We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lava Tree Tropic Inn
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arnott's Lodge(Hilo)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$272
$239
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chalet Kilauea(Volcano)(Great Value!)
$105
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$237
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveler rating
106
26
2
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
26
2
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruit treesother guestsrental carhungarian cheesebig islandevery morningbed and breakfastfresh eggscountry livinggravel roadorchid suitetasty coffeerelaxing breakfastrooms are lovelypineappleyogurttide pools
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 142 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms are nice and clean, and the grounds are beautiful. The host also provides excellent breakfasts, and she is very helpful in planning trips to sights in the area. The location is convenient to visit the Volcano National Park as well as the nearby lava fields. The property is adjacent to Lava Tree State Park.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Irene was a lovely and welcoming host to her home. The accommodation was clean and well looked after, as were we. It's a spectacular location in the state park and breakfast on the terrace every morning was picturesque and very tasty(and enough to keep you going for hours, just don't expect it to be quick). Plenty of wildlife in the area which we feel added to the experience. Please be aware it can be hard to find on your first go, especially if it's in the dark. Also the track to the house is a bit bumpy (and is a track) so go steady!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Travel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Volcano is far from here but you can cover Hilo and other southern areas from here. The place is very good and the breakfast is all natural and entirely local. It was nice meeting others during breakfast as well. The turn into the road for the inn is a little hard to spot and road is unpaved so it's hard to find at night, but we got used to it after the first time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sns5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed in the place for 3 nights and it really was one of the highlights of my 2 weeks stay in Hawaii. Not going to elaborate on the accommodation, food and in-keeper, plenty was written on that already. Overall this was very good.

However if you want to experience the lush Hawaiian rain Forrest with all its wonders, this is the place. And a morning stroll, just before breakfast in the Lava tree park next to the property, you will never forget that. The ambiance of that place is amazing. And those gardens with all the tropical fruits, you can imagine. And you get it for breakfast, all natural :))

If I ever come back to Hawaii, this would be a must for revisit.

I wish you a strong health Irene to maintain the property at least two more decades!

Room Tip: If you got sleep problems, take ear plugs for the frogs, they can be a nuisance for some. But that is the nature on your door steps :)) ... can't get any closer
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKLL_PRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

After staying in a hotel in Hilo on our last trip to the Big Island, I wasn't really looking forward to going. Staying at this wonderful B & B made all the difference! We were able to truly experience the Island more fully and enjoyed it so much more. Irene is a wonderful hostess and has the attitude my home is your home or as we say at home, mi casa es su casa. The house is a spacious, comfortable eclectic with a little Hawaii flair and a little old country flair as well. The breakfast on the veranda was great with fresh pineapple, mango, papaya, avocados, and orange juice fresh from her garden along with other delightful treats. I hung out at the house while hubby was working and enjoyed the peace and quiet and beauty of the tropical rainforest. Neighbors dropped by and everyone was extra friendly. Got up one morning to go to the geothermal pool *(The Hot Pond) on the beach just minutes a way and next time I go, I will swim everyday, it was wonderful. Uncle Robert's Nighttime Farmer's Market was a short drive, a great party and great food, also on the beach. Mostly locals go to these places but they make you feel so welcome! I would recommend this location and experience to anyone wanting to feel like the Island is their home! Lots of places to eat nearby. The restaurant voted best of that side of the island is minutes away too and it was fantastic. Kaleo I believe it was called. Like someone says, the road is rugged to get there but that part of the road is not long. If you want to feel like an insider instead of a tourist, do this. You'll love it.

Room Tip: This home was built by an airline pilot with 5 children and each had a room. There is a suite with a balcony that is very nice. We stayed in the master bedroom with our own restroom but there are two other restrooms up stairs that are shared by the other rooms. All are very nice and comfortable. It depends on what you want.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews