We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast, Company, and Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Company, and Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this location on May 22, 2012 - and it was in the perfect location - just East of Volcano National Park and South of Hilo. From this location you can vist the nearby coves, the viewing area where the lava hits the ocean, and the airport is just a 20-30 minute drive away.

The best part of this location was probably their breakfast! They served Big Island Quiche on the morning we departed, and it was fantastic! We noticed their menu for the previous day was Portuguese Sausage with eggs and sweet bread! Talk about a great healthy breakfast that is served with all the trimmings: juice, Kona coffee, water, tea, etc.

Our host was very nice, and gave us a map of the nearby area. FYI - the restaurant they reccomend (Kailua's) is a genuine jewel (excellent service, great food, and fantastic environment). If you go, make sure to try their calamari steak!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianJBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    38
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
64
243
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We can't say enough of this little slice of paradise. Our family spent five days in their garden bungalow and had the time of our lives. The cottage was spacious, clean and decorated so cute. We had our own kitchen, bath and patio. We loved the breakfasts each morning and visiting with all the other guests. Our teenagers loved their DVD library. Very close to all the attractions and great restaurants. Thanks for the best part of our Hawaiian trip!!

Room Tip: Bungalow is great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Wonderful B&B. Excellent breakfasts and spotless accommodations. We enjoyed 5 days in the Garden Bungalow and it was the best part of our vacation. It was our little home away from home. We loved having the kitchen and little patio where we enjoyed the evening stars while sipping wine. A couple of nights we took advantage of their hot tub where we relaxed watching the stars. Breakfast were out of this world. A gourmet treat! Close to all the sightseeing areas. Just a wonderful time. We highly recommend.

Room Tip: Garden bungalow is very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My friend who lived in Hawaii for 7 years hit it right on the head again with regards to lodgings on this side of the island – don’t expect too much. The garden bungalow is set aside from the main building, but only a few steps away from the breakfast lanai. Breakfast was good, but as with any bed and breakfast, if the main dish is not to your liking you’re out of luck.
The grounds were beautiful and had many flowering plants. The owners had a small map with many of the local attractions in the area – local steam vents, the small church that was moved after almost being engulfed with lava twice, tide pools, etc. This map was very useful. Also, this location was only about 45 minutes from Volcanoes National Park.
One of the main drawbacks at this bed and breakfast is the noise of the frogs. While it may be music to some people, it was not to us. Also, my wife and I were looking forward to sitting in the hot tub and looking at the stars, but realized that was not possible since the hot tub had a roof over it.
There are a few good eating places in Pahoa a few miles away. Also, if you get a chance and are there on a Sunday, go to the catholic church in Pahoa – such a nice service and very, very friendly people.
As I stated before, my friend was correct about this side of the island and the lodgings – it sort of reminds me of the old chain motels once you get far enough out of the Windy City off interstates 80 and 90. This bed and breakfast obviously is not part of a chain, but the lodgings although clean, were old and the bungalow could use renovations both inside and out, but should maintain some of the interior furnishings so it doesn’t lose its charm.
Would I stay here again? Maybe, maybe not – the chances would be better if natural predators were found for those noisy frogs!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Jake E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

Last year we spent 9 days on the Big Island. By far, the best part of our trip was the four nights at the Coconut Cottage. Our expectations were well exceeded. The hosts are very pleasant and helpful with restaurant suggestions and things to do, yet never intrude on your privacy. We also loved getting to know the other guests over breakfast as well.

Room: Bali Spirit Suite - clean and comfortable with an awesome lanai we spent many hours enjoying
Breakfast: Amazing! Every morning we looked forward to the fresh coffee and fruit followed by the morning entree
Location: close enough to Volcano National Park, yet not too isolated

Our only regret is not spending the entire trip at the Coconut Cottage!

Room Tip: Bali Spirit Suite has a great lanai
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank move2maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

What a great little getaway you two have Todd!!!!
Your attention to detail is outstanding!!!
All the comforts of home were not missed.
The room was very nicely decorated.
The breakfast was worth it alone.
As a former associate of a Major Marriott resort in Palm Desert,
I can honestly tell you that your service level is on par with the best!!!!
And it shows! You are busy and rooms filled because of this!
Congradulations on a job well done.
If travelers are looking for the garden spot in Hawaii,
Here it is don't past this up!!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms !!!!! Great central location on this side of the Big Isle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHoneyDoTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was such a nice gateway location. Todd was super sweet and the overall experience was what I had expected after reading so many good reviews. I loved Pahoa, it was my favorite place in the Island. And the cottage is very easily accessible, 45 minutes away from the Volcano National Park and 45 minutes away from the Hilo Airport. It was great place to call home after our adventures. Incredibly clean, safe, and really friendly hosts! Loved my experience here!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
20.2 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
21.2 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#1 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-1139 Leilani Ave, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8219
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Cottage B&B is located between Hilo and Volcanoes National Park in the tropical Puna district. Lava Tree State Park, thermal hot pools, surfing, steam vent caves black sand beaches and world-class snorkeling are a few miles away. Take a coastal drive along the Red Road, considered the most beautiful drive of the islands. Enjoy hiking, mountain biking and eco-tours at nearby trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Coconut Cottage Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing