We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem...great food, great service, clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of What's Shakin'

What's Shakin'
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pepeekeo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem...great food, great service, clean”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This is in the hidden gem category. This is not a hole in the wall or a greasy spoon. This is a very competent and healthy restaurant (and fruit smoothie bar) with fresh vegetables, fresh fruit, and friendly staff. The food was excellent, and the bonus was it also had ocean views. I was very impressed with the food, and the portions are very big. If you're looking for french fries and greasy burgers this is not the place. Instead for example, they have fish and avacado wraps served with a fresh salad and fresh fruit. Many choices on the menu. I met the owner and she was busting her tail to keep things neat and orderly, and also making sure the bathroom was staying clean. She apparently owns the farm nearby and grows a lot of the food being served. I also noticed she was operating an earth conscious business if that matters to you.

I hope my review helps...Aloha

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank California_Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    116
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, NJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great little place to Stop!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

What a great little shake place in a bungalow with a porch right on your way to Akaka falls. Definitely worth the stop. Get a smoothie. Big menu selection. We got the first one on their list - Farmer's Favorite - Papaya, Banana, Blueberries, apple juice and coconut milk. $7. So good I took a picture of the menu so I can make some of them at home!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent healthy fresh lunch”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I stopped by for lunch and were very happy we did. We ordered a avocado wrap and a fish wrap. Both were great. There were made to order with fresh ingredients and came with a slice of banana, a slice of papaya and a fresh green salad made with a light homemade dressing. As both wraps were a bit large, in the future we will split a wrap and split a smoothie.

There is outdoor covered seating and good restrooms.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OldMacMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“nice fresh smooyhies”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had to stop again. We were here 5 years ago so we returned on this trip to try another fruit smoothy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank retirebioteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Smoothies”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Extensive selection and the smoothies are large and awesome! Very popular location, so be patient if you have to wait. Food is average, but smoothies are worth the wait.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NapaDiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed What's Shakin' also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 
Volcano, Island of Hawaii
Waimea, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to What's Shakin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing