We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peace and Warmth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Peace and Warmth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hosts have thought of almost everything. (Someplace to put your luggage is the exception). They have created an oasis. The rooms are well equipped. Outdoor shower and hot tub made fine even on cold days because of the nice robe that they supply. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocketrobMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    39
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
28
189
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We stayed in the Sanctuary for two nights and had a very good experience, as the place is very quiet and peaceful. The only inconvenience would be that the place is not walking distance from anything so you do need a car in every instance. The owners were not there at the time we stayed and we found the absence of personnel/reference strange, as nobody would have been there in case of a problem or emergency. (Although we were given the number for a lady who could help us in their absence).
Otherwise everything was very nice and we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guilia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VRRVolcano, Owner at Volcano Rainforest Retreat, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We appreciate that some of our quests may prefer to walk whenever possible, instead of using a car. Please be aware that Volcano is a rural area, with a minimum of public transportation. Also, to visit Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, most people would want to use a car, unless they enjoy long days of walking and hiking, perhaps in the rain in the forested areas, to get between all the sites in the area.

Volcano Rainforest Retreat owners, Kathleen and Peter Golden, live on the retreat grounds and are available in the office, or on their work, home and/or cell phones. All numbers are in the guest binders. When they are occasionally off the grounds during the day or in the evening, a message can be left on their phones. Calls are returned as soon as possible.

The accommodations are private cottages and the Goldens and their caretakers do their best to check with guests each day. When the Goldens are off island, their caretaker is at the retreat for a few hours each morning, and again in the afternoon and stays overnight every evening, out of consideration for our guests' needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

This place was truly magical. It's the perfect romantic getaway. It was so nice to come back to after exploring the national park all day. I've never been to a place where you think about it everyday. Perfect!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willcome50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We (2 adults, 2 teenagers) stayed in the Bamboo Guest House the first 3 nights of our one week vacation. Before making reservations we had all four researched options for where to stay, and the kids in particular were enchanted with the idea of staying a place like this. Stepping into the cottage we were not disappointed at all. We had reserved 4 nights on the west side of the island, and immediately said to each other: "why aren't we staying here the whole time?" (but more on that later). It was very comfortable, and the hosts were nice as can be. We didn't see the hosts much, but they were there if needed, and we had our privacy.

The location is quite convenient for driving out to many locations on the east side of the island. Very close to the crater! We were actually just a little concerned before we arrived about being that close to an active volcano, but we learned that the location is uphill from the lava flows, which is a good thing.

When you are at the cottage it does feel like you are in the middle of a wild rainforest, but of course (and fortunately for us) you are really in a large housing community. It's just that you don't really see any of the other houses due to the luscious vegetation. It is beautiful!

So why didn't we stay near Volcano Village the whole week? It turned out to be a good decision. If you're familiar with the island, you already can guess why, if not, read on. It has nothing to do with this particular cottage. There is a reason it is called "rainforest": it often rains, at least part of the day. But in fact we were fairly lucky that the rain stopped while we were out hiking, so it never really became an issue. Just don't expect sunshine from morning till evening: that's what the west side of the island is for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reneroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We absolutely enjoyed our charming stay in the Sanctuary, the smallest of the cottages. We are both tall and big and the Sanctuary was plenty big for us. Cedar and glass are everwhere in this beautiful place, surrounded by our own private rainforest. I felt like we were in the Julia Roberts' "Eat, Pray, Live" movie. Peter and Kathleen have thought of every detail, down to flashlights, wine glasses, reading material, place mats and napkins, etc., etc. (A very teeny tiny thing that was missing was body lotion, but they provided everything else that you could possibly think of.) It's amazing! Plus, they have cute themes such as frogs inside and along the walk. It's very tasteful, relaxing, and peaceful. The Japanese soaking tub next to the outdoor shower is to die for (and private). The breakfast that they leave for you the previous day is delicious and big (we even took some of it to snack on later in the day).

When we arrived, Peter walked us to our cottage, and spent several minutes showing us inside, and very thoughtfully showed us maps and brochures to make our visit even better. They even have a DVD player and movies but we never used it. He gave us his undivided attention and answered our questions about the island. He obviously loves his job and puts his heart and soul in this place.

This place is only 10-15 minutes from the National Park, and only a few minutes from the village of Volcano. We ate twice at the Kiawe Kitchen (the Thai place was closed for renovations) and the food was delicious. I was afraid that the tiny town would keep you captive and not have any good place to eat, but it was the opposite.

We would definitely love to go back here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

The Volcano Rainforest Retreat is ecotourism at its finest. The tranquil, natural setting was the perfect lodging while we hiked in the national park. Kathleen and Peter are the perfect hosts, allowing guests ample privacy, and their attention to detail is superb. You will feel up close and personal with the rain forest in the awesome comfort of the accommodations. This was a much needed retreat for us. We will visit again!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank hspoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

Cottage was tops & very small details were attended to. Great warm and comfortable place, beautiful rain forests surround each private cabin. Breakfast in the room is thoughtfully prepared and good.

The owners are very caring folks of there place and have put a lot of their personal spirituality into designing and furnishing it. It was hard to take full advantage of the tranquility of the site as we were off to see the geology at the nearby Volcano Nat'l. Park each day.

It is well situated to the park and the tiny village of Volcano.

Our only negative comment: after arriving back at our cottage at midnight after a strenuous 10 mile evening hike to see flowing lava, we found the hot water was not working. Had to settle for a dip in the outdoor hot tub in lieu of a shower. Those things some times happen. It is a great place!

Room Tip: All of the cottages are great and special in their own ways. Pick any and you will do well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bionicbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.8 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Rainforest Retreat

Property: Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Address: 11-3832 Twelfth St, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Rainforest Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Volcano Rainforest Retreat lodging experience on the Big Island of Hawaii offers visitors a collection of distinct guest cottages, created with elegant simplicity in harmony and balance with the Hawaiian rain forest. Its sense of place imparts a seamless feeling of connection between inside and outside, the accommodations and nature. The rain forest lodgings are interconnected by intimate paths, which wind their way through the misty, mossy landscape. This Hawaii Volcano retreat offers a unique setting for romantics, artists, nature lovers and world travellers seeking refuge and intimate contact with the living volcanic earth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Rainforest Retreat Hotel Volcano
Volcano Rainforest Retreat Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing