We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to visit during the day..real show starts when the museum closes”

Thomas A. Jaggar Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$103.12*
and up
Early Bird Volcano Express
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Hilo Volcano Special Tour
More Info
$134.37*
and up
Kilauea Hike and Glow from Hilo
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Volcano
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A geological and historical museum.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Interesting to visit during the day..real show starts when the museum closes”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Small museum - can get in and out on half an hour - if you read every sign and plaque. All is interesting - especially some of the stories about dude falling through the lava! Ouch! Anyway, after the place closes at 7:30 - the deck out front is the place to get the best view of the glowing red ball of magma. Very cool ( and cold - bring a jacket! )

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    460
    70
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Room with and view and a story to tell”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The museum sit on the rim of Kilauea and has interesting exhibits and views of the volcano and the activities of the Hawaiian volcano system. Also has endemic flora and fauna for the person that wants to see the relics of the natural state of the Hawaiian Islands.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oyster_doctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
259 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great attraction, even during the day”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Since I was on a one-day bus tour of the Big Island, I wasn't able to see the volcano at night. But I would love to have been able to see it then. Nevertheless, it's still impressive during the day. The Museum itself has a lot of information and exhibits about the geology of the volcano.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roobydoo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Educational and fun”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our family of four had a nice time meandering through this museum while waiting for the sun to set. There were a few hands on exhibits for the kids which made it more interesting for them. In particular we all enjoyed recording the seismic activity of our entire family jumping. The boys were fascinated by this. You can easily do the entire place in 30 minutes. An important note, if you plan to be here waiting for sunset BRING A JACKET. We had no idea and we were freezing and ended up wrapping ourselves in the beach towels from our resort. Wish I had known.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DFamily525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“Good information”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

The museum has good information about volcanic action. Right above the Kilaeua crater. Worth the visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muffindad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas A. Jaggar Museum also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Thomas A. Jaggar Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing