We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
Ranked #12 of 31 Volcano B&B and Inns
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
“Awesome Vacation in Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, get-a-way for relaxtion, this is an awesome place to stay. The natural surroundings provide a relief from the hot Hawai sun, with the cottages situated in a natural rainforest, with beauty all around. It was such a wonderfull feeling to get up in the early morning, relax on the quiet deck and listen to the birds and other wildlife. And the breakfast was just the perfect start of the day.

Room Tip: The cottage with the 2nd floor with balcony is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bex322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
20
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed at Bamboo Orchid last year for our honeymoon and loved it so much that we decided to check out the Volcano Tree House. We stayed in the Tree Top Suite. We run a property management business in Park City so we know about guest treatment. This place is top notch. Thank you Gary and Kathy (inn keepers) Mika and Maurice (cats.) We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkCitySkiPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

We wanted to try the B&B route for our trip to Hawaii, and we were certainly glad that we did. Gary and Kathy were great... the breakfast was always wonderful and the accommodations were clean, comfortable, and well maintained. Can't beat the combination.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otbM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

I stayed in the Cedar Loft at this B&B. The room was great! The bed was very comfortable. There was a lanai off the room with 2 nice chairs. We sat out there and admired the quiet beauty of the place. If you are looking for relaxation and the sounds of nature, this is your place! Lots of trees and ferns all over the property. There is an area with a gas grill if you want to cook some steaks or burgers and there is a big table & chairs if you just want to relax outside! The innkeeper (Gary) is a very nice guy with a great sense of humor! The breakfast was really nice and I especially enjoyed the fresh papaya, pineapple and other fruits!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmym64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We were there for three nights in October to check out Volcano National Park. The outside of the treehouse and the catwalk are amazing and the location is perfect, just about a 5 minute drive to the park. However, we rented out the Cedar Cottage and it was really dirty. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed and the floors were totally dirty. The place hasn't been dusted in ages! The kitchen was okay...it is really not equipped with all the things you need...like one steak knife...and the placemats were dirty and the microwave had caked on food all in the inside. Another thing was the BBQ that we used one night, it hadn't been cleaned and there was food all stuck to the grill. They have a very charming cat that my kids adored...however, I don't really want cat hair all over the patio furniture...it is a bit of a turn off. Yes, there are quirky things (if you want to call it that)...like adjusting the hot water for the shower which it extremely finnicky and having to walk outside on the catwalk to get internet access and then going inside and it not work once you are inside. This is no longer a B&B...they don't serve you breakfast...they stocked our fridge with a quiche, some english muffins, cheese, juice (soda type), coffee/tea, bananas, pineapple, papayas, oatmeal and granola bars. It was nice to have but we were looking forward to having a hot breakfast served to us...they didn't state that clearly in their website. There is a broken hot tub that is supposed to be repaired...would have been so nice to have a soak in the rainforest. Gary is nice and friendly and tries but I was disappointed when I asked for a vacuum to clean the room because I told him the carpets were dirty that he made an excuse that the vacuum was broken but then found me a stick vacuum that worked just fine and handed it to me a few minutes later. Then I proceeded to vacuum the whole place because it was dirty and the kids wanted to run around in their bare feet. One of the mattress warming pads didn't work but I forgot to mention it Gary. Overall, this place is really a lovely location and it's a unique experience staying here...just know it's not a B&B and it's not that clean. The Volcano Park is great but you probably only need to stay two nights here.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

stayed at the cedar loft.....nestled amongst the trees....the sounds of birds chirping away...very cosy and romantic.....gary and co. were excellent hosts. breakfast was great....loved the place....close to volcano village and national park.....spa was refreshing after a day of hiking...maurice and mika, the resident cats, were charming....highly recommended for accommodation whilst exploring volcano national park.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anton_cycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

This was a delightful lodging in a beautiful unusual location.
Breakfasts were great but unfortunately at another location. Gary is super friendly.
Pacific Island studio was great but the bed was really creaky

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Volcano
1.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
2.7 mi away
Volcano House
Volcano House
#1 of 1 in Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hale Ohia Cottages
Hale Ohia Cottages
#3 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kilauea Lodge
Kilauea Lodge
#1 of 19 in Volcano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House

Property: The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House
Address: 11-3860 Eleventh Street, Volcano, Island of Hawaii, HI 96785
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Volcano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Volcano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Look out your window and see giant tree ferns (hapu'u) greeting your arrival, just inches from your eyes. Volcano Tree House was built among the trees to preserve Hawaii's spectacular native rainforest. Reach out and touch ohia trees from your deck as you listen to native songbirds. This is the place to come to get away from it all and reconnect with nature and your inner spirit. Choose from two studios and one suite, all with private entrances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Guest Cottages at Volcano Acres Tree House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guest Cottages At Volcano Tree House Hotel Volcano
The Guest Cottages At Volcano Acres Tree House Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing