We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great gardens”

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Papaikou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden is a 501(c)(3) Scientific and Educational non-profit, whose mission is to serve as a nature preserve and sanctuary, a living seed bank, and a study center for trees and plants of the tropical world. The Garden is dedicated to the collection and display of the world's tropical plants,and to the education of both children and adults about the plight of the world's rainforests. At a time when rainforest plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, the Garden is working to preserve as many species as possible for the benefit of future generations.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great gardens”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The only reason the I didn't give it the top rating is because of the entrance price ($15 each). My wife likes to go to botanical gardens anywhere we travel, and I wanted to get some pictures of tropical flowers, so we went. The parking lot was very full, but the park is so big that we were not around people much of the time. We went slow to let everyone ahead of us and it was like we were alone. The place was amazing and great care was taken to keep it that way. There was a wider array of flowers and plants then I will probably see in one place the rest of my life. I am still sorting through the pics from the trip, but this was a great place to go, and there were picnic tables there so when we were done we had lunch there before moving on.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rygentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,123
    162
    28
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an easy ride right outside of Hilo. We chose this garden over the World Botanical Gardens because it looked like there was more focus on plants and nature rather than zip lines and segways. If you are taking small children they may have a tougher time walking back up the ramp from the ocean area. This is a true botanical garden, not an amusement park.
This place is amazing. Even the road to the entry way is beautiful. The garden consists of a pathway down to the ocean, so you are walking downhill for the first portion. The gift store provides a map when you purchase your addmission, $15. All of the plants are clearly marked, the waterfalls are beautiful. It is a very spiritual place, so peaceful and quiet. There is a Koi pond as well as a parrot enclosure with plenty of seating at both to stop and take a break. I reccommend some bug spray as it can get rather humid with all of the palms and mossy plants and this attracts mosquitos. There are plenty of orchids, both planted and growing off of other trees.
Give 2 hours to view everything, it is also a nice spot to have lunch. There are picnic tables located at the entry way. Bring your own lunch though, because they do not have refreshments there. This is a must do trip if you are in the Hilo area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank giuliag1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
200 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Gorgeous! Really, really worth a visit.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We had low expectations of the gardens but decided to take a look since it is along a scenic route. The gardens are absolutely gorgeous, even for people, like us, who are not big gardeners. The layout is beautiful and is well marked. Great location for photographers. Absolutely worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank OaklandBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Hard to find & not very well advertised, I am so glad I found out about the garden before visiting the island. My wife & I made the trip from Kona & were blown away with the peace, serenity & beauty of this place. Just the view of the waterfall alone is worth the price of admission! I took more photo's here than anywhere else on the island & will highly recommend anyone visiting the Big Island must add this to their itinerary.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
578 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We tried to visit this garden one day but the weather was very drizzly. The next morning we checked out of our VRBO and made a drive back to see it - in the opposite direction from which we needed to head to our next VRBO! I am so very glad we did. The variety and beauty of this garden is amazing. Such a great walk though to see everything. Part of it is actually along the Pacific. Try to see everything - it is well worth it. And don't be daunted by the steep walk down. If I can get back up fairly easily, so can you! But the do have golf carts if you require them!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing