We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're a Mexican food addict and can't live without it ...”
Review of Luquin's Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Luquin's Mexican Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you're a Mexican food addict and can't live without it ...”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Then Luquin's is the place to go, because there's not much else in the Mexican genre. Don't expect California or Mexico-level quality, you'd be nuts. Even with my lowered expectations though, I couldn't get myself to go there again. Staff is nice, prices are reasonable, it's family-friendly - so those are also reasons to go. The kids won't know the difference. (Unless you're raising foodies).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurent L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    85
    49
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pahoa, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best on the big island!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Whether its prime rib Friday night or the lunch special, there is always good eating and friends on tap at Luquin's.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mexi-island fare and flair”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This eatery in Pahoa is a great place to go when you need a break from plate lunch but still want local atmosphere. Lots of nooks and crannies to sink into, excellent Longboard beer on tap, and a variety of characters to admire and charm ya. The beef is shredded, the carnitas smelled awesome, and the menu choice difficult to make. I finally settled on the catch of the day fajitas, which arrived sizzling and fragrant. A fine change of fare in a charming town not yet marred by the chain store fever sweeping the Big Island!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank vwheato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
171 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very fun place to sit for drinks. Food is good but not exceptional. Not every restaurant can be the best. Attentive bartenders and waitstaff. Good value for lunch and what a great place to sit and look out the window and watch the colorful people walk by. Very cool little town. A must see stop if you're visiting the big Island.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Mexican Food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our dining experience eating here. The mexican food was really good and the service was top-notch. We enjoyed the atmosphere and live music. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone considering mexican food, drinks and entertainment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TOCHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luquin's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing