We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, room so-so in winter” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale Ohia Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hale Ohia Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice location, room so-so in winter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed in Cottage 44 in early November. It's a lovely location, and easy to get across the highway to town for the farmers market and dining. It's a great location to explore Volcano National Park. It really is about a 5 minute drive to the park!

The kitchen is a fridge/coffee maker/sink only. No microwave or cooking. It would have been nice to have at least a microwave to help prepare food.

There was no road noise or disturbances. It was a very nice gardened location.

My main issue with the room is the heating. The room is heated with a gas fireplace in the middle of the cottage. The bedroom is down 5' or so from the living room level and the old water-tower walls have lots of gaps in them. That means -- at least in November -- that you're running the fireplace a lot to get it warm at the lower level of the bedroom. That gives off a lot of light and makes the "upstairs" living room and kitchen very hot. It only has an on/off setting, not adjustable. If you leave the fireplace on at night, be careful not to leave heat-sensitive things on the mantle, it will get very warm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    74
    28
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
176
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

A delightful place to stay when visiting the volcanos. Friendly but not intrusive staff, great location, and charming accommodations made for a wonderful three days. Came with my husband for out honeymoon aNd we would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNIhrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

As I do with all trips, I pondered over where to stay forever. The Hale Ohia Cottages (Ihilani cottage) were so peaceful its hard to describe. Ihilini was incredibly clean and cozy and had a comfy bed and a fireplace. The birds chirped, the light on the trees was gorgeous. Its a quick drive to the park and we were able to see the Lava glow at night. It was chilly so bring a coat. Then we enjoyed a great dinner at the Kalauea Lodge which I'd highly recommend. (Its a rustic lodge and your meal comes with amazing hot soup and bread). We really loved the Kilauea Trail in the park the next day as well. Its about 4 miles I believe and you hike down into a crater.

I was so happy to have found Hale Ohia and that I didn't just throw in the towel and do the volcano in a day trip. We would have missed out. Also glad we didn't stay in Hilo. Those hotels are incredibly dated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perrystreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was a tranquil place to stay within 1 mile of the park entrance and close to restaurants at Volcano village. Japanese gardens surround the main house/office and the cottages on the property. My wife and I stayed in a cozy, romantic cottage with a double-sided gas fireplace that warmed the living area and also the bedroom. The bathroom contained a jacuzzi jet tub and the quaint, circular bedroom was made from a 1930's redwood water tank.
With a small fridge and coffee maker and continental breakfast of banana breads and fresh fruit provided by the owner/manager, the cottage was a comfortable spot to rest and get ready for hikes in the Volcanoes park the 2 days & nights we stayed there. Well worth the money to stay here close to the action but in a clean, cozy, private accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scuba312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Mike was very helpful and pleasant. The daily papaya and bread were tasty. The coffee was delish. It was nice to have the "breakfast" delivered the afternoon prior to allow us to make our morning ritual when we wanted it. The cottage was lovely. We utilized the fireplace nightly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've been coming to Hale Ohia Cottages since the early 1990's. Volcano is an ideal family destination, and my kids loved staying here (they're adults now). I still keep coming back. The cleanliness, comfort and style of the cabins makes for an enjoyable stay. (I've stayed in nearly all of the cabins), and the proximity to the National Park is ideal.

Room Tip: Cottage 44 is private, cozy, and very comfortable. Good for couples. Hale Ohia Cottage is good for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in the Lehua Cottage. The decor was somewhat eclectic. Very close to Volcano National Park. The bread, fruit and coffee was a nice touch, not many dining choices nearby. The property is well kept. The bedding was comfortable. The Lehua cottage is next to a pump (water maybe) of some sort which was annoyingly loud. There is a somewhat over welming mildew smell, it is in a rainforest so I'm not sure how to prevent that. Prepare yourself for the different weather conditions. We did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44AML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.1 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
0.3 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloha Crater Lodge
Aloha Crater Lodge
#12 of 31 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aloha Junction Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Ohia Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Ohia Cottages

Property: Hale Ohia Cottages
Address: 11-3968 Hale Ohia Rd, Hale Ohia Rd., off Hwy. 11, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Ohia Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Volcano Hawaii vacation retreat offering an intimate destination at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hale Ohia Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Ohia Cottages Hotel Volcano
Hale Ohia Cottages Volcano, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing