We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Tropical Garden Ever!”

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Papaikou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden is a 501(c)(3) Scientific and Educational non-profit, whose mission is to serve as a nature preserve and sanctuary, a living seed bank, and a study center for trees and plants of the tropical world. The Garden is dedicated to the collection and display of the world's tropical plants,and to the education of both children and adults about the plight of the world's rainforests. At a time when rainforest plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, the Garden is working to preserve as many species as possible for the benefit of future generations.
West Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Tropical Garden Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was our second visit to the gardens. Last year when we stumbled across this place, we were reluctant to visit the gardens as the $15 per person entrance seemed a bit steep to us. However, we were glad we decided to dig deeper than we would have liked into our wallets. Oh my!!!!! Definitely money well spent. I have never seen more gorgeous flowers in so many different colors and species. The grounds make for a wonderful stroll down to the water where you get fabulous views of the ocean. They say it takes about an hour and a half to cover the entire walkway..................we spent over four hours. This place is a definite "MUST SEE!" Be sure to bring a camera.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,102
    161
    27
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fastest way to say: "Now I know I'm in Hawaii!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Way more than a garden, you are trekking through classic Hawaiian flora and fauna that looks like it's from another planet as you work your way down to this breathtaking coastal vista. It's a kind of bay so that the roar of the waves against the rocks reverberates like an amphitheater that sounded like a low flying jumbo jet! Just loved it! We went first thing in the morning to avoid the heat, and bugs weren't a problem for us at that time, though we did spray ourselves preemptively. Before arriving to the entrance we pulled off the road at an overlook, forget the name. But, there is a short trail that heads to a smaller cove right on the water with a pebble beach. We had the place to ourselves as we watched the waves coming in with force against the jutting rocks. This is located right at the back side of the Tropical Botanical Gardens, but is State property. So, you can't enter the Gardens from there. What a find! When we were at the coast of the Gardens we could see the spot where we were before. After the Gardens, just a little further down the Scenic Drive, make sure to eat at "What's Shakin" before heading to Akaka Falls.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank RangerDanger78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth your time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I'm a plant person. My husband is not. As we toured these gardens yesterday he commented that this was definitely a "don't miss activity" in Hawaii. Enough said...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank asharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We aren't "plant people" so much, but we were told this was a must visit - and it was! It was a beautiful casual walk down a canyon to the ocean. There is so much to see it takes a while - particularly if you have a camera. It's hard to walk more than a couple of steps before you stop and take another couple of photos. Many beautiful small waterfalls. When we reached the ocean, we were treated with a pod of whales going by. Thrilling! Highly recommend this stop - its a very short drive down a beautiful road from Kona.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This garden ranks in the top 3 of things we did while visiting the Big Island for two weeks. It is absolutely gorgeous! There is no better place to walk and take in the flowers, trees, birds, and smells of Hawaii.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank barlar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing