We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the Big Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #3 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the Big Island”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

A wonderful sanctuary, amazing craftsmanship of the cottages, great hosts. The Japanese soaking tub was a highlight. Plants and artwork and resident birds make this a unique retreat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ferrisnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    39
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
29
194
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Our 7 day stay at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat was absolutely amazing. The accomodations were beautiful and comfortable. It was tucked back in a rainforest and very private. We actually never saw any of the other guests, even though the place was completely booked the entire time. Peter, Kathleen, and Ann were incredibly nice and made sure that we were finding all the places we wanted to go to. I cannot recommend them enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlburstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The VRR was memorable, but like other reviewers said, it's not for everyone.

The positives: Wonderful architecture of the cabin (we stayed in the Forest House), adorable little paths to the cabin, porch light left on each night for our return, room cleaned daily (dishes washed/put away, towels folded or replaced, breakfast items restocked), very friendly and helpful owners, beautiful scenery to wake up to each morning. GREAT location if you're spending time at Volcanoes National Park. Very close to little Volcano Village with a few restaurants. Close enough to Hilo for other food options/airport/things to do.

The negatives: It is loud inside the cabin when it rains. I felt like I was sleeping inside of a drum. The skylight above the bed was wonderful...except when the condensation accumulated and dripped on my face or arms. It was maybe 2 or 3 drips a night, but still a surprise when you're trying to sleep. It's damp inside the cabin...this can be expected since we were in a rainforest. Combined with the dampness, it's cold! I spent quite a bit of time practically hugging the gas fireplace. The neighborhood dogs barked quite a bit. Our cabin was pretty close to the owners' cabin so I didn't feel as secluded as I would've liked. I felt more like I was staying in their extra bedroom. Other cabins looked more secluded though.

Sometimes the most memorable places aren't the most luxurious. We appreciate the little quirks of the VRR.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank likethedirection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordCC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Sanctuary for two nights while visiting the Volcano National Park. The location was great to get back and forth between the handful of restaurants at the village and the park itself. The rooms are secluded and set back in the rainforest. The owners have put personal touches in every room and though Sanctuary was small--it was the perfect size for two of us for a couple nights. I loved the fact that we had to use the outdoor shower and soaking tub...I think my boyfriend would have rather had an indoor option but I thought it was part of the fun of staying in what felt like a jungle. There are only a couple other cottages so I believe even at its full capacity you would still feel like you have the place to yourself. I'd highly recommend going here....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We found Hawai'i, and especially Volcano, very expensive and it didn't live up to expectations so therefor it's kind of hard to write a review. However, when we don't think about the price the Rainforest Retrait is a nice place to stay.

We stayed in the Sanctuary Cottage. It's different, nice, but not at it best yet. The idea is great. It's an wooden cottage with lots of windows and in primary forest. The room, not very big, is full with things. However it's too full, so there wasn't room for the bags. We had to remember jumping over them at night in the dark, when going to the bathroom. It would be better if the'd loose the to chairs (higher than table) and one of the side tables. As crowded as the room was, we missed a chair at the terrace, there's only one.

Hygienic logistic needs a bit of creativity. One would expect water in the bathroom, but there isn't. There's just a toilet and a cupboard for your thing. Brushing your theeth can be done at the kitchen unit in the room, shaving is hard as there is no mirror. The shower is outside. You can let a curtain down for some privacy, there are other cabins hidden in the forrest, but our curious neighbour could still see us. We didn't care about him, hope he had a nice time spying, but I can imagine not everybody liking this. There's also a hot tub outside, it's very hot so you can only stay for a short time but it's nice, we enjoyed it during rain and that was nice.

During day the cottage is cleaned but not every day (at least during our stay), but they do change the food every day. You can choise some things for breakfast and they'll provid them for you, which is nice.

Further the cabin is complete with flashlights, candles, wifi, tc (didn't use) and all kind of 'zen-things' (didn't use either).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepper1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My Husband and I spent two nights in the "Serenity Cottage" at the Volcano Rainforest Retreat. Every day we hiked in Volcano National Park and then came back to soak in the open air Japanese soaking tub. Heavenly! Serenity is the smallest of the cottages. It is only one room done in a quasi japenese style: glass encased octatgon with a bed, coffee table with two chairs, small kitchenette and a toilet behind a japenese sliding screen. There is an outdoors porch with two chairs. The shower and tub are in a open air pergula a few steps away. Although there are other cottages close by, they are shrouded in the forest and you feel quite private. There are screens to drop for privacy but after the first day we just left everything open. The owners are very nice and not intrusive. We plan to go back the next time we find ourselves on the Big Islan.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed in the Sanctuary cottage on our vacation from NYC. We were tired of big hotels and wanted a cute relaxed B and B, and that is exactly what we got. We would certainly stay here again, amazing place!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADocsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
406 reviews
2.8 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
889 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
523 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 20 in Volcano
900 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 20 in Volcano
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Rainforest Retreat

Property: Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Address: 11-3832 Twelfth St, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Volcano Rainforest Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Volcano Rainforest Retreat lodging experience on the Big Island of Hawaii offers visitors a collection of distinct guest cottages, created with elegant simplicity in harmony and balance with the Hawaiian rain forest. Its sense of place imparts a seamless feeling of connection between inside and outside, the accommodations and nature. The rain forest lodgings are interconnected by intimate paths, which wind their way through the misty, mossy landscape. This Hawaii Volcano retreat offers a unique setting for romantics, artists, nature lovers and world travellers seeking refuge and intimate contact with the living volcanic earth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Volcano Rainforest Retreat Hotel Volcano
Volcano Rainforest Retreat Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing