We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Soquel, California
2 reviews
“We loved our stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Very friendly and "homey" atmosphere. We stayed at Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast
for over a week and we were treated as part of the family. Loved the French Toast and lovely local friuts served for breakfast. The B&B was very close to Hilo and the volcano as well as local beaches. Come to the Big Island and enjoy the warmth of the people and the beautiful scenery. Claudia and Tobias Rivera.

Room Tip: Some rooms have more space than others, choose according to the number of days you will be staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    82
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
152
354
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

There is the hustle and bustle of Kona with the rows of hotels, condos, restaurants , souvenir shops and traffic and then there is Hale Makame, the picture of Hawaii that you always dreamed of. John and Petra have successfully established a B & B so that everyone can experience the Hawaii that we dream of. The accommodations are incredible. Your room will look out into a beautifully manicured landscape filled with fruit trees, ferns, coconut trees and beautiful blooming flowers. Their landscaping rivals fee based attractions.

John and Petra are wonderful hosts. One of the advantages of staying in a B & B is that you are able to glean the information regarding the best places to eat, swim and visit. John and Petra have years of experience in the area and are familiar with all the best restaurants, beaches and attractions. It is obvious that they love what they do and wish to share their home and experiences with all their guests.

The breakfast is delicious. Its an opportunity to try out all the local fruits and foods. Many of which i had never heard of. Some of the fruits are grown in their backyard. There is a wide variety of eggs, meats, breads, cereal and fruits. It was fabulous.

We stayed in the Lanai suite which is a two bedroom unit. The unit is meticulously clean. It has all the comforts of home including a full kitchen , dining and living area. The view to the gardens is picture perfect.

From their B & B its a short drive to the Kopoho Pools. The Kopoho pools is a wonderful snorkeling area with perhaps the best coral on the island. We snorkeled with my parents and saw beautiful fish, coral and even a large turtle. The pools are well protected so its very calm. Driving in the area is beautiful. The area is green and lush and its like visiting a tropical island without all the tourist. The B & B is also located near to where the lava can be seen if it were active/running. Unfortunately, during our visit the lava was not flowing. However, there are wonderful pictures in the room. It looks like we'll have to return when the volcano is a bit more active.

If you are looking for the lush Hawaii that is depicted in all the movies.. this is the place to come...

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolm123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed nine days and eight nights...wonderful! The grounds are so beautiful! The accommodations were just what we wanted. Petra, John, Miriam, Chris and Lili were fun and warmly hospitable. Parking was fine. Great location! Food was great! Free WiFi. We will stay at this Bed & Breakfast again soon. Petra and John provided good information about where to go to eat, swim, etc. Highly recommend Kaleo's in Pahoa for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiltdreamer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This was our second visit to Hale Makamae and we would recommend others to stay in Petra and John's rural-suburban tropical paradise. Their location is both convenient to southeast Hawaii sightseeing and activities as well as Pahoa shops and restaurants.

Petra and helper Maid Miriam's breakfasts are superb recipes and sometimes unique- try "Witches Ashes". A wide variey of tropical fruits are also served.

Petra, John, and Miriam are warm and true people. They openly welcome and share their wide area knowledge of the island and are quite helpful in pointing out area attractions as well as unusual ones, too. Their children, Chris and Le Le, are very intelligent and well-mannered. They also have a good knowledge of the vegetation around their home.

We have stayed at Hale Makamae for one week in 2011 and one week in 2012. It is refreshing to return to a Bed & Breakfast and see that the delightful first experience is repeated. We have returned to other Bed & Breakfasts after a period and many times the overall second experience was disappointing. This was not true at Hale Makamae.

Their two acre property is well maintained and almost rivals area garden attractions. The rooms are clean, quiet, and well maintained. A visit to Hale Makamae is worth a traveler's stay.

Michael and Jean Ruscak, Texas

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJR55551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This Bed & Breakfast is located in a beautiful park with fantastic tropical vegetation. You’ll find rare orchids, palms and amazing blooming plants. You can enjoy a rainforest experience without a risk of malaria, missing comfort and concerns of safety … and Petra with family adds the unforgettable ALOHA.
We stayed at the just renovated Garden Suite in November 2010. Lot of space, elegant equipped and absolutely clean. The kitchenette is fully equipped so we could spoil us with a self prepared dinner. But we rather trusted Petra’s recommendations and tried a few restaurants in town. And it was a wonderful idea - delicious and tasty food we got. Furthermore we definitely have to mention the breakfast, tasty and delicious, with local fruit - just a pleasure. But the best is: during the breakfast Petra and/or John help the guests with their plans for the day. So we found some really nice off-the-beaten-path gems. This area is so beautiful and there are so many things to explore, you should spend at least 4 days. We’ve been there twice and at this stage we hope for a 3rd visit at Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast because there are still so many places to see.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athens02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sf Bay Area
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

My wife, son & I spent 8 nights in the Garden Suite, and had a wonderful time. The suite was in excellent condition, and was quite roomy & comfortable. Breakfast each morning (served at 8:30AM) was served buffet style, and was quite delicious and generous. The free wifi worked well from our suite, and was a nice plus.

We'll definitely keep this B&B in mind when we return to the big island in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank netllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Staying at Hale Makamae is like coming home. From the second we arrived Petra and John greeted us with open arms and made us feel so welcome. The grounds are amazing; avocado trees, gorgeous orchids, and frogs that serenade you to sleep at night. It truly is stepping into paradise.
We could not have been more pleased with our stay. The 3 units they have are wonderful and fit our family so well.
The knowledge that John has of the area is invaluable, and he so kindly shared tips and tricks for navigating the area, lent us a wonderful map book ,and even let our small daughter use his sons water shoes and gear.
Petra's cooing is amazing, and breakfast each morning is a real treat. My daughter is still talking about her amazing pancakes.

We will for sure, 100% be back, and tell everyone we know about Hale Makamae. Aloha and blessed travels.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lanai Suite and it had plenty of room. All rooms are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.7 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
402 reviews
20.0 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
538 reviews
20.4 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ohia House
The Ohia House
#2 of 17 in Pahoa
210 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Address: 13-3315 Makamae St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8453 (Formerly Hale Makamae Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located between the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park and Hilo - Warm Island Hospitality and Aloha Spirit of old Hawaii – Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable, spacious suites surrounded by beautiful tropical serene gardens. Three suites with living room and kitchenette, one studio, all with separate entrances and private bathrooms. 10 min. to lava viewing area, where active red hot lava plunges into the ocean, 30 min. to Volcanoes National Park & Hilo/International Airport, 5 min. to Pahoa, in Leilani Estates. Close to hot ponds, black sand beaches, coastal parks, snorkeling, steam vents. German/English spoken, gourmet Island breakfast included in rates, families with children welcome, many other amenities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing