We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
$122
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kalaekilohana(Naalehu)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
252
42
11
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
42
11
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest houseguest cottageoutdoor showerjapanese soaking tubgranolaour honeymoonrainforest retreatbamboo cottagebagelsfruitthe big islandowners peternational parkother guestsbreakfast basketkona coffeeselection of teas
Filter
Updating list...
278 - 283 of 314 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
531
Reviewed November 20, 2005

We liked this place overall. The breakfast is nothing to write home about.

Pros: it was secluded, you did not see other guests from your cottage, the bedding was clean, no bugs (well perhaps some small innocuous spiders), great hottub outside (some cottages have a hottub and one has a Japanese ofuro), good selection of teas.
Cons: relatively high price (given the poor breakfast), cheap continental breakfast (in fact they should not even claim to provide breakfast as it was just a few fruits and not more than a snack), watered down organic soaps (if it's too expensive for them they should use a different brand but not water down the one they provide).

Stayed: October 2005
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
447
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We enjoyed this place a lot. The bungalows are really "in" the rainforest- each is surrounded by forest on all sides, and there is plenty of privacy and seclusion, even with the windows on almost all sides of the bungalow. We enjoyed the outdoor hot tub in the middle of the forest. The relaxing CDs included in the room were a big hit- the tranquil music added to the relaxing setting.

The owners are big fans of what I'd describe as "free and organic" living- the hot tub has no chemicals and is cleaned via ozone, breakfasts are locally grown and organic. This place hosts retreats to help couples get in touch with their sexuality. There was probably a copy of the kama sutra in our room somewhere. Bring your birkenstocks, you'll fit right in at this place.

It is true as another member mentioned that in the forest house the kitchen sink doubles as the bathroom sink. If you have a problem with this, then DONT stay here.

However, if you're looking for a relaxing place to stay in the Volcano area, with comfortable beds, where no one will bother you in a very unique setting, then give this place a try.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles, CA
19
Reviewed April 10, 2005

We had the same experience as the other couple who posted about service. The room was not properly cleaned each day and we had the kitchen sink serving as the bathroom sink.

This place is overpriced given the service.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2005

This is a neat place to stay while exploring the Volcano National Park area. We stayed in the Forest House. It offered interesting archetecture and beautiful view out onto a real rainforest. There was a small kitchen type area that included a sink, dinnerware, refrigerator. It made for a memorable stay while in the Volcano area. The shower was kind of small, but not a big issue. We would recommend that others stay at this location.

6  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat for a few days during our honeymoon (in the forest house). This was hands down the best place I stayed on my honeymoon (or ever). The room was very romantic and comfortable. We loved the fireplace and the attention to detail. The cabin/cottage is located in the middle of a dense section of rainforest so although there are other cabins around it, it feels very private. To get around there are charming little footpaths. There is also a jacuzzi that's centrally located for your enjoyment. The owner showed us the other cabins and they were all great. It's true that the bed is not made every day, and that you do your own dishes. I think that this is not the place for people who want a high rise or commericial resort kind of feeling. This place has much more character than that and caters to people who want a genuine experience. The only down side for us was that we are continually looking for lodging like this when we travel and are usually disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank andynstacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews