We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Day on our Trip”

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Papaikou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden is a 501(c)(3) Scientific and Educational non-profit, whose mission is to serve as a nature preserve and sanctuary, a living seed bank, and a study center for trees and plants of the tropical world. The Garden is dedicated to the collection and display of the world's tropical plants,and to the education of both children and adults about the plight of the world's rainforests. At a time when rainforest plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, the Garden is working to preserve as many species as possible for the benefit of future generations.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
190 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Day on our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

These gardens are not to be missed. What a peaceful, beautiful and well done gardens. My husband put this on the top of the list of best things he did on the Big Island. Gardens are done so well. We were able to take awesome pictures. Such a special place. We did not have any problems with bugs. The ocean views and waterfalls are just amazing. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stop and take it all in.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAAdams53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    161
    27
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a beautiful spot.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was a great walk in paradise. Fantastic views, and a great experience. The waterfalls, and ocean views are spectacular.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rhagemeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Photographers dream ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

This place is a photographers dream. Descend a steep boardwalk (twice as steep on the ascent back up) to beautiful tropical gardens ending in a breathtaking ocean view. Orchids, lily lake, bromeliads, waterfalls, and lots of spectacular plants abound. Very we'll cared for, we saw several gardeners and workmen were maintaining the boardwalk. Well worth the $15 entry fee. Take a picnic, it has the most beautiful picnic area beside the sea, and take plenty of water as it's a good 2 mile round trip and very humid. It would be good to have a humidity reading at the gate and water recommendation. Lots of mosquitoes so be sure to cover yourself in bug spray.

Helpful?
Thank DenverExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A rare treat for plant lovers. Very beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We balked at the admission price, but once in the garden we were impressed with the variety and beauty of the plants. This labor of love, largely visioned by a devoted couple, is worth your time. It was raining for part of our visit, but we still enjoyed the large specimens, particularly the anthurium collection, the ginger plants, orchids, lobster claws, and others. I would say this is a don't miss! Thanks to all who maintain this gorgeous valley in tropical paradise!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank noahsmomhwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilbert, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Breath taking in more than one way but well worth the $, time & exercise. Steep path in & out but golf cart are available for those not physically able to handle the path on their own. Paths are in fantastic shape with guard rails. Plan a couple of hours minimum. Resting spots along the way. Orchid, anthurium, sections plus ocean views & a nice waterfall.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaMi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing