We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great stay - recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pahoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
475 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A great stay - recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent four nights here and I recommend! Dennis is a fantastic host, funny and a fabulous cook (his pancakes and jam are the best). The room was very comfortable, and the area very peaceful. Although a fair distance outside Hilo, it provided me a great base to explore the south-east corner of the Big Island of Hawaii. My tip, follow the map and directions provided by Dennis to the B&B, you definitely won’t get lost.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ice_D_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

A fine base station for adventures on the east side of the island. The location is very quiet and peaceful, and the Sleep Number bed gave us our best sleep in years! The Rose Victorian room is spacious and its windows and lanai - with a choice of sun or shade - look out over a forested slope down to a distant view of the ocean. We liked the privacy of a separate entrance, and made good use of the refrigerator, microwave, bathrobes, and good in-room internet access. Just about all the comforts and conveniences of home were there. Breakfast didn't quite meet our high hopes, partly because the normally-wonderful tropical fruit platter included a few unripe and rotten selections one day (taste before serving!), but probably mostly because my partner's food allergies threw Dennis off his usual great repertoire - he does get big points for being very careful not to serve any allergens, though. Now that we know what sort of things he cooks, we'll give him a specific wish list next time. And there likely will be a next time, especially since the "stay 6 days, get the 7th free" deal is cumulative!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wordsofwisdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed for one night and wished we had planned for more. Dennis is a wonderful host and made us feel right at home. Room was very comfortable and had all of the amenities we wanted. The view is spectacular. Breakfast was awesome. This place is close to Pahoa which is really a cute town and we also went to the volcano viewing point, kalapana and several other areas within a very short drive that are fun, picturesque and representative of this side of the big island.
Ask Dennis about the Saturday flea market, his cookies and fudge are out of this world.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAH31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lmagl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We visit the big island regularly and wanted to stay on the east coast. Plumeria Hill offered an excellent location. Fairly easy to find. The proprietors have owned this B&B for about 4 years and prior to that ran a B&B on the mainland. Many amenities are available: internet, sleep number bed, cable, robes, slippers, toiletries, fridge, coffee... Things that just make your stay that much more comfortable. The owners know the local area and can provide recommendations for places to eat and adventures to take (guided or not). Just step outside the room in the morning to sit and watch the sun come up on a true horizon unbroken by mountains, trees, or buildings. Really a lovely visit. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Island, Hawaii
Level Contributor
251 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2007

If breakfast is a big part of why you choose a B&B, this one is sure to please you. We stayed in the Honua room and really liked the color scheme. I really liked how everything was labeled so there was no guesswork and we also really appreciated the non-deet bug spray available to use.

  • Liked — mellow color scheme
  • Disliked — padlocked gate
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wannago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2007

What a find! The room was lovely -- private, and well-appointed with a cooler, beach gear, and anything else you might need. It was very clean, tastefully decorated, and had a gorgeous, sweeping view of the ocean. The breakfasts were absolutely fantastic, and the hostesses couldn't be nicer and more welcoming. I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Liked — Private, relaxing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank black_cat_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

What a lovely little B&B! My family stayed here one night, and wish we'd had more time to explore this B&B and the surrounding area better!

The room was beautifully furnished in an Asian-Inspired, modern manner. I don't think I've been in a B&B that felt and smelled so clean (many tend to collect dust; this one certainly didn't). The main room came equipped with two double beds, a sitting area, kitchenette, & portable table (also a TV & many guide books, neither of which used). The private bathroom had some wonderful natural bodycare products for our use, thick towels, and had ample beach supplies for guests' use (though we didn't have a chance to use them).

Because we were leaving very early in the morning, we didn't have the opportunity to try their usual breakfast, but they left us some breads/pastries (store-bought) & some fresh fruit (good), coffee (very good), & strawberry-guava juice (didn't use).

It was just heaven to wake up, watch the sunrise, and hear the tropical birds, frogs, & insects singing. One of the more picturesque sunrises I have seen in my life.

The one negative was the HUGE cockroach in the bathroom, but I think this is more due to their location since there were a lot of insects flying around as we explored this part of the Big Island.

This B&B is very secluded -- when they say peace & quiet, they aren't kidding! -- with a beautiful, unspoiled view of the coast. Their website says they are on 5 acres, and I only wish my family and I had the time to explore it all. If we ever get back here, we will more than likely stay here again (and try out their onsite massages)!

  • Liked — Well-appointed, well-thought out room & amentities
  • Disliked — The cockroach
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
19.4 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
22.1 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
19.2 mi away
Lava Lodge at Volcano Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
3.7 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
2.6 mi away
Kalani
Kalani
#1 of 11 in Pahoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-1264 Kamaili Road, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian Elegance in a Tropical Setting. Awesome Panoramic Ocean View. Spectacular Sunrises. Peaceful setting on 5 fenced acres. House furnished with many antiques. Sumptuous Luau Breakfast served on the upper lanai on your schedule. We wish to be in harmony with your dietary needs or allergy issues. Select Comfort Sleep Number® Beds in hand carved antique frames, HD flat screen Dish Network TV, internet access, sitting area with a desk, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, phone, private bathroom with shower, larger suites have a wet bar, separate entrance. Comfortable and accommodating.Pleasant atmosphere to relax and renew. We intend to make your stay delightful. Stay with us for 6 nights and get the 7th night FREE. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Plumeria Hill Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing