We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very educational”

Thomas A. Jaggar Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.12*
and up
Early Bird Volcano Express
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A geological and historical museum.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
257 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Very educational”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We learnt so much about the different forms of lava rocks. We were impressed with the scientific displays, not so much the gift shop which is inadequate.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WoodlandsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    983
    451
    65
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

When I reached there I was so amazed by its beautiful colors and nature it's just WOW!! I never wanted to leave the Thomas jaggar museum is filled with so many interesting artifacts and culture. Sometimes you can even watch the volcano steam and the steam Pitts is do hot

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miyahana02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best crater overlook!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This is currently the best overlook of a live volcano crater anywhere in Hawaii! Weather permitting, of course (something like 200 inches of rain a year....) - if it isn't "socked in" or pouring, the night time view allows you to see the reflected "glow" from the molten lava down inside the crater. Park staff were very accommodating finding a less crowded place my wife could nurse our infant. Very easy drive, sometimes crowded with bus tourists.

Webcam down into the crater online: http://www.nps.gov/havo/planyourvisit/loader.cfm?csModule=security/getfile&pageID=553841

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomTX2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Jaggar after the Visitor's Center”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A lot of people are missing Jagger since the Rim Road was closed near Jagger several years ago. They stop at the Visitor's Center (which you absolutely should) and the head out to the "End of The Road" which is like 38 miles round trip. This is a great drive and not to be missed. But most people want to see an "active" volcano and don't make the short drive to Jagger where you can look over into a live, smoking crater. OK, you may not see red flowing lava but are you willing to pay $100 per person and hike over lava rocks for hours? If so, there are apps (opps) tours for that. However, if you are more like me, what you get at Jagger is free, close up and requires only a few minutes drive. Just do it. You can thank me later.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenfults
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Interesting and easy”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were at the museum mainly to view the crater's glow after dark -- and were pleasantly surprised but the museum itself. Well laid out, with a lot of interesting and educational information. Lovely bookstore/gift shop as well. Both kids and adults had a fun time learning here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie0046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas A. Jaggar Museum also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thomas A. Jaggar Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing