We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$251
$220
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
$111
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$222
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveler rating
15
7
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
7
1
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 26 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent one night there but you could very easy stay for long peroids. They offered just about anything a traveler needed, shampoos, conditioner, soaps, towels ect... they had a small kitchen area and every thing was clean and tidy. Dennis the owner must have been a "stand up comedian" in his past life, as he loves to joke around. Reading other reviews, this seemed to bother some people but I thought he was just having a good time with life. They did give us a great recommendation for a resturant in Pahoa for dinner. We staied there as it was very close to the "Lava Ocean Adventures" boat trip, you need to check it out also. We went on the sunrise trip & when we got back a very nice breakfast was waiting on us.
The only negative thing I could find about the room was the bed, it was a king size mattress on a queen size frame, so it was very "squeaky". Not good for "honeymooners" if you get my drift! It was a "sleep by number" mattress and it was comfortable, just a bit squeaky. And remember, you are on the "rainy" side of the island so plan on it.

Room Tip: As you head South down Highway 11 out of Pahoa, watch for a sign pointing to "Opihikao" as the street sign for "Kamaili Road" is hard to see. Turn left onto Kamaili road and the B & B is down on the left, go slow or you mite miss it. They do have a small sign on the drive & they have a gate to keep out the wild pigs in the area.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 474DanielS474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Waht a pleasant stay!
We wish, we would have spent more time...
We just booked one night here because we didn't want to drive back to Kona after a long hike to the lava. The service was great, the breakfast here ist much better than in the Sheraton in Kona. The breakfast is even better than in a good hotel.
If You are there, ask Dennis about his Chili-Relish, it's delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cal3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Plumeria Hill for 2 nights in Jan 2013, it was my first trip to the Big Island and it was a last minute booking. We turned up quite late as we spent a day at the Volcano national park. Dennis the owner was pleased to see us late in the evening. He showed us the room and went through what we need to know (how to work tv, air bed etc).

We stayed at the king room the first night and twin the following night. We don't have air beds in UK, and they are so comfortable! Both rooms are clean and decorated in a cosy fashion (not modern boring deco). There is nothing you need that it wasn't in the room, including shaving foam, disposable razor, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, mosquito spray, many spare towels, beach towels, dressing gown, blankets, etc... There is also a fridge!

As for breakfast, it's really really good. Dennis put so much effort into preparing breakfast, he even laid the table facing the super sea view that they have. There is no shortage of food. 1st day - mixed fruit salad followed by homemade blueberry pancakes and crispy bacon. 2nd day - mixed fruit salad followed by steak, scramble eggs, hash brown, toasts and homemade jam/jelly/relish. Everything is homemade and tasted delicious!

You will not leave Plumeria Hill hungry! Dennis puts his heart and soul into his place, it's a wonderful pace. Don't put off that this isn't in Hilo or Kona, it's easy to find, and since you will have to drive anyway, please stay here and don't bother with those cheap budget hotel.

Room Tip: Try to book the king suite if you can.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Me and my girlfriend really loved the place and don't regret that we booked it for 3 nights. As others have mentioned, the breakfast is awesome. Dennis who runs the place is also very friendly and helpful.

Note that the B&B is located out on the country side. You will probably not be able to use your cell phone, and you will most likely hear insects at night, and even find some in your room, that is however how life is on the country side.

What you do get in return is a wonderful sky at night. You'll probably see more stars than you ever have seen before. You will also have a great view of the ocean, and you are very close to some surf spots, a black sand beach, warm ponds, the closest side to the lava view and the roads around the are do really give some scenic views. You won't wake up in the middle of the night due to sirens or sounds from nightclubs or restaurants.

I will stay here again if I ever go back to Big Island.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I was at Plumeria Hill for 8 relaxing nights and every breakfast was different and excellent! You like fresh fruits? Go there! If you need information about what to do nearby, Dennis is full of information! Rooms are really setup with love. Dennis, thank you for your hospitality! It was a pleasure!

Room Tip: Both double rooms have seaview!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews