We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nuts About Coconut Cottage!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pahoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nuts About Coconut Cottage!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My stay at the Coconut Cottage was wonderful. Jaime and Doug are warm and thoughtful hosts.

When I arrived, Doug showed me to the Bali Spirit Suite and gave me an overview of the B&B as well as nearby activities. The suite is spacious and has its own entrance. I actually didn't hear any of the other guests while I was in my room.

In the mornings, breakfast started with platter of fresh fruits, coffee, tea and juice. From there we had omelettes, breads, potatoes and sausage. It was delicious and the best food I had on the island. I would seriously stay here again just for the breakfast.

The garden is beautiful, well maintained and very lush. There are lots of places to explore nearby from tide pools to lava!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monika V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We truly enjoyed hosting you here at Coconut Cottage Bed and Breakfast and do hope you have a chance to visit again! You truly had the Aloha spirit which is what this experience is all about. Many aloha's to you from our Ohana to yours. Mahalo~ Jaime, Doug and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    38
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
64
243
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DARIEN
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Traveling with another couple we stayed in 3 different rooms. The best thing about Coconut Cottage is the friendliness of the owners. They care about providing you a good experience. The current owners are relatively new (less than a year) and there are some things about the property that need updating (fluffier towels, spiffing up corners and edges, etc of rooms) but I'd stay there again. It was fun to talk about the area with the owners (restaurant recommendations, sightseeing ideas). The local fresh fruit every morning was delicious. Coffee was available before the actual breakfast for early risers. The hosts generously share tour books and maps.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Aloha Coconut Cottage Guest!

We wanted to take a moment and thank you for providing such beautiful Aloha spirit and giving us a glowing report. We took your response to heart and have replaced the linens and have replaced many of the towels so they are fluffier! Our guests are sleeping on 600 to 800 thread count. We hope you will come stay with us again!

Mahalo,

Jaime & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friend and I had a few days off work and traveled from Kona to Pahoa. I am extremely pleased with our stay at Coconut Cottage. The Bali Room has a unique, inviting atmosphere and the coolest daybed right when you walk in. The hosts, Jamie and Doug, are great. They had helpful recommendations for things to do in the area, but we ended up just chatting with them for the night! They are very welcoming; not to mention the delicious breakfast Doug prepared in the morning. Breakfast is served on their cozy, enclosed lanai (balcony) and consisted of teas and coffee, plenty of fresh sliced fruit, a frittata, portuguese sausage, and a tasty homemade fruit bread. You will feel at home at this bed and breakfast. There are a lot of beautiful sights in the surrounding area, including some of the greatest drives in Hawaii. I can't wait to go back and stay with them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coconutcottage, Owner at Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Aloha Coconut Cottage Guests!

We truly enjoyed both of you and only hope that in the future you come stay with us again! After many requests, Doug is now conducting Lava Hikes in Kalapana per guest request and for only $150 per two people which saves our guests lots of dollars. Plus they get to come back and have Doug's beautiful breakfast. Guests are loving it and we hope you will join us sometime in the near future while your still on the Big Island. We once again want to send you many Aloha's.

Mahalo,

Jaime & Doug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for two nights to visit the Lave fields and enjoyed our stay very much. The room was very spacious , the garden was beautiful and the breakfast deliciously prepared with local flavors. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. We wish we could have stayed longer. We will do so during our next visit to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in the cottage which was not part of the main house and was very private.The location of Coconut Cottage makes it an ideal base for exploring the SE corner of Hawaii. You can drive up to Hilo, to the Puna coast and explore the tide pools and snorkel or visit Volcano National Park. We ended up increasing the amount of time we stayed here as it was so perfect. Pahoa was a nice sleepy town with a number of good restaurants and bars. There are also Pizza takeaways. Its great to take a pizza back to the cottage and eat it on the Lanai.

Breakfasts were a feast. Doug is a chef and so his breakfasts are first class. His banana bread is the best ever.

The cottage itself is finished to a very high standard: Lovely big bed and nice hot shower. Its sat in beautiful gardens and at night, the rain forest comes alive. Fantastic!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piere M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are not fans of B&B, though this one we really liked. We stayed in the Pineapple room which is peaceful, spacious and nice. The owners are very helpful and we got plenty of good advice on the lavaboat (a must-do excursion) and on dinner places.

It feels a bit like "at home" with a good and nice interaction with the owners who are doing their utmost to serve their customers.

The place is close to the volcano park and also close to the lava walks and lava boats. Several eateries in Pahoa which is a truly weird place :).

We would definitely stay their again !

Room Tip: The Pineapple room can surely be recommended !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the little cottage that sits somewhat behind the big house. It was adorable and very private. Jamie and Doug were excellent hosts and the breakfast was great all three mornings that we were there. There are several good restaurants nearby that we enjoyed for dinner during our stay. Jamie recommended them and we were not disappointed.
We would def. stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lbelliveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
20.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
20.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#2 of 17 in Pahoa
210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
20.4 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-1139 Leilani Ave, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8219
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Cottage B&B is located between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park in the tropical Puna district. Lava Tree State Park, thermal hot pools, surfing, steam vent caves black sand beaches and world-class snorkeling are a few miles away. Take a coastal drive along the Red Road, considered the most beautiful drive of the islands. Enjoy hiking, mountain biking and eco-tours at nearby trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing