We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the ideal place for quiet relaxation”
Review of Island Goode's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Goode's
Ranked #1 of 2 Papaikou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
1 review
“the ideal place for quiet relaxation”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - it was so quiet and relaxing. We enjoyed listening to the music of the frogs at night - we really did! The breakfasts were fantastic with all the local fruit, but the smoothies were the best! We especially enjoyed learning about the Goode's unique farm operations. We will highly recommend your B&B as an ideal place to stay.
Gail & Joe Pond, Lynchburg, VA

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
112
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

We just returned from a week on Big Island and stayed 2 nights at Island Goode's and it was absolutely fabulous. The only negative is that we didn't stay more than 2 nights!

We were traveling with 2 small children ages 3 and 5, and even though the "family room" was booked, Garvin and Lara accommodated us in the other room, which is huge. There was plenty of space for an air mattress on the floor (the room is much bigger than the photo on the website makes it look), which accommodated the kids very well. The bed we slept in had a Sleep Number mattress so my husband and I slept great. The room has a big bathroom and a small kitchen area with dishes, a toaster, a coffee maker, tea maker (which impressed my British husband) and small fridge.

The highlights:
After we put the kids to bed, we sat outside soaking in the jacuzzi and looking at the stars. The jacuzzi was right outside our door, but we had brought our baby monitor just in case. We didn't really need. it

The other highlight was Lara's breakfast. Freshly baked muffins and an array of incredible fresh fruit, most of it grown on the property, including papaya, lychees, pineapple, mango, passion fruit, and more.

One of the best parts of our stay was when Lara took us on a tour of the farm. We started with the baby chicks, and then visited the fruit groves. They grow bananas, mangoes, pineapple, oranges, lemons, limes, papayas, and I'm sure I'm missing some. They have chickens and have started growing coffee plants, and are setting up a greenhouse with tomatoes and other vegetables. For kids who think their food comes "from the store", this was a great excursion.

The B&B is in a great location, only 10 minutes or so from Hilo and very close to the not-to-be-missed (!!!) Botanical Gardens and Akaka Falls. We also did a day trip to the volcano, which worked but it was a long day. The B&B is up above the water, so you can actually sit and watch the ocean, and in our case, the whales since it's the migration season.

Rooms: the 2 rooms are separated by a 'friends and family' room which buffers the noise, so if you're not traveling with kids and the other room has small children, you won't hear the noise.

Cleanliness: the room was immaculate.

Value: excellent value.

We hope to be back!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcjhawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

This beautiful hillside property is surrounded by tropical orchards and their farm which provide the luscious fruits that are served for the breakfast. The room we occupied had a queen size sleep number bed. The B&B is about 2 years old so the rooms are beautifully furnished "island" style and are fresh, clean and very spacious. We felt it was more like a suite There is a covered lanai outside the door and breakfast was brought to us( at the time we designated ) and set up on the table out there. It was very pleasant. There is a view from the front of the property of Hilo Harbor and at night on can hear the chirp of tree frogs.
Gavin meet us and got us settled in when we arrived, his wife, Laura, served the breakfast in the morning. Both were very helpful and accomodating. Our room was supplied with ample towels and bathroom amenities for our two night stay. The room was not made up or cleaned after our first night there. Although we were a bit surprised, this was a small issue compared to all the positives it had going for it.
Breakfast the first day consisited a large fresh fruit platter, delicious smoothees also made with the fruits of their farm and homemade muffins. There was fresh squeezed juice and a carafe of coffee. On the second day...maybe because it was Sunday, we had a dellicious spinach and onion egg scramble...also with lots of fruit, juice etc.
Island Goode is located about 6 miles miles north of Hilo which we found very convenient. It took about 10 minutes to get into town.
The Goodes were very good hosts and their property is beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curlytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and wish we had 40 more. The B&B is located on a farm and we were served the freshest fruit and smoothies picked right on location with home made muffins and cinnamon bread. We stayed in the huge Mauna Kea room with had 2 couches and an adjustable firmness king sized bed. We loved lounging outside on our private veranda and in the outdoor Jacuzzi. If you ever want to stay in the Hilo area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chidlebyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We arrived at 9pm to stay on big island for 3 nights and then move on to kauai and oahu. Garvin was waiting for us, showing us the greatest place to stay on hawaii - the hilo bay room. We loved the hawaiian style of the BIG, CLEAN and lovely furnished room. After an exciting hike at the volcano it was great to relax in the jaccuzi. Laura served us breakfast every morning eighter to our room or our lanai with fresh tropical and typical hawaiian fruits from their own plantation, like white pineapple and passion fuits, for example - the best breakfast we ever had! We even got home made sugar cane smoothies - what a great way to start the day! Laura gave us lots of information what to do and where to eat on the island. Many thanks to Laura and Garvin, you made our vacation very special! We highly recommend your B&B to every one who would take care of your little paradise. Can`t wait to visit you again!
Love, Bettina + Michael

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betti1Graz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

This was our first leg in our Hawaii adventure, so we arrived not so fresh from our flight from Sydney-Honolulu-Hilo, all 4 of us (4yr & 2yr included) seriously sleep deprived, and 2 of us (me included) very sick. Laura and Garvin allowed us an early check-in- no problems. We were provided with a light and nutritious breakfast every day which kept us going till dinner. Very, very accommodating, understanding and gracious of the children. We had the extra-room suite, which provided us with heaps of space for the kids. We stayed 3-nights, which was probably all we needed to recover from our flight, and also take in the volcanoes and turtle rock pools. The weather is often very wet, so doing much more at Hilo is difficult. Saying that, we would not come to Hawaii without seeing the volcano, and Hilo is the best located to do this, and Island Goodes is a fantastic place to stay- clean, contemp. Hawaiian furnishing. Saved us a stay at the very 'un-inhabitable looking' 2-star hotels in Hilo!!!.....thank you Island Goodes, we will be recommending you to friends!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluv2travelSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2009

We stayed four nights at the Goode's and it was perfect.. wonderful location (10mins drive from airport), thoughtful hosts..lots of privacy for a B&B. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papaikou
5.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Palms Cliff House Inn
4.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
59.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
49.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Goode's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Goode's

Property: Island Goode's
Address: 27-2365 Mamalahoa Highway, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Papaikou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Papaikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Goode's 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Goodes is an Adult Only accommodation and 5 minutes from Hilo, 10 minutes from the Hilo Airport. The perfect location to experience the east side of The Big Island and the Hamakua Coast. We now offer an optional continental breakfast that is detailed on our website and offered only on our website. All 3rd Party reservations are without (NO) breakfast and there is no option upon arrival. Island Goode's is Newer Luxury B&B on a hill overlooking the ocean and Hilo Bay with spectacular views. All rooms have private entry with secure locks. The Hilo Bay, Ginger, Mauna Kea and 3rd story tower in the trees have King Size "Select Comfort" adjustable beds, Private bathrooms, ceiling fan and floor fans in rooms. Some rooms have A/C and flat screen TV's. We are grid-tie solar electric and solar hot water, but always backed up by the utility company. Sparkling clean! Each room has a private Lanai. Large Gazebo with Hot Tub and BBQ over looking the Ocean and Hilo Bay. Very private 6 acre estate, tropically landscaped with exotic palms and fruit trees. NEW ADDITION: "The Tower in The Trees" 3 Story tower with awesome views of the Ocean, Hilo Bay and Mauna Kea. The 3rd story room is the only room that has stairs to climb, so pack light if staying in this elevated and exciting room. The 1st story has no stairs. The 1st Story is our smallest room (but cozy) and has an ocean view (Queen Size "Sleep Number" Bed). The Tower Rooms have private entry, private bath (walk-in shower only). Large windows for trade wind breezes, no air conditioning in The Tower Rooms. Children are restricted. 18 years old and above allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Island Goode's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing