We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Coconut Cottage is a fantastic place to stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Coconut Cottage is a fantastic place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived the smell of flowers and the tranquility of the location struck us. Doug and his entire family were very welcoming. Our room was wonderful. We had the hibiscus room which has a lovely sitting room. My husband was excited to find such a comfy bed with soft linens. Which was very welcome after having had back surgery. Our personal bathroom was well stocked and clean. Breakfast was divine. The assortment of fresh fruit was delicious. Doug's bread was incredible. We were very impressed with the layout for breakfast which also included an egg item and an assortment of teas and coffee. The location for breakfast was also very nice. We had a chance to get know other guests among the lovely aromas of Doug's garden. We stayed three nights and were very sorry to leave. We will be back. Ben and Jackie Delaney.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerky6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We love hosting such lovely guests and truly hope you can come visit us again in the future! It's guests like you who truly give us the energy to keep providing our top quality services. We thank you very much and please stay in touch!
Doug & Jaime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    38
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
64
243
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Au
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We had a great at the Coconut Cott. Doug is so helpful and the breakfast was so delicious specially for people like us from Switzerland... usually we are eating muesli and yoghurt its was an challenge so many different fruits on the table yummy... we loved the mangos....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marlen780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Manager at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Marlen,
I'm so glad we broke your daily norm and you got used to eating a big beautiful breakfast spread while here. Doug loves pleasing his guests with beautiful gourmet breakfasts. We hope to see our Swiss friends come here again soon! Thank you so much for a beautiful review. Much aloha to you!

Jaime & Doug Juarez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at The Royal Hibiscus Room for 5 nights. The room was clean and very lovely. There was some drinks and snacks in the room that was highly appriciated. There is also a smal fridge. The bathroom was not in the room but across the hall.
The host Doug and Jamie are super friendly and have alot of knowledge about Hawaii and the area of theb&b. There are alot to see and do in the area of the b&b.We highly reccomend the morning lavatour with Doug. Its a 3/4hour return walk over the lava to the place where the floawing lava meets the oceane. The tour starts at 4 in the morning. Remember to bring a headlamp( you can buy it at a hardwarestore in the town) and good shoes. Our 7 year old son was walking aswell and dident have any problems. After the walk there is breakfast. The breakfast is variouse and different every day. The only thing which is the same every morning, is coffee, thea and the fruit( very nice) our son asked for pancakes and Doug fixed that right away.

Thank you Jamie and Doug for a great Hawaiien experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Manager at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Aloha! We wanted to say a big thank you for such a beautiful review. Also, consider yourself one of the very lucky ones as you were one of the last few guests that actually got to see the lava tour as the lava has stopped in the Kalapana area. It's still in the Volcano National Park but isn't flowing like it did in Kalapana for you! Thank you so much for your stay, we hope to see you again soon!

Mahalo,

Jaime and Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed in the bungalow for 7 nights in mid-July 2013 with my girlfriend Catherine.
There are some items which need to be improved and have been communicated privately to the current managers (Jaimie and Doug) so they have some leverage with the owners.
The breakfasts are awesome with plenty for all and eating with other guests provides plenty of opportunity for conversation and exchange of experiences.
The sound of the coqui frogs may keep some awake but lulled us to sleep.
The grounds are like a botanical garden
This is the wet area of the Big Island, which visitors should know in advance. Towels do not dry very well but will be dried for you or replaced if you ask.
WiFi reception is poor inside the bungalow but good outside or in the breakfast lanai.
Doug is very knowledge about the area and will suggest places to visit and eat.
I would be sure to stay here again if visiting Hawaii.
Mahalo!
Geoff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geosin1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Manager at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Aloha Geoff and Catherine!
We loved having you stay here with us and we hope to see you back again soon!

Mahalo,

Jaime & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

My family and I just stayed for two nights at the Coconut Cottage in mid July, 2013. Jaime and Doug and are lovely hosts. They could not have been more generous with their knowledge of the island or their kindness. We shared the delicious breakfast table (Doug is a great cook and baker) two mornings with two other families and loved trading travel tips and laughs with them all- Jamie and Doug included. It really was the perfect way to kick off our travels around Hawaii. And our children, ages 8 and 10, loved: the big yard to run around in, and the sound of the frogs! Mahalo Doug and Jaime for a really relaxing visit. We miss you guys and your Aloha spirit already. Jean-Marie and Sanjay, Baltimore, MD

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJTrivedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Manager at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Aloha Jean-Marie and Sanjay! We miss your wonderful spirits as well. It's guests like you that keeps us motivated to do our best on a daily basis! Thank you for sharing such a beautiful kindness. Our B&B is open to you anytime you feel like coming back here! We hope to see you again very soon! Mahalo,

Jaime & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our stay didn't start too well. We arrived a little early .. check-in is from 3pm. No one answered the door so we sat in the car. Not until after 3pm did the door open. Doug appeared and was friendly enough but obviously one stays here on his terms. I don't want to be too harsh about Coconut Cottage. The room (Bali) was perfectly adequate and the complementary bags of nachos most welcome - after our evening lava walk with Poke A Stick. As another reviewer mentioned, a proper pathway from car to room would make moving luggage easier. Breakfast was OK if you like sweet things. We thought that for the price we paid, a little breakfast variety (eggs & toast perhaps?) might be expected.
We know Doug and Jaime have a new son and that Doug also does lava walks so life isn't so easy for them but to put it bluntly, that's not our problem. Would we recommend Coconut Cottage? Yes if you're planning an evening lava walk and don't fancy driving all the way back to Hilo, otherwise not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ForeignFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Coconut Cottage Guest,
We appreciate your comments. You must have had breakfast when we served our very popular dish that guests love which includes: Carmelized apple, macadamia and white chocolate monkey bread along with our staple protein dish that goes with our monkey bread. Portuguese sausage along with a large plate of delicious fruit which is papaya, apple bananas, mangos, pineapple, long-gon along with other varieties of seasonal fruits. We also serve ample amounts of coffee, tea and POG. Doug also brought out to share with you his made from scratch apple banana, macadamia, papaya, passion fruit bread he makes. There was a ton of food and there was nothing left when everyone was finished eating. See the pictures for reference on the amounts of foods prepared for 12 people. We have never had a complaint about the quality of food as Doug is a healthy chef and creates every meal from scratch nor have we had a complaint about the amount of food provided. Our guests always leave with a full stomach. We also switch up the menu every day providing egg dishes every other day as we have many guests who stay multiple days. A sample of our main dishes include: Quiche, Fritatta, Banana Pancakes, French Crepes, Cheese scrambled eggs. If for some reason you wanted an egg, Doug is a 30 year professional chef and could have whipped up a beautiful omlette for you. All you have to do is speak up and ask if that wasn't part of the menu for that day. We always strive for our guests to be 100% satisfied!

We have a busy schedule during the day, we create from scratch every morning a fresh breakfast starting at 7am and our guests come in at 8:30 am for their morning feast. Once that is over, our guests go back to their rooms to pack up if leaving while we clean up the breakfast. At 11am our guests who are departing leave and we clean rooms, clean the common areas, do laundry to provide fresh linens, go shop for more food so that small amount of time from 11am to 3pm we are preparing for another group of guests to arrive making sure there is plenty of food for the next morning and detailed cleaned rooms for them to check into. If we didn't open the door prior to 3pm, it's probably because we were out shopping for food or we were busy preparing rooms for you. Our cell phone numbers are on the door for your convenience as well. We open up our home to you at 3pm and love meeting all of our new guests every single day. Please feel free to call us if it looks like you might be coming in early so we can do our best to let you in for an early check in. We've done this many times and usually our guests call us to let us know they are arriving early. We do everything to accomodate. If their room isn't ready for an early check in due to a late check out guest, we can at the very minimum bring your bags into our main room so you can go on your excursions you might have planned while we prepare your room. Our policy that is emailed to you at your time of booking states that we open up our home to you at 3pm to 6pm. Call us prior if your going to be early or late so we can accomodate you. We thank you for staying at The Coconut Cottage Bed and Breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thüringen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in the Bali Suite for three night. Same as others mentioned, the house is in the rain forest, so rain, humidity and the frogs singing is part of staying there. The room is nice but yes it is kind of rustic and worn. More details in the cleaning of the room would have been appreciated. The breakfast is awesome and providing a good base for a long day. Doug was us also a great guide to the lava. We started 4am - 3am would be better if you want to see the glow in the dark dark. It is a great hike and Doug did great bringing us safe to the most exciting place ever. Doug and his wife did also great in recommendations for eating and swimming. It is a good place to explore the Vulcano area for a couple of days and in great location to the Hilo airport. Our expectations have been higher driven by three other great places during our 15 days, 3 island Hawaii trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Eich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Aloha Coconut Cottage Guests!
Thank you for taking the time to write a response on our TripAdvisor page. We also enjoyed your time here as well. We hope to see you again in the future! Wish wish you many Aloha's~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
20.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
21.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#1 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-1139 Leilani Ave, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8219
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Cottage B&B is located between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park in the tropical Puna district. Lava Tree State Park, thermal hot pools, surfing, steam vent caves black sand beaches and world-class snorkeling are a few miles away. Take a coastal drive along the Red Road, considered the most beautiful drive of the islands. Enjoy hiking, mountain biking and eco-tours at nearby trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing