We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nohea Cottage--where peace comes dropping slow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Places

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Volcano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Volcano Places
Ranked #6 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nohea Cottage--where peace comes dropping slow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

This beautiful tranquil cottage in the midst of a rainforest reminded me of William Yeat's famous poem, "I will arise and go now and go to Innisfree, and a small cabin build there with bee and wattles made...' The cabin was small as a house, but spacious as a cottage, incredibly peaceful and romantic. The intricate craftsman wood and open space of the cottage was filled with built in window seats in the living room and bedroom, french doors opened everywhere to the rain forest that surrounds the cottage. Three walls in the bedroom are window, a hob room opens to a covered lanai to sit or picnic. There is a wood heating stove, an entertainment area and a gourmet kitchen. I am so SAD this cottage is not in California. We went because it was near the park; if it was close, we would return yearly just to be there. Very reasonably priced for the luxury. Ably found for us by Leslie Borghetti of Custom Travel in Nadick Massachusetts, the travel agent for my husband's company who has an independent company on her own. We recommend both Nohea and Leslie very highly. The owner Kathryn was also very helpful, even let us do our laundry during our three night stay there.

Room Tip: It's a cottage you cant get a better room. It is the best of the four cottages they rent, I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca1932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
87
196
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
543 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 549 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stayed at the Wright Place for 3 nights; it was cozy, clean, and super convenient to the park. It was just right for two adults, I think more would be pushing it. The kitchen area is small, but we were still able to whip up a dinner and eat sitting on the floor. We made use of the coffee and breakfast cereals, as well. Also watched some of the DVDs provided on the eruptions in the park, a nice touch. There was also a binder with local restaurants and menus; also an e-mail was provided before hand with lots of local info in it. The only thing I didn't like is that the bathroom is between the bedroom and the rest of the suite; so if you wake up and your partner is using the bathroom, you have to either bust in or wait until they are done before you can go get coffee started, etc. I got stuck the other way, too, where I wanted to go back into the bedroom but was stuck waiting because I didn't want to bust in. The wireless internet was REALLY tough, we both had a hard time connecting.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rooindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

We stayed at Nohea for 3 nights at the end of April 2011. Arriving was easy (2.5 hour drive from Kona airport) thanks to Kathryn's excellent directions and what an impression it makes! We initially tried to book Kate's Cottage, but it was already booked for the nights we wanted and Kathryn persuaded us that Nohea is actually a couple's retreat - she's not wrong! This place is a beautifully created home (obviously made with much love!) - one of those that makes you excited the minute you open the door (particularly the private hot tub). We were delighted Kathryn had twisted our arms.

As a base for visiting the national park it was excellent - Volcano village is very close to the park entrance so it was easy to go up during the day and night (avoiding the crowds at the same time). Kathryn is one of the most helpful hosts I have ever met, showing us maps, books, hiking trails and generally giving advice on where to go and what to do. She sent copious amounts of information by email as well before we'd set off from the UK.

Volcano village itself is small, but seemingly with a wealth of excellent places to stay (and some good eateries too), but if you want to self cater in the kitchen at Nohea, follow Kathryn's advice and find a superstore as you're leaving the airport rather than waiting to get to Volcano to shop as the 2 local stores are a bit limited. We decided not to self cater so we picked up enough to make ourselves lunch in the local stores which was easy (Nohea already has plenty of items for breakfast including delicious local coffee straight from the farmer).

If you book here you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

My boyfriend and I only spent two nights at Kate's Volcano Cottage but wish we could have stayed longer. The cabin, formerly a carport, was elegant, tidy, and super-private. (We live in New York City, so the silence was almost Blair Witch-y by comparison.) Kathryn and her husband did a lovely job outfitting these cottages: The kitchen was fully stocked, the bed huge and comfortable, and the outdoor dining area just charming as all get-out.

Unfortunately there was no surface action when we visited the volcano, but because Kate's is located so close to the national park, we were able to return around 10:30pm and have a private show: The park was deserted and it was just us, the glowing-red steam, the starry sky... and maybe the Blair Witch. But seriously—I'm happy we didn't do what so many other tourists we met did, which is blow through the volcano in a few hours and not really experience it or Volcano Village at night. It also helps that Kathryn is so educated about the volcano and the surrounding area; her enthusiasm definitely rubs off. And we love that she equips the cabins with flash lights and head lights — perfect for exploring the lava tube that lays just beyond Thurston.

If you do stick around for dinner, check out Thai Thai. The "Thai-hot" spice scale is a bit exaggerated (I ordered the hottest dish they made and barely flinched), but the food is decent. Skip the spring rolls; it's $10.99 for mostly lettuce.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gadfly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed in Kate's Cottage for four nights while we explored Volcanoe National Park, Hilo and surrounding areas. We loved the cottage. It's so beautifully made with all the wood, giving it such a warm feel. We enjoyed having the kitchen to cook every morning and loved sitting outside on the private deck while we ate our breakfast. The bed was very comfortable, I loved the heating pad on it- It was great to have after a day outside, especially on days that it rained. It can get chilly up there in the evenings. Overall we loved Kate's Cottage and would definitely return next time we are on the Big Island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed for three nights in Kate's Cottage at Volcano Places. It was a delightful discovery, tucked away in the rainforest near Volcanos Ntl Park. A very clean, comfortable and cozy spot for two people. The owner, Kate, keeps wonderful information on all volcanic happenings in the area. This provided a helpful intro to the two days we spent hiking in the Ntl park. A wonderful getaway1

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfeifavs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We recently returned from a week-long, around-the-island vacation on the Big Island. We began planning for our trip by booking this property first. I knew from looking at Kathryn's photos that we wanted to stay at one of her properties rather than anywhere else in Volcano Village. Kahi Malu was our cottage in Paradise. No detail is overlooked -- from slippers, flashlights, and umbrellas that one can borrow, to coffee, breakfast items, and the most wonderful bed-warmers anyone has ever had the opportunity to snuggle into -- Kahi Malu has everything. Kathryn is a font of information about the area and the National Park. My favorite moment was when she was visiting with us, and she reached up above the tv armoir to whip down an entire stack of full-size laminated maps of the volcano. My friend, you definitely knew the way to this geologist's heart! LOL

Kathryn's husband, Kenneth, is a master woodworker, and his designs lend a wonderful beauty that compliments the cottage's location in the rainforest. We also enjoyed Kathryn's tips about the Saturday morning Farmer's Market, and which restaurant(s) to go to in the Village. After she gave us the warning about how hot and spicy the Thai food is, I ordered my food with 'small kine' hot. It was still like fire -- I'd hate to think what 'hot' really is! All in all our stay was wonderful, and we'll definitely plan to stay there again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coralgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
1.8 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
1.4 mi away
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
1.7 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Places? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Places

Property: Volcano Places
Address: Volcano Hi 96785-0159, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785-0159
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Volcano Places Hotel Volcano
Volcano Places Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing