We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice in Pahoa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in Pahoa”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hale Moana for two nights in the studio room. It's a little tight but has a wonderful King sized bed and we were out all day anyway and came back to sleep. Petra is very kind and attentive. She serves wonderful breakfasts with fresh fruit and she checked in with us armed with a book of maps of the area and some good suggestions. If we come back to Pahoa I would be happy to book with her again and encourage others to do so as well.
NOTE: Pahoa is home of Coqui frogs which chirp all night long so you will hear these. It didn't bother me or my husband but if you are a sensitive sleeper, you might consider this. Thanks Petra!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StaRo787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    82
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
152
354
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our 2 night stay at Hale Moana was wonderful, the setting, our hosts and the accommodation were first class. It is a perfect stop to take in the best Hawaii's Volcano National Park has to offer.
Petra is a wealth of great information on things to do in the surrounding area. The breakfast was wonderful as many reviewers have mentioned.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David_Toronto99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My mother and I stayed in the Lanai Suite for 9 wonderful nights. I previously stayed in the Garden Suite by myself December 2011 and my mother, myself and my partner had stayed in the Lanai Suite about 5 years ago. It is always a treat to stay in the comfortable suites and walk in the beautiful gardens. And Mother is still talking about Petra's wonderful breakfasts with fresh fruit and a freslly cooked breakfast treat as well. And Petra always knows what is going on in the area and can direct you on how to get wherever you want to go. Thank you Petra for a wonderful stay at Hale Moana.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in the Lanai Suite for two nights over the U.S. Thanksgiving Holiday. Perfect for a family of four or a couple who want some space and want to splurge. Spotlessly clean, tastefully appointed and extremely comfortable. The breakfast is as described by the other reviewers (i.e., delicious). You find yourself going to bed excited about the meal to come. Finally, Petra is a sweet and helpful host. Great value for the money. Can't imagine why you'd want to spend $300 night on a resort if this is available.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingussie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hale Moana for 6 nights in November and were instantly made to feel so welcome in Petra's home. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, had everything you could possibly need and more importantly, we were given loads of information about where to go, what to see and what we shouldn't miss while staying in Pahoa. The town itself is an experience in it's own right especially for people watching and the various restaurants were all very good for somewhere of this size.
The garden at Hale Moana is huge and stunning with amazing orchids and tropical vegetation - exactly as we had imagined it. It was a wrench to leave as we felt so at home and had had such a relaxing time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Delicious breakfast, beautiful setting, clean and spacious rooms with a kitchenette to boot. Petra took the time to not only make sure we were comfortable but also ensure we knew about all the wonderful places to go in Pahoa. My fiancee and I had a very relaxing few days. Even better, my cell phone had no service which made for the perfect excuse!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

When planning our trip we didn't see any hotels we liked in Hilo and opted to spend two nights in Pahoa, largely based on the reviews we read here on Trip Advisor. It was a great decision. The B&B is a great location for a couple of days in the southeast/Hilo area. The owner, Petra, was a very gracious host. We stayed in the large suite, which was nicely decorated, clean, and spacious. The gardens were beautiful. We really enjoyed the breakfast, particularly the tropical fruits (some of which came from the owner's garden). Petra provided helpful dining and siteseeing suggestions and use of a very detailed area map. When my husband asked about options to see the lava flows, Petra told us about a lava hike. Since my international cell phone wasn't working in Hawaii, she helped to arrange for us to go on a lava hike later in the day. The hike was the highlight of our trip--thanks for the suggestion, Petra! Hale Moana was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
402 reviews
20.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
538 reviews
20.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#2 of 17 in Pahoa
210 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing