We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lava Tree Tropic Inn
Nearby Hotels
$130
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
106
26
2
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
26
2
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit treesother guestsrental carhungarian cheesebig islandevery morningbed and breakfastfresh eggscountry livinggravel roadorchid suitetasty coffeerelaxing breakfastrooms are lovelypineappleyogurttide pools
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 142 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We spent 5 nights in this wonderful inn in April 2010.
We enjoyed Iren’s kindness all through our stay.
Breakfasts were excellent, with home-made bread, special Kona coffee, unique Hawaaiian fruits.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, wireless Internet as a plus.
Morning excursions before breakfast to the hot pond were fantastic.
We also appreciated Iren’s garden , it was fun just to take walks there.
The price/value ratio was excellent.

Family Ratonyi
Budapest
Hungary

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kemlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This Bed and Breakfast is wonderfully located in lush green "jungle like" garden nearby Pahoa, only few hundred feet away from the Lava Tree Park entrance. Its a great starting point either to Hilo, the Volcano National Park or the tide pools.
The rooms are nicely decorated and pretty spacious (apart from the room I stayed in I saw the one of my friend, which also had a balcony), as far as I know all of them on the first floor.
Breakfast was served on the back terrace, with freshly picked fruits from the garden (according to the owner, she has more than 30 different kind of fruit trees), home baked bread and honey from their own hive. On one morning I got a freshly squeezed apple juice that had a pink colour and the coffee had a macadamia nuts/vanilla flavour.
Overall, the Inn complemented the great experience I had on the Big Island. The charming Hungarian owner even joins you for a morning swim in the nearby hot pools if you want. I recommend this B&B to people who like to stay away the beaten tracks and want to explore the definitely nicer east side of the Island.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trofaiach74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We loved our room with a beautiful porch where we could sit out and drink wine at night. The owner was extremely accomodating, breakfasts were wonderful, and the property is beautiful. We will definitely come back here. It is nice and rural but easy to drive to the National Park, beach, Hilo, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aktravelseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed three nights at the Lava Tree Inn. It was wonderful. Little hard to get to, but very peaceful location. We found the exerience nice, the owner was very helpful in helping us get arrangements made for some local vacation ideas. If we were coming back soon for another visit, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryshepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Upon meeting your hostess, Irene Grunfeld, you are instantly transported from your hectic life into an oasis of calm at the tropical compound known as the Lava Tree Tropic Inn. Located on the Big Island of Hawaii, about a 30-minute drive from Hilo, and a 3-mile drive from the historic frontier sugar plantation-era town of Pahoa, the Lava Tree Tropic Inn is one of the most beautiful places I've ever had the priveledge to stay at. Ms. Grunfeld, a native of Hungary, presents her inn (which is also her own personal home), with open, loving arms to world-weary travelers in need of a change of pace. A full breakfast is presented with care each morning, served graciously by Ms. Grunfeld. Brekafast is a selection of delicious native Hawaiian fruits (grown on the grounds of the inn), as well as native Hungarian touches. Once you have sampled her delicious curizot spread on warm home-baked bread, you will instantly be a convert to it. Delicious Kona Coffee and fresh juice is also presented. Delicious! Given it's somewhat isolated location, the inn is close to several major attrations. Ahalanui State Park, which features a lava rock tide pool heated by natural volcanic currents mixing with the ocean, is one of the closest attractions. As well, the inn is located adjacent (300 yards) to the Lava Tree State Park National Monument, where visitors may take a stroll through a tropical rainforest, replete with the hollowed out trunks of Ohia trees buried in past lava flows, making this a truly unique experience. The best snorkelling available on the Eastern side of the big island is located very close also at the Wai Opae tide pools, which are located just up the coast near Ahalanui State Park. Travel time to the tide pools from the inn is about 5-10 minutes, depending on which direction you are coming from. The area is perfect for biking, but don't make the same mistake I did -- RENT A CAR!!!! The inn is isloated, making it VERY difficult to get around without one. That aside, visitors who have a desire to stay in a place with European accents, amid the tropical splendor of the Big Island of Hawaii will return to this place over and over again. I know that I certainly will return myself, although this time with a car!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benbear2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews