We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality”
Review of Island Goode's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Goode's
Ranked #1 of 2 Papaikou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed with friends at Island Goode's for 4 nights in the Hilo Bay and Hale Makai rooms. Laura and Garvin, the owners, were extremely welcoming and attentive hosts. Laura knows the island well and gave us great advice on things to do in the area. She is also a great cook. The exquisite breakfast was a wonderful way to start the day, especially the fresh local fruits. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very clean with comfortable beds. It was interesting to be on a working farm. Overall, a very enjoyable stay in a friendly, well run and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerdeRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 197 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

This was a delightful B&B. It's quite close to Hilo, has a view of the distant ocean, the food is excellent and the owners were wonderful. We were in a group of seven. One room had an attached room that easily accommodated my son and his family of five while my husband and I had a very nice room with any amenities such as a fridge, coffee pot, hot water pot, table, dishes, extra beach towels and more. The road in is rough but it's well worth that small inconvenience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Five stars for Island Goode's, for all the same reasons as everyone else. We stayed for a few nights in the Mauna Kea room. Very spacious, with all the amenities we could've needed including small fridge and dishes and glasses.

The location is great--just five minutes' drive out of Hilo, and far enough off the main road that we could not hear any traffic at all. So tranquil, and what a view!

The breakfast is so nice--fresh, savory, and filling! A very nice selection of fruits, the best coffee I've had in a long time, and something delightful and hot--all brought to your room for you to enjoy in privacy (and pajamas).

The owners work hard to provide a restful, spacious, and inviting place for you to make your home while you explore the Big Island. We had a great time here and know you will too!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had a wonderful time in the Mauna Kea Room for two nights. This is a beautiful property and very well kept. Everything was clean and comfortable. The best part is the room was so nice and spacious that you could spend all day in it if you wanted. The patio area was comfortable with swings and hammocks for you to lay/sit in. The breakfast was fresh and delicious. You are not far from Hilo and the surrounding attractions yet the sounds of nature just drown out any noise you might hear. Highly recommend this as a spot to rest if you are going to either Mauna Kea or Mauna Loa. Owners are very friendly and helpful but not ever in your face.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms but the one that opens out to the front where you get a view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Beautiful, well kept B&B. Garvin and Laura are wonderful, helpful people. Breakfast was outstanding- many ingredients grown on their own farm. Location near Hilo, Botanical Garden, other sites very centrally located. Nice views of the bay and mountain. Very enjoyable stay!! Thank you!!

Room Tip: Suggest Hilo Bay room- best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent 2 nights there as a base to see the volcano, what a treat!
In my view, this is the perfect mix between a B&B and a boutique hotel, you get personalized service and amazing tropical breakfast, and privacy - breakfasts are served on your lanai, so you don't have to talk to other guests, and owners only stay if you want to chat or have questions, otherwise they leave you in peace.
Add to that an amazing garden, great views, a whirlpool, a great decor, willingness to accommodate dietary requirements (they even made me gluten free pancakes!) and this place is a gem.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Entente-cordiale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Can't tell you how much we enjoyed our too short stay at Island Goode. The proprietors, Laura & Garvin went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable in every way. Island Goode is located a couple of miles north of Hilo, which is perfect because it give you easy access to town, yet allows you to relax in your own tropical paradise. The room, the Mauna Kea, was spacious, meticulously clean and well ventilated by plenty of windows. We loved sleeping with our windows open at night so we could fall asleep to the sounds of the tropics. The property is special in that there are views of both Mauna Kea and Hilo Bay from the house. The breakfasts are fantastic, featuring a plethora of fresh fruits from the onsite farm and served to you on your private lanai each morning. We look forward to returning to Island Goode.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papaikou
5.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
4.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 7 in Hilo
674 reviews
5.9 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 7 in Hilo
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
50.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Goode's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Goode's

Address: 27-2365 Mamalahoa Highway, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Papaikou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Papaikou
Price Range: $95 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Goode's 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Goodes is an Adult Only accommodation and 5 minutes from Hilo, 10 minutes from the Hilo Airport. The perfect location to experience the east side of The Big Island and the Hamakua Coast. We now offer an optional continental breakfast that is detailed on our website and offered only on our website. All 3rd Party reservations are without (NO) breakfast and there is no option upon arrival. Island Goode's is Newer Luxury B&B on a hill overlooking the ocean and Hilo Bay with spectacular views. All rooms have private entry with secure locks. The Hilo Bay, Ginger, Mauna Kea and 3rd story tower in the trees have King Size "Select Comfort" adjustable beds, Private bathrooms, ceiling fan and floor fans in rooms. Some rooms have A/C and flat screen TV's. We are grid-tie solar electric and solar hot water, but always backed up by the utility company. Sparkling clean! Each room has a private Lanai. Large Gazebo with Hot Tub and BBQ over looking the Ocean and Hilo Bay. Very private 6 acre estate, tropically landscaped with exotic palms and fruit trees. NEW ADDITION: "The Tower in The Trees" 3 Story tower with awesome views of the Ocean, Hilo Bay and Mauna Kea. The 3rd story room is the only room that has stairs to climb, so pack light if staying in this elevated and exciting room. The 1st story has no stairs. The 1st Story is our smallest room (but cozy) and has an ocean view (Queen Size "Sleep Number" Bed). The Tower Rooms have private entry, private bath (walk-in shower only). Large windows for trade wind breezes, no air conditioning in The Tower Rooms. Children are restricted. 18 years old and above allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Island Goode's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing