We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B ever!”
Review of Island Goode's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Goode's
Ranked #1 of 2 Papaikou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B ever!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Owners are extremely acute to detail, helping serve their guests in any way. Their rooms are completely lovely, comfortable, spacious, well-decorated, and clean. A couple minutes from Hilo, located on a beautiful country road full of tropical plants and trees, and with a stunning open view. Laura makes a wonderful and generous breakfast to enjoy, and brings it right to your room. Thank you Island Goode's!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoosekian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
115
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We loved our stay at Island Goode's. Laura and Garvin made us feel so welcome, and were there whenever we needed them. The room was very clean and comfortable and had everything we could have needed, including a fridge with water, kitchen items and utensils, and extra beach towels. As others have said, the breakfasts are fantastic, fresh, heavenly. All ingredients native to their farm. And to eat breakfast with that beautiful view of the ocean was the icing on the cake.
It was a great location, we saw Akaka falls (20 min), Volcano national park (1hr), and the summit of Mauna Kea (1.5 hrs), as well as drove to Kona for a day. And we happily relaxed in the hot tub each night to relax our tired muscles. We would happily stay here again should we ever be in Hilo again!

Room Tip: Loved the Hilo Bay room. Lots of windows and the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelersjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were referred to Island Goode's by another B&B and feel fortunate to have stayed 2 nights hosted by 2 of the nicest Innkeepers/B&B owners to be found. The property is a short drive off the highway but seems a world away with several acres of sustainable farm and views of Hilo Bay. The Ginger Room was well appointed and comfortable. The grounds were expansive and well cared for. Orchids in bloom around the lanai were a treat. The location of the B&B is ideal. It is close to but not in downtown Hilo where there is abundant dining and activity. We were thrilled that it was so convenient to Akaka Falls, the gorgeous Tropical Botanical Garden and What's Shakin'. The breakfasts were delicious, bountiful, and nicely presented on the lanai outside our room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfmt02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October in the Hilo Bay Room. The B&B is approx 4miles north of Hilo. Large, beautifully decorated room with all possible equipment available.

Best of all were the breakfasts on the private lanai with the ocean view. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and the best we had on all of Hawaii. A lot of homemade pastry. On our last day we had to depart very early before 6am to catch a plane. Laura organised a complete breakfast and put it in the fridge the night before. Great service! We had different experiences with flexibility of breakfast times in other B&Bs so we were really happy. Laura and Garvin were very welcoming hosts - great overall experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirkhei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in June. The location is great - just off the highway about 5 miles north of Hilo in a rural area. It made for a nice central location to tour the island, and is on the prettier, rainier side of the island.

The B&B is on a sustainable farm, and many of the delicious fruits that they serve are from the farm. They they also raise chickens, and cook the eggs for breakfast (the best I've ever tasted as they were so fresh!). Laura made guava french toast one morning, and it was delicious! They will even give you a tour of their farm, although we didn't have time with our busy schedule as there is so much to see and do on the Big Island.

We stayed in the Mauna Kea room with the adjoining extra room, so we had three beds total. The main room has air conditioning, a king size sleep number bed, a living area with large tv, and a dining table. The adjoining room has two double beds with ceiling fan, but no air conditioning. We left the door open and the breeze helped cool it down. They also provide a box fan for that room. The two rooms share a full bathroom with double sinks. Everything was very clean and well maintained.

There is a small outdoor jacuzzi close to the room, and hammocks to relax in. The location was very quiet, except for the sound of the Coqui frogs, which were not overly obtrusive.

We had a great experience staying here, and hope to return some day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvladct82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in September--wish we had stayed longer! The property is beautiful; room was perfect (spotlessly clean, large, comfortable), and well-equipped with minifridge, coffee maker, hot pot for tea/cocoa, dinnerware, glasses, etc., AC, ceiling fans, or box fan for comfortable sleeping. Laura and Garvin's attention to detail is beyond impressive. Breakfasts were fabulous: farm-fresh eggs, fruit; homemade baked goods, all beautifully and plentifully presented on our lanai table. I could go on, but I can't really say anything that hasn't already been said in other reviews. Even their website is exceptionally well done with clear pictures and detailed descriptions of the rooms and amenities. If you're planning a trip to the Big Island, book your room at Island Goode's now!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrsAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. Laura and Garvin were so welcoming and made us feel at home. Breakfast was wonderful on your own private lanai. They shared their interesting lifestyle with us (sustainable farm) and Garvin informed us about wild boar that like to eat their fruits and vegetables. Nothing is wasted as he informed us that his neighbor butches and eats the board. They grow apple bananas (which are delicious) and other area fruits. A great experience. If you are heading for the Hilo area, give them a call and stay there! Oh, the sleep number beds are heaven!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papaikou
5.3 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
4.8 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
669 reviews
49.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
5.3 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
5.6 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Goode's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Goode's

Property: Island Goode's
Address: 27-2365 Mamalahoa Highway, Papaikou, Island of Hawaii, HI 96781
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Papaikou
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Papaikou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Island Goode's 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Goodes is an Adult Only accommodation and 5 minutes from Hilo, 10 minutes from the Hilo Airport. The perfect location to experience the east side of The Big Island and the Hamakua Coast. We now offer an optional continental breakfast that is detailed on our website and offered only on our website. All 3rd Party reservations are without (NO) breakfast and there is no option upon arrival. Island Goode's is Newer Luxury B&B on a hill overlooking the ocean and Hilo Bay with spectacular views. All rooms have private entry with secure locks. The Hilo Bay, Ginger, Mauna Kea and 3rd story tower in the trees have King Size "Select Comfort" adjustable beds, Private bathrooms, ceiling fan and floor fans in rooms. Some rooms have A/C and flat screen TV's. We are grid-tie solar electric and solar hot water, but always backed up by the utility company. Sparkling clean! Each room has a private Lanai. Large Gazebo with Hot Tub and BBQ over looking the Ocean and Hilo Bay. Very private 6 acre estate, tropically landscaped with exotic palms and fruit trees. NEW ADDITION: "The Tower in The Trees" 3 Story tower with awesome views of the Ocean, Hilo Bay and Mauna Kea. The 3rd story room is the only room that has stairs to climb, so pack light if staying in this elevated and exciting room. The 1st story has no stairs. The 1st Story is our smallest room (but cozy) and has an ocean view (Queen Size "Sleep Number" Bed). The Tower Rooms have private entry, private bath (walk-in shower only). Large windows for trade wind breezes, no air conditioning in The Tower Rooms. Children are restricted. 18 years old and above allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island Goode's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing