently stayed in Nohea - after flying 9 hours, almost 3 hours waiting in Honolulu airport, flight to Hilo, and heavy rain we were very warmly welcomed by the lovely Kathryn to Nohea in this rainforest paradise.
With the rain continuing outside the hot tub was welcome relief after the long travel, after which we then slept in the cozy king bed for 15hours!!!
Sadly I had a phone interview planned the next morning which delayed our sightseeing in the park, however with Kathryn's rundown the previous night & supply of information we were well & truly ready to go once able.
Anything you can think of is here, this truly is a luxury cottage & I couldn't recommend it enough - in fact I already did so at our next accommodation!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePassionateShopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
87
196
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tampa, fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a great experience at our first B&B stay. Kathryn was extremely helpful and had lots of great tips and advise for visiting the volcano park. The accommodations were cozy and well equipped and located a short drive from the park and the local dining options. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ar-tampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VIC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is the best B & B I have EVER stayed in. It is quiet, secluded and magical.
We spent 4 nights here in AUG 2012 and we loved every second! The bed is comfy, the kitchen is lovely, gas fire adds to the feel of the place, the outdoor areas are great for afternoon reading.

It has a hot tub and vertical spa - which make relaxing after a day of exploring much easier.
Your host Kathryn has endless information on the area and was so helpful for us "first timers" to the Big Island. Make sure you eat at the Thai restaurant (in the hardware store) it is amazing. The lodge put on a fantastic Birthday dinner for us as well. and the Kiawe Kitchen served the Best pork sandwiches in the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbles82vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, UT
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

It doesn't get much more peacefule than a beautiful handcrafted cottage in the rain forest. Put it next to the volcano and it becomes exotic and wonderful. My wife and I stayed at the Nohea cottage and it was absolutley gorgeous. The detail in this cottage was wonderful. We spent all day the park and enjoyed relaxing nights at the cottage. My only regret is we didn't stay longer. We would for sure come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Kate's Volcano Cottage is a beautiful, quaint cottage in Volcano on the Big Island of Hawaii. This place definitely exceeded our expectations. The cottage has a complete kitchen with all the necessary cooking equipment and coffee, tea, etc included. There is a double bed and a futon, so a family of four would fit comfortably. There's a TV in the room if you have enough energy at the end of the day to watch something. Plenty of information provided on all of the local attractions. Kathryn, the host, was on hand to answer any questions and/or offer tips for the area. She was also very interested in hearing about your daily adventures. Definitely a gem!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Volcano Places while visiting Volcano National Park. Kathryn is a wonderful hostess. She gave us many suggestions and thought of everything we could have possibly needed during our stay. It was a quiet retreat for us, and we loved every minute we spent at the cottage as well as in the Park.

The bed is very comfortable. Kathryn had three robes ready for my family. The pantry had oatmeals and cereal as well as tea and coffee. The kitchen had every appliance one needs for a home away from home.

The laundry facility was great and easy to use. Kathryn had detergent ready for laundry and kitchen. Parking was great.

The retreat itself is in perfect location and just beautiful setting with native giant fern trees and flowers. My daughter even said that she preferred the cottage over the beach resort we were in on Kohala coast.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulafille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at The Wright Place as part of our honeymoon adventure on the Big Island. I would definitely recommend Kathryn's newest property to anyone who needs privacy of their own little cottage in the middle of the tropical forest. At the same time the house is very close to the town's restaurants and the farmers market is very close as well.

Kathryn is the nicest person on the planet as she will provide you lots of useful information about the area and will equip you with all necessary information. At the same time she will let you enjoy your privacy and will not disturb you at any cost.

The house is very clean and has all amenities one could wish for. In the bedroom you will find many blankets and pillows, the bathroom has eco friendly toiletries and in the kitchen you will find Kona coffee and a fairly big selection of teas. There are also many DVD available in the house, a huge TV and a nice fireplace. The house is surrounded by calming garden full of fern.

There is also big paring spot in front of the house.

Room Tip: Stay at least 2 nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIMaroungtheglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.8 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
1.7 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Places? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Places

Property: Volcano Places
Address: Volcano Hi 96785-0159, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0159
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Volcano Places Hotel Volcano
Volcano Places Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing