We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My only question is.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My only question is.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2008

When can we go back to Coconut Cottage?!?!

All the reviews here are right! We just returned from 10 days on the Big Island. We really had an amazing time in Pahoa and the Puna District and have already told our friends and family about Coconut Cottage. We have stayed at many bed and breakfasts and this was one of the best experiences we have ever had. A perfect location for touring the many sights on the east side of the island and HVNP and we have never felt more comfortable in every aspect than at Coconut Cottage. We were having such a good time that we decided to stay an extra night there before heading to one of the big resorts at Waikoloa.

While the scuba diving and coffee farms on the west side were fine it was quite a culture shock to arrive at the big resort. If we didn't already have obligations we might have packed our things and headed right back to Todd and Jerry's great breakfasts. If you want a "real" Hawaii experience then there is no other place we would rather stay on the Big Island.

Mahalo Todd and Jerry.

  • Liked — Locations, cleanliness, breakfast, local knowledge and hospitality
  • Disliked — We had to leave!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Aloha_On_My_MInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    38
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
64
243
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

Coconut Cottage B&B is the best. Clean, spacious and the grounds are beautiful. I took my 10 yr. old nephew to Hawaii for his first visit and we stayed at CCBB and Jerry and Todd were the best hosts you could ask for. They were very informative on what to see and do, provid the best breakfast than any cafe (love the stuffed french toast) and are a pleasure to just sit and talk with. They make you feel very at-home in their home which is a big plus. I'm already looking into my next trip back to the CCBB.
Thanks guys for a wonderful vacation.

  • Liked — The cottage bungalow was very spacious
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stargzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2008

In June 2008, we stayed at the Cocunut Cottage in Pahoa. Our family of five (including 3 young kids) loved being on the Hilo side and we had a blast at the Coconut. We'll definitely be back again.

The grounds are lush, fragrant and very well-cared for; the house and bungalow in the back (our digs for a week) are stylish, comfy and very clean. The large jacuzzi was a perfect way to end busy days.

Each day's breakfast was oh so tastey. The mac-pancakes, well-selected tropical fruit and monkey bread (no animals were hurt to make this gooey, cinnamon treat) were just some of the highlights for us.

We ventured out each day to different destinations and felt perfectly situated to experience all that this side of the Big Island had to offer. Some of our favorites--beaches and snorkeling, Red Road, natural steam rooms, lava viewing--were just minutes from the B&B.

Last but certainly not least, our hosts were gracious, informative, fun, and committed to making sure we had a great stay at the Coconut Cottage and in Hawaii.

Thanks again J & T for a great stay and a great vacation! Hope to see you again soon.

  • Liked — location, comfort, style, breakfast
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jorelsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

If you are into experiencing "old Hawaii" in a place that is also kind of "out there" given the number of people who have gravitated to the area to lead groovy, alternative and laid back lives, then Pahoa in Puna is the place for you and Coconut Cottage Bed and Breakfast is definitely where you should stay.

We arrived to find that Tod and Jerry were out, but they had kindly left a note for us saying just go on in. We toured the magnificent grounds ("backyard" or even "garden" don't convey the grandeur of the outdoor space) and said "wow!" We entered our room (the Bali spirit suite) and were very impressed by the size of the room and bathroom, as well as the tasteful, themed decor. We did worry a bit that we'd fall out of the very high bed, but that didn't happen! It was also nice that there were two chairs so that we didn't have to watch TV from the bed.

The attention to detail is what sets this B & B apart. The linens were all top of the range. There were complimentary drinks and snacks in our room (also a mini fridge).The toiletries provided included mouth wash, as well as shampoo and hair conditioner--which were nicer than the travel-sized products I had with me! There were spa robes hanging on a rack--which we used when we went to the hot tub (a glorious outdoor hot tub in a wood and grass roofed hut).

When our hosts got home from the beach they invited us to share pu pus (appetizers/snacks) and a cocktail. We were shown their 500+ DVD collection and told to help ourselves. They let us do our laundry! They told us to go to a particular restaurant (Kaleos), which served the best restaurant food I ate in Hawaii.

And in the morning there was Kona coffee, juice, a fruit platter, and various cooked/baked home-made breakfasts. I loved the portuguese sausage!

Another thoughtful detail: a chalkboard with "today's breakfast menu" on it AND the names of the guests we would be sharing breakfast with. Made introductions and conversation easy.

Tod and Jerry are skilled marketers, and they have a great website. I can absolutely guarantee you that they delivered everything they said they would--and more. Plus they are truly nice guys and have a sweet dog, Gogo.

We found ourselves fantasizing about never leaving! Go. You'll love it.

  • Liked — The grounds and the private linai
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Linda4950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2008

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying in the Bali Suite a few short weeks ago, and believe me folks, all of the glowing comments and reviews of Jerry and Todd's fabulous hospitality are for real. Their approach to making their houseguests feel comfortable and "pampered" is definitely first class. My husband and I travel quite extensively and we normally like to stay in upper-end boutique hotels. The Coconut Cottage B&B has made our list as one of the most unique and enjoyable lodging experiences we've ever had. We'll be back!

  • Liked — The uniqueness of the property and the personalized service by the owners
  • Disliked — Another bed lamp in the Bali Suite would be helpful for two people who like to read in bed : )
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dramaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2008

We stayed in the private cottage, and had an absolutely wonderful experience. Cottage was clean, comfortable, and well-stocked with snacks. The attention to detail was quite impressive. Location was really convenient to lava viewing, Volcanoes National Park and other activities, including relatively cheap gas. Jerry and Todd were nice enough to lend us an excellent guide book, flashlights and binoculars for lava viewing, and helpful suggestions. They were very accommodating of our dietary restrictions, and thoughtfully prepared a brown bag breakfast for us on our last morning when we had to leave early for the airport. We didn't use it, but they have a large DVD collection available.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jginsbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, ID
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

We found Coconut Cottage on Trip Advisor, and the raves you read here are dead on.
We spent a week at Todd and Jerry's beautiful property on a delayed honeymoon, and we had an absolutely wonderful time. We woke each morning to a breakfast of fresh tropical fruit and a different gourmet main dish every day - coconut macademia nut pancakes, quiche, frittata, stuffed French toast, sticky buns - not to mention the local coffee!
The grounds are lovely and soothing, and our room was a delight. Everything about Coconut Cottage is refreshing and comfortable, and it was such a nice touch to be able to watch old movies from their extensive DVD library after a long day of playing.
The location was great, close to many of the adventures we wanted to see. Plus, by staying near Pahoa, we were able to save a little on gas and food, which was a nice bonus. The inn is just minutes from lava viewing, incredible tide pools and a beautiful black sand beach.
I can't begin to recommend this place strongly enough, and we hope to be back very, very soon.

  • Liked — The breakfasts were amazing, and the scenery was so soothing.
  • Disliked — The one thing I would do differently is to book another room. Our room, the Royal Hibiscus Room, was wonderful, but it was occasionally awkward to have a separate private bath.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank katecarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
20.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
21.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#1 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-1139 Leilani Ave, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8219
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Cottage B&B is located between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park in the tropical Puna district. Lava Tree State Park, thermal hot pools, surfing, steam vent caves black sand beaches and world-class snorkeling are a few miles away. Take a coastal drive along the Red Road, considered the most beautiful drive of the islands. Enjoy hiking, mountain biking and eco-tours at nearby trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing