We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to relax and for a honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to relax and for a honeymoon!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I booked the place on the numerous recommendations from TA's and was not in the least disappointed!

After parking the car we were led on a short forest train through the woods (I.e 30 secs) to our little cottage. It was more lovely than the pictures with a outdoor bath and Japanese hot tub for the cool weather at Volcano in Feb. Little touches like a nice selection of teas, fruit basket and even rubber ducks for the hot tub make this place feel so comfortable and homely.

Despite being surrounded by woods you Re far enough from the other cottages to ensure your own privacy. It's a short drive to Volcano town and to the Volcano park. My wife and I love this place and will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gymrat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    39
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
194
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had the most wonderful stay at Volcano Rainforest Retreat. My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Sanctuary. We picked this retreat especially as it seemed perefect for my 50th birthday and our 20th anniversary and we could not have been happier. We can think of nothing that could be improved upon.
It was lovely to be met by Anne who gave us our tour of the property and answered all of our questions. We loved everything about the Sanctuary. It was wonderfully bright with tons of windows, comfy bed, toasty gas fireplace, huge mouthwatering breakfasts and spotlessly clean. Our own seperate private cabana with outdoor shower and Japanese soaking tub was just magic and perfect after a day hiking around the volcano's. We loved going to sleep and waking to the sound of the rain on the tin roof.
We are planning many return visits to this resort and would recommend this piece of paradise to anyone.

Room Tip: Sanctuary is perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a wonderful honeymoon at Volcano Rainforest Retreat. We spent two nights in the Forest House, and had a fantastic time. The cottages are wonderfully furnished and we were surprised how well they did with the small space. Anne was there to greet us the second we pulled in, and she gave us a great tour of the property and our cottage. We shared a hot tub with other guests who were in the larger cottage, but we never saw them. The only thing that was a bit of a challenge was the tight fit in the shared parking area. It's fine if you're the first car in, but the second car has to do a bit of back and forth in order to fit. Luckily we had a pretty small car, but I can see how two larger vehicles might not fit.

The electric fireplace was great when it got chilly in the mornings and evenings, and we really enjoyed the breakfasts that were left for us. We took the fruit with us on our hike through Volcano National Park, which is just a quick 10 minute drive away. We would absolutely return to this resort on our next visit to the Big Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2sk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I(age 60+) spent 3 nights at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat and really enjoyed our stay there. It is a beautiful place, off the beaten path, and actually in the middle of a beautiful rainforest. The location for the retreat is beautiful. The hot tub is wonderful and it is as peaceful a location as any place we have ever stayed.

We spent our first two nights in the "Guest Cottage". This unit has a wonderful living room and a sleeping loft. For us, we loved the downstairs cottage and found the sleeping loft very, very comfortable. The only drawback to this unit is the "ladder" you climb to get to the sleeping loft. Great accommodations but be aware you could find yourself climbing the ladder in the middle of the night. We knew this when we picked the unit so this was our choice.

We spent the 3rd night in the "Bamboo Cottage". This unit definitely has the "wow" factor going for it. It is beautiful. Just amazing. This is as nice as any place I have ever stayed. More expensive than the "Guest Cottage" but for us well worth the cost.

My advice, go to Volcano National Park and stay at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat. It will be a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: The Bamboo Cottage is beautiful. Stay there if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in the Forest House and it was simply gorgeous. Surrounded by lush jungle outside and beautiful flower arrangements inside, we felt truly pampered as we donned the conveniently supplied bathrobes and slippers and headed to the hot tub - also in the forest. Anne was wonderful and anticipated our every need. The generous and delicious breakfast kept us going all day and the cozy fireplace a wonderful place to curl up after a busy days hiking. This place was immaculately clean, the gardens beautiful and relaxing, and the setting unique.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byddi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My sister and I decided to go the Big Island to celebrate our Big 50th (In the 50th state!). We were in a timeshare in Waikoloa (Paniolo Greens which will be my next review), and had planned to make a day trip to Volcano Park. However, on our flight over, we took our seatmate's advice to see the crater at night and she recommended to stay over as the roads at night are not well lit. We thought it better to find a room close to the Park rather than drive the 100 miles back. We found this property on line and thanks tripadvisor for the reviews! We were lucky enough to book a room for one night, although they prefer two night minimums. I called to confirm one night was acceptable and did the rest on line. A confirmation email was received within a few hours.

Rebecca met us at the property to give us our key. We were in the Forest House, which was incredibly cozy. It was only one room but very spacious and comfortable. You feel like you are still outside in the rainforest as there are windows everywhere and skylights above. It is extremely private and peaceful. The owners did well in anticipating your needs. Towels are lush, bathrobes available for the jacuzzi, hairdryer, cork screw and even an IHome. The extra touches, to me, count the most.

Agree with Metalfrog on the night visit to the crater as well as Thai Thai being a great dinner.

Only thing that was a bit challenging was that check- in HAD to be between 3 and 5 pm. Since we arrived at the park at noon, we got one hike in, had to leave the park and drive the 3 or 4 miles to the retereat to get our key then went back to catch the night crater. I still give it an excellent rating as it was a fantastic experience and HIGHLY recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Syllyt01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRRVolcano, Owner at Volcano Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
We value your review, knowing that you appreciated your overnight stay in so many ways!

We do understand the challenge of having one day in the Park and the limited time frame for hiking given our 3-5pm check-in. We regret any lack of ease you experienced on your arrival.

Our policy requests that arriving guests call to make special arrangements in advance when they want or need to check-in earlier or later than 3-5pm. This is so we can ensure someone is available to greet and orient our guests. We do everything we can to accommodate our guests' special requests.

The day of your arrival was an unusual situation given that none of our caretakers were available after 5:00pm. We appreciate your understanding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon back in January 2012. The Volcano Rainforest Retreat is easily one of the most peaceful and unique places we've ever stayed at. We stayed in the cozy Sanctuary. Loved the architecture of the cottage, the relaxing outdoor soaking tub, and the lush rainforest surroundings. It was lovely waking up to the birds every morning! Hopefully we can return one day.

We came to the Big Island for the Volcano, and were not disappointed! Be sure to visit at night -- the crater glows orange.

Also, Thai Thai is by far the very best place to eat in Volcano. Unreal flavor. Went for dinner there both nights of our stay!

Room Tip: Sanctuary - small and cozy, very relaxing. Has its own soaking tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metalfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
410 reviews
2.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
895 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
904 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Rainforest Retreat

Property: Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Address: 11-3832 Twelfth St, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Rainforest Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Volcano Rainforest Retreat lodging experience on the Big Island of Hawaii offers visitors a collection of distinct guest cottages, created with elegant simplicity in harmony and balance with the Hawaiian rain forest. Its sense of place imparts a seamless feeling of connection between inside and outside, the accommodations and nature. The rain forest lodgings are interconnected by intimate paths, which wind their way through the misty, mossy landscape. This Hawaii Volcano retreat offers a unique setting for romantics, artists, nature lovers and world travellers seeking refuge and intimate contact with the living volcanic earth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Rainforest Retreat Hotel Volcano
Volcano Rainforest Retreat Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing