We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best strawberry milkshakes!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luquin's Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

Luquin's Mexican Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best strawberry milkshakes!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The food is usually consistent and good. Even better on days that I'm craving it. I wish I could say the same about their margaritas. :-( But the milkshakes, the strawberry milkshakes..... Well, it's the best on this side of the island, I think.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ItineraryJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    85
    49
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
153 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“decent food, indifferent service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

If you're near Pahoa and have a hankering for Mexican food, your only choice is Luquin's. The food is pretty standard for a Mexican restaurant in most of the US that was never part of Mexico, which means that you can dine on tacos, burritos or enchiladas filled with the standard array of meats or a veggie option. I like the beef versions. However, don't expect white table cloth service. In fact, don't even expect service up to the standards of your corner diner.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BackpackerNoMore62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keaau
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bland food but great margaritas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a large Mexican joint thats been a staple in Pahoa for many years. The place is a little run down and hot inside. Thge service is always friendly and the bartender is awesome. But the food is bland and taste like its straight out of a can but it not its all prepared fresh I couldnt understand why there is not much flavor. The margaritas are awesome and there is a wide selection of beer on tap numerous TV's. I like the seating with a window to the main drag of downtown Pahoa the best...dinner and a show never a dull moment in Pahoa town. Overall, its worth trying at least once.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank food000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“2md Best on the Island”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We love their fresh chips & salsa - delicious! We live close to downtown Hilo so it's a 30 mile drive out to Pahoa. Since gas prices are still high we don't get out there as much as in years' past. They have good plates of carnitas, enchilladas, chilli rellenos, nachos, tacquitos, etc. - you get the picture.

The atmosphere is something to be desired. It has old lineoleum/wood floors, tinged walls, vintage (that's a nice word) 60's laminated tables & some (unfortunately) metal folding chairs that I just hate. The bar looks like its got their regulars coming in daily but it has that seedy feel. (I wouldn't seat the kids around the bar area.)

The food taste & quality has gone down a bit since 8 years ago but thankfully it's still an ok place to get a mexican meal. There's only one other I'd recommend on this island, and its in Hilo.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food on the big island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Authentic mexican food and old wild west bar
Portions are mega large, reasonable, and the food is fresh and very tasty !
Great blues music 1 night per week
by gene !!!
Great place to chill for local flavor w/ great flavors
Icy cold beer (including mex varieties) or very decent margaritas complete the genius of this oasis !

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sassyslide101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luquin's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing