We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treehouse Living in Volcano”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
Ranked #13 of 32 Volcano B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We loved our time at Volcano Tree House. When we arrived after a long day of traveling, there was gentle Hawaiian music playing and a warm bed for us. We stayed in the Treetop Suite and it really felt like we were in a treehouse. The kitchen and woodburning stove were wonderful additions to the space.
Gary is an exceptional innkeeper. His breakfast was delicious and kept us full as we explored the park in the morning. He also seemed to truly care that we were comfortable and enjoyed our stay there. He went above and beyond our expectations.
We can't speak highly enough of the Volcano Tree House and Bamboo Orchid Cottage in Volcano, HI.

Room Tip: There are rooms to meet everybody's needs and their website provides perfect descriptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethB586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 95 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in the Tree Top Suite while visiting Volcanoes National Park. We couldn't have chosen a better location or a more unique property. The building overlooks the trees and ferns below, and it truly felt like we were staying in a treehouse, very private and secluded. The room came complete with a small wood stove, flatscreen TV, and kitchenette. Elaborate decking surrounds the buildings, complete with a patio area perfect for outdoor eating or just enjoying the view from above the trees. Breakfast was also delicious, and the innkeeper Gary was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much that we plan to return next summer. Thank you for a truly memorable experience!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the Treehouse Suite at Kilauea Volcano at the end of March 2013. It was so unique and cute.
I would highly recommend this property while visiting the Volcano Park. It looked just as it did on line but
it was even nicer in person. It is like you are staying in the jungle. The room was clean and comfortable.
The jetted tub was such a nice touch on a cool night. I was impressed with this property.
Marilee

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Marilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is an incredible building in gorgious setting. You feel as if you're in the middle of the rainforest, miles away from anybody. The wooden building is beautiful. We stayed in the Cedar loft, which has two floors and more than enough space for two. The house was very well equiped with even a water fountain and a cooler to take your lunch. The wifi signal wasn't strong enough to reach inside the loft, but just outside it was fine.

The breakfast over at the Bamboo Orchid was delicous and meeting the other guests there was fun. The owner is super friendly and helpful. I would love to go back to this place if I'm ever on the Big Island again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JanVanDijk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We were originally lsated to stay at the Bamboo Orchid, the sister property of the Volano Treehouse. When someone booked right before we did, I receive an upgrade to the Cedar Loft without even asking, as we wanted the jetted bathtub. This place was aboslutely adorable! It wasnt just a place to a visit but a place you could envision yourself living in for a long itme. Completely secluded and very private from the neighboring cottages, it had all of the amenities of home (complete with a very lovable, chubby cat)! You cant get much closer to the Volcanoes National Park, but quite honestly we foound ourselves not wanting to leave the place, enjoying the comfort of the room so much! The breakfast at the Bamboo Orchid was impeccable and the managers really went above and beyond to make sure everything about our trip was great. The only downside of the entire trip was that we only stayed for 2 days- next time it will be for a week. If you dont want to be in a commercial, touristy area than I can do nothing but highly recommend this place! We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kama M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in the Cedar Loft, and really enjoyed it. The location is great, close to Volcano National Park. The loft itself was clean and cozy. Breakfasts at Bamboo Orchid were delicious, and the owners were very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcosette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I loved our stay at the Tree Tops Suite. Our first night was actually at the Bamboo Cottage Inn (owned by the same people) just down the street from the Volcano Tree House rooms. Our room at the Bamboo Cottage Inn (the Royal Orchid) was wonderful and I was worried we wouldn't like the tree tops room as much, but I was happily surprised when we saw our new room. I loved that it was up in the trees (though because it was up several flights of stairs, my husband never bothered to bring up his suitcases!) But that aside, this room had a mini kitchen and really felt much more private than the other room. The only sounds we heard were the birds and some children staying nearby sometimes. This was the perfect place for us to explore the volcano as well as spend an afternoon in Hilo. The breakfast was served at the Bamboo Cottage property, so it was a 5 minute walk to get over there the days that we were at the tree house property, but that didn't bother us. The breakfast was good, but I think we had gotten spoiled by that point so that it felt like the weakest link of the package. Every day was the same - a fruit and yogurt mixture served in a half papaya and self serve bagels, juice, hard boiled eggs, coffee, and tea. In some ways it was nice so you could get what you want and get on with the day, but it was not like having someone make you pancakes or an omelette. Another thing that was slightly strange to us is that when we were at the volcano tree house sight, our room was not serviced during our stay. We were there 3 nights and expected the bed would get made, trash emptied, etc, but that did not happen. It was not a big deal since I like privacy, but it did surprise me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Volcano hotels
1.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Volcano Inn
Volcano Inn
#6 of 32 in Volcano
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lava Pond Lodge
Lava Pond Lodge
#7 of 32 in Volcano
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 32 in Volcano
540 reviews
1.7 mi away
Volcano Village Lodge
Volcano Village Lodge
#2 of 32 in Volcano
719 reviews
2 mi away
Volcano Acres Ranch Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House

Address: 11-3860 Eleventh Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range: $109 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out your window and see giant tree ferns (hapu'u) greeting your arrival, just inches from your eyes. Volcano Tree House was built among the trees to preserve Hawaii's spectacular native rainforest. Reach out and touch ohia trees from your deck as you listen to native songbirds. This is the place to come to get away from it all and reconnect with nature and your inner spirit. Choose from three studios and one suite, all with private entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Cottages At Volcano Tree House Hotel Volcano
The Guest Cottages At Volcano Acres Tree House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing