We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lulled to sleep by the coqui frogs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lulled to sleep by the coqui frogs”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We quite enjoyed our 3 night stay in the Lanai Suite at Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast! The suite was quite spacious and my son was thrilled with having his own little bedroom tucked away under the eaves. Hale Moana is a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city, we never felt unsafe out in the countryside, even late in the evening. Petra made us feel very welcome, and spent time at breakfast going over maps of the area and recommending places we may want to visit. Speaking of breakfast, it was quite delicious, and she even accommodated our son by making him French toast again on our third day! (he still talks about the French toast)

The location of the bed and breakfast was very convenient - only a short drive to the Lava Boat Ocean Tours (the lava was still flowing in August and it was spectacular!), an hour or so drive to Volcanoes National Park (also worth the trip), dining and shops in the little town of Pahoa, and many other attractions close by.

We also enjoyed listening to the coqui frogs at night - it felt like we were in a tropical rainforest, although i'm sure it gets annoying to the locals - and it was fun spotting the little geckos as they scampered across our lanai! The view from our wrap-around balcony was quite impressive - gardens as far as the eye could see.

Please do not hesitate to stay at Hale Moana - you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alittletlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    82
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
153
354
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed the breakfast because fruits is fresh together with juice and coffee. Room is clean and big , there are lots of beautiful flowers in the garden such as Roses .Owner Petra is a friendly German lady, she provided really details information for the Big Island with travel guide.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Cryssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

While on our honeymoon in Hawaii, my husband and I decided to plan a last minute, 2 day trip to the Big Island to see the lava. We wanted to stay somewhere awesome but also budget friendly. We called to book our stay at the Hale Moana B&B two days before our arrival and fortunately there was an available room. This was our first time staying at a B&B and I must admit I was hesitant, however this place was perfect. We stayed in the garden suite, which was private and spacious. It was very clean, comfortable, and decorated nicely. Every night we fell asleep to the pleasant sound of tree frogs. Unfortunately, due to the government shut down, we were unable to see the lava, however our host Petra made our visit to the Big Island worth our while. During breakfast, Petra took the time to show us a map of the Big Island and point out excellent places to visit. Her advice really helped us in exploring the surrounding area. She also let us borrow her map and snorkeling gear for free. We would definitely stay here again and Petra is fantastic!

Room Tip: The garden suite is very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed 4 wonderful nights in the Lanai Suite overlooking the beautiful surroundings of the lush garden. We appreciated the fresh fruits from the garden every morning for breakfast. Hale Moana is a perfect spot to explore the Hilo site of Big Island and Petra provided us with very good hints. We even miss the sound of the frogs early in the evening. It is such a relaxing atmosphere.
We would definitely come back when visiting Big Island and recommend Hale Moana to every visitor of the Hilo site.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirko D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

What a beautiful location! My husband and I stayed in the room on the second floor and were amazed by the comfort and spectacular views. Travelers should be sure to know that check in time is between 5pm and 7pm (as stated in her confirmation). An amazing breakfast spread was served with coffee and juice before our departure. We recommend this place to anyone looking for something unique.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We choose Hale Moana B & B for it's great location and good reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed. Our room was on the second floor and it was more than enough room for our family of five. It is even bigger and better than the pictures on the website. One side of it including the master bedroom and the living room were all glass sliders with screens. There was a wonderful breeze when we stayed there in early August. The other bedroom was a cozy room with one bed which our daughters shared and our son slept on the futon in the living room. Petra allowed us to drop off our luggage earlier in the day before taking the evening lava flow hike with the Kalapana Cuttural Tours. Hale Moana was the perfect place to come back to after the late and rigorous hike. It was only 20 minutes away. There were 2 other couples that had to make the 3 hour drive back at 10:00pm to their resorts on the other side of the island. We were so glad we didn't have to do that. Once we got situated in our rooms, we were lulled to sleep by the sounds of the tropical rain forest. In the morning, we woke up and walked down to the covered eating area and enjoyed a delicious hot breakfast that Petra had prepared along with breads and fruit. Plenty of food for seconds!

We only stayed one night since we were circling the island. But there is plenty to do in the area that we didn't have time to do. We will definitely come back and spend more time at Hale Moana!

Room Tip: The Lanai Suite is perfect for a family! Lots of room. Two separate bedrooms and a futon in the livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klg252013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The magic in the air in Hawai’i is known as Mana and you know it better when you miss it.


Though I am on an other island now, my thoughts keep going back to the Big Island, Hilo-side, down Pahoa-way, just off the volcano’s flow at Hale Moana, a comfy bed and breakfast tucked into the grid of streets housing five acre ‘estates’. It’s not flash, the air is heavy with humidity but startlingly soothing since it comes from the evaporation from plants, mosses, lichens, ferns and grasses. This piece of lava with a hole in the middle is actualy the remains of a tree that was encircled by lava and evaporated, cooling the hot rock enough to create a hard crust from which the magma cooled.

It’s the bit of Mana that greets you when you enter this haven and then encounter the proprietress, Petra Wiesenbauer, a German mother of two who wraps her kids in love as much as she cocoons her guests. The rambling house is wood-framed and nondescript, the rooms simple and not filled with tchotchkes or baubles and the tropical heat is not bad as it’s buffered by breezes and fans. No air con.

What does amaze you though are the gardens, filled with arching orchids of riotous colors coming from every corner and cranny. Bromeliads explode from the earth in prickly bunches with lurid stems and flowers. Palms sway in a hula rhythm in the background. There is no music in the air, but there is magic.

There are bizarre fruits hanging from branches. I got to bite into my first Mountain Apple there and it was as sweet and luscious as its name implied. Guavas, pineapples, papayas and mangos abound and their sweet scent fills the air. Walking on the lawns that wend their way through the acreage is like stepping onto a cushion, only to be halted by the fresh crackling of tiny lava stones as you step onto the pathways.

It’s easy to get lost in your mind as you are transfixed by this little slice of heaven. Curves of small walls lead you to new vistas of succulents and trees. It’s a bit hypnotic as you wander in this ordered extension of the jungly growth that surrounds the property. At dawn, the aromas energise you more than a strong cup of Kona coffee and narcotize you at the same time. Flowers upon flowers overwhelm youo and then… the ringing of plates being laid out with cutlery calls you to breakfast, a mini-feaat of the fruit you wandered through and more Teutonic preparations of eggs and meats that will carry you through the day.

Hale Moana is a subtle, homey place to decompress with a hostess for whom nothing is too much care. I like that. And miss it already.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippsterSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
404 reviews
20.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
20.0 mi away
Hilo Seaside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#2 of 17 in Pahoa
210 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing