We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must See on the Big Island Soooooo Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden

Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
$196.87*
and up
Waipio Valley Explorer Overlook from Kona
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Papaikou
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden is a 501(c)(3) Scientific and Educational non-profit, whose mission is to serve as a nature preserve and sanctuary, a living seed bank, and a study center for trees and plants of the tropical world. The Garden is dedicated to the collection and display of the world's tropical plants,and to the education of both children and adults about the plight of the world's rainforests. At a time when rainforest plants are disappearing at an alarming rate, the Garden is working to preserve as many species as possible for the benefit of future generations.
redlands california
Level Contributor
419 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A Must See on the Big Island Soooooo Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Easily one of the most beautiful spots on the Big Island. Beautiful botanical garden experience right on the ocean with spectacular views. I visited here 25 plus years ago and found the place to be even more memorable and gorgeous experience. A bit of a challenge to find. It is four miles beyond Akaka Falls on the "4 mile scenic loop". The scenic loop is well worth the journey and the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden is the highlight.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jwwcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    157
    27
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beyond Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

If you enjoy tropical gardens, then plan to spend the day! This place is huge, the trails are marked, the plants are labelled, there are benches on which to rest, and make certain that all people in your party have their cell phones. (I'm kidding, I think. I don't know if they would work, but it would be one way to find each other.) Insect repellant and closed toe shoes would be a good idea. Take something to drink. Be certain to see the birds! Hold onto your map! The restrooms are at the gift shop/entrance.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmesaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
181 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful lush tropical garden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Amazing variety of plants in a natural setting. You wander the pathways and see so many gorgeous plants. The orchids, palms, and so many other plants along with cultural stories (legend and history). The garden descends from the entry, to the sea, passing a waterfall and stream. Spectacular coastal views and everything is well labeled. I have visited many times and always find it rewarding. You can request a cart ride down and up the steepest parts, for a small fee, which is great for those with some mobility limitations.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HLW648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The garden is stunningly beautiful. If you have the slightest interest in gardens, this is the place to visit. Tropical gardens are always beautiful but you never see this amount of variety, incredible flowers and towering trees. The pathways are paved and there is a little restroom mid-way. The plants are consistently labeled. There are a couple of gorgeous ocean views with historical significance. Plan to spend 1-2 hours depending on your gardening interest level. I was a little rushed with 2 hours with the rest of the group wanting to head on.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kb2923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Incomparably beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had missed this attraction on previous trips to the island, and it was on our list this time.

We were fortunate enough to have a brilliantly sunny day for our stop here. I had always thought the $15 dollar fee might be a little high, but I changed my mind after the afternoon we spent here.

As mentioned in other reviews, there is a steep section as you enter and exit the gardens.
They do have a golf cart for folks who are challenged on slopes like that, and it might be worth paying the extra 5 bucks for a ride if you are concerned about that; though on the way back up, I saw a driver pick up someone who was huffing and puffing, just to be neighborly; a nice touch.

The gardens themsleves are one of the top two gardens I have seen in the islands; the other being on Kauai. Take time to experience the beauty of the whole experience. There is an aviary nestled in the middle of the garden; and incomparable ocean views when you reach the bottom of the path.

The story of the building of this garden is inspiring and a testimony to the difference just a couple of folks can make to the beauty of the planet.

This is a must see if you are on the Hilo side of the Big Island

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rcftommay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden also viewed

Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing