We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Garden”

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Papaikou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden is a 501(c)(3) Scientific and Educational non-profit, whose mission is to serve as a nature preserve and sanctuary, a living seed bank, and a study center for trees and plants of the tropical world. The Garden is dedicated to the collection and display of the world's tropical plants,and to the education of both children and adults about the plight of the world's rainforests. At a time when rainforest plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, the Garden is working to preserve as many species as possible for the benefit of future generations.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tropical Garden”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden has more than 2,000 different species. It is a self guided tour (a map is provided upon registration) which takes at least 90 Minutes. Within the garden several information can be found about the beginning and the area itself. For those people who like to trail in a nice Park or anyone who is interested in botanics this garden is an absolute recommendation. One tip: one shoul be prepared for mosquitos and I would recommend to talke water with me (there is no water in the garden).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,123
    162
    28
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful botanical garden”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped here on the way to Volcanoes National Park. If you have the time it is worth the stop but it is difficult to find the turn-off. Get off Rt 19 after mile marker 7, by the 4 mile "Scenic Route" sign, on your way to Hilo. It is also called the "Hawaiian Tropical Botanical Garden." The entrance fee is $15 pp. A trail winds through beautiful vegetation and flora that was clearly labeled (I don't know why other reviews said the opposite). Excellent location for photographs since there are many exotic plants. Follow the trail to Onomea Bay for a great view. It took us about 1 1/2hours go walk through the entire garden.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMJ024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Totally worth a trip”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

It was kind of hard to find (easy to miss the main road sign) but totally worth going to and well worth the money. I also used their $1.50 bug spray sheets, also worth it if you forgot your own spray. Plan on taking of lots of photos! The first part can be steep-ish and slippery-ish, but they have a cart for an extra fee that can drive you down there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank snarkyinla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent a couple of hours walking the gardens and communing with the flowers. This man-made garden contains many varieties of flowers and trees. It winds inward to a lovely stream and waterfall and outward to a point on an oceanfront bay.

Most of the plants were marked and bursting with delight. We had a transformational experience in that garden and came out at peace with wonderful visions of color and nature's shape.

There was a ramp to get down to the gardens and some stairs and bridges. It might be difficult for those who do not have stamina.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelWeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Islands Microcosm”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was one of our highlights on our trip to Hawaii, which included the Big Island, Maui, Kaua'i, and Oahu. Even though the day was somewhat overcast, with an occasional drizzle of rain, this garden was beautiful. The vegetation was lush, colorful, varied, and clearly labeled. The waterfall was stunning and located off to one side with a nice bench for quiet meditation and contemplation.
The stream flows down into the ocean where there are dramatic views of waves crashing on to interesting rock formations (an arch can be viewed from the road above when leaving the garden by car). I actually felt that if you only had 2 hours to spend in the Islands, this would be the place to be. Even the gift shop was nice, and umbrellas are available to borrow.
My only criticism is that I felt the bird house, with its South American parrots, was a bit out of place and somewhat tacky in these natural environs.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing