We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Kapoho Tide Pools
from $133.34
More Info
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveler rating
538
168
46
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
538
168
46
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snorkeling spot lava flow pool road feet hawaii homes hilo mile eruption
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
732 - 737 of 778 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2008

This area is beautiful, quiet, and peaceful. Our rental house was very nice, and we saw a lot of nice ones around here, and a few dumps. I would avoid a rental house right on the tidepools area, because there are a lot of people coming through to use the tidepools, and on weekends it's very busy with locals too.

I have to comment though on the sewage problem. It is real, you can see banks of toilet paper wash up on the rocks after a good rain, and a brown scum where the wind blows. It was very disappointing, because otherwise this area is great for snorkeling and hanging out. But after a few days even our favorite spot for going out had toilet paper and brown scum where you go in. This is really bad, and the neighborhood and the government know about it and say there is no money to deal with it. The Tidepools themselves are a natural conservation area, but not a park or any federal designation. So there is not the policing of the sewage problem there would be if it were managed by Parks or Feds.

This problem was apparent at the Tidepools area of Vacationland, but not at Kapoho Beach Lots. We saw no evidence of sewage in that area. Champagne pond is very clean, i think it's very safe.

11  Thank Tuckers_Kahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2007

We visited Kapoho in July 2007, renting a 2 BR house for 3 nights in the private community. The house was average, but the neighbors and our private pond were terrific!

The private pond to our house, as almost all homes in this community have, was very warm, clean and stocked with fish. The kids learned to love snorkeling by watching the fish in our pond. We saw some amazing fish, right there in our back yard. We also snorkeled in the local public ponds. It was so amazing how many turltes we saw! We would float quietly above one huge turle for several minutes, turn around and do it over and over again. They were used to people and we felt honored to be in their presense. There were tons of baby tropical fish too, as the public ocean-access pond served as a nursery.

It was the 4th of July, and we picked up fireworks on our drive through Hilo. After dark we set them off, worried about disturbing our neighbors. Within minutes a huge crowd of people with their kids joined us and we had a huge fireworks party in the street. Everyone was friendly and eager to offer tips for having a great time.

For new visitors to Kapoho, be sure to stock up on supplies as you'll be mostly cooking at home, and the local grocery store is not that close nor that big. It really is a "home" vacation, but we never wanted to leave - the ponds and nice neighborhood was all we needed.

Visit "A Piece of Paradise" website at http://apoparadise.com/ for home rental information. If you like a relaxing, laid back vacation, this is a must!

2  Thank Love4CentralAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

We stayed at a vacation rental in a gated community. We had a "warm pond" (a volcanicly heated brackish tide pool) just steps outside of our 2 bdrm house. Rates were higher than our last stay a couple of years before (steps into the ocean bay), but it was better for our toddler to float in the warm water.

Kapoho has some beautiful snorkeling in a reef protected bay. Fish and colors abound in the marine sanctuary, with no need to wory about large waves pounding you around. Just down the road is the "hot pond" for soaking, and past that is the boat ramp at Pohoiki. Continue on down the "Red Road" past Kehena Black Sand Beach (watch out, clothing optional... Lots of locals there) on to Kaimu for lunch at Verna's (better hurry, we heard they were closing) at the end of the road. Hike out over the lava laid down over the site of Kalapana in the 1980's eruptions to the New Beach. Take along a sprouted coconut to plant along with the thousands that the locals have planted.

7  Thank GoldDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: January 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews