We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary Get Away…..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Anniversary Get Away…..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Hale Makamae B&B
August 25 to 28, 2012

Anniversary Get Away…..
My husband and I have been traveling since the day after we married, 20+ years and enjoy staying at B&B’s. This was our first visit to the island of Hawaii and we wish now we had stayed longer. The owner Petra sat down with us on the night we arrived, she gave us a map of the area, directions to the places we were interested in seeing, and spoke about the history of Pahoa and offered information on other places and restaurants in Pahoa that we found interesting.
We were looking for something intimate and the studio apartment was it, plus very clean and comfortable. We walked around the lush manicured grounds in awe of the beautiful trees, flowers, and fruit that are growing everywhere. John and Petra’s son walked with us; he educated us on the names of the abundant flowers, plants, trees, and when the fruits were in season, he even showed us how to plant a pineapple. We fell asleep to the serenade of what we thought were birds, but found out the next morning were cogui frogs.
Every morning promptly at, 0830 we were presented with a beautiful breakfast presentation, I have no words to tell you how delicious we found each breakfast to be, especially the banana pancakes!
Hale Makamae B&B we hope to see you soon with a much longer stay. Staying with you may have changed our minds on which island we call our favorite.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 768David768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    79
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
147
345
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Petra's and John's B&B when we stayed there 3 nights in the Studio last month. It is a great location to discover the south of Big Island, the Volcanoes NP and the lava viewing area at the end of Highway 130. Petra gave us great recommendations about the area - especially road 137 and the tide pools (great snorkel spot!) - and restaurants in Pahoa. Thanks to both of you, Petra and John, for the great time!
Simone & Karsten

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Petra was great and helpful in giving tips on what to do and where to go given the little time we had. We stayed in the smaller suite and we had plenty of space. The suite was clean and comfortable. It had a separate entrance and own bathroom. The grounds were very well kept, had fruit trees and different orchids. The breakfasts were yummy. Had a variety of fresh fruits, cereal, toast, coffee, tea and orange juice everyday. The first day we also had western omelette and the second day we had french toast. The french toast was so good that my husband had 4 pieces. Make sure to go to a restaurant called Kaleo in Pahoa and bring a Hale Makamae business card with you. The food is excellent and you get 10% off with the business card. I would definitely recommend Hale Makamae to anyone visiting the big island. Watch out for cats running on the road at night. It is not lit and both nights we saw kitties out playing including the owner's cats.

Helpful?
Thank maomao01
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hale Makamea Bed & Breakfast for 3 nights. It was the perfect place for us, fulfilling all our expectations. The city of Pahoa is charming and there are very good restaurants including Kaleos that offers the typical Island’s food. Our studio was close to the Volcano National Park (35 minutes), to the tied pools, hot tubes and black sand beach (15 minutes).

Petra, our dear hostess was very generous of her time. She sat at our table every morning to go through the details of our day and gave us advices on what was best to do. It was so good to have her. We really felt like at home. We had the opportunity to borrow mask and tuba to snorkel in the tied pools, an activity that was totally worth it! The Garden suite we reserved was spacious, clean and well equipped.

Finally, the amazing breakefast that was served was truly made with love. We had the pleasure to taste fresh fruits from Petra’s garden. It was on the table at 8:30 every morning, the ideal time to get us started.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Large appt (Garden Suite) with everything you need to feel comfortable and relaxed. Great equipped kitchen, excellent free internet connection, lovely breakfasts (would have liked some yoghurt), peaceful, luxuriant, tropical gardens, beautiful frog lullaby at night (they don't keep you awake) and in addition to all this the expert that is, Petra. A fountain of local knowledge on places to visit, things to do and other useful spot on recommendations. Will definitely recommend to others and hope to be back one day soon. A "world away" place where you are made welcome by the whole family, John, Petra and the children and where you can relax and rejuvenate. Go visit!

Room Tip: The Garden Suite is private, bright, spacious and homely. Has no floors above it and has it's ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kempsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for two nights so that we could experience the "other side" of the Big Island. I couldn't be happier that we did. Petra and John (and their very articulate son) were absolutely wonderful. Petra was a great resource for information about what to do and see in the Puna region.

The suite we stayed in was great and exceeded our needs for a getaway. The grounds (2 acres) that the house is on definitely makes the stay worth while. It's in the middle of the rainforest and couldn't be more beautiful. There are pineapples and all kinds of fruit growing in the "parking lot".

The breakfast was great, and included the fruit they grow there on the property.

We would definitely tell our friends and family to stay here and will hopefully get to return ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishflipmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Petra and John's B&B was a oasis of green, cleanness and friendliness. We stayed there two nights only on our trip around the coast (May 18-20, 2012) but we immediately felt the charm of this lovely spot. Our apartment was a 2-bedroom upstairs. The rooms were spacious, bright, with large windows facing the wonderfully green large garden, comfortable beds, great bathroom and kitchen that had everything we needed. The owners welcomed us like friends or family and sat down with us and shared some of their life stories and tips on what it's nice to see around that area. The breakfast was cooked fresh each morning, one morning we had some wonderful apple pancakes, made the German way. Thanks Petra and John!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
20.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
20.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Dolphin Bay
Dolphin Bay
#2 of 8 in Hilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#1 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing