We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travelers have booked this property
View from Dolphin Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Dolphin Cottage
Beautiful Kehena Beach where Dolphins live and Whales visit every winter.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
View from Dolphin Cottage
Beautiful Kehena Beach where Dolphins live and Whales visit every winter.
Whale watching in February from Kehena Beach
Dolphin Cottage (L) center w/ solar panels on it. Incredible ocean view in a beautiful area !!
Sideview of Dolphin Cottage
Dolphin Cottage @ Kehena Beach
Bathroom w/ tub/shower
Kehena, Hawaii
Perfect Rainbow near Kehena Beach
Living room w/ French doors that open up to lanai w/ ocean view.
Beautiful Kalapana Kapoho Bch Rd near Kehena Beach
Susan, owner/Andre manager
Kehena Beach Cottages
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
doreenm14...
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Perfect location for going on the lava boat tour! Look forward to going back and exploring the stunning area, thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan B
1 review
“Perfect place to stay near Issic Hale Park where we got the boat to view the lava flow.”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very comfortable cottage right across the street from the ocean. We were only there for 15 hours, but perfect for our night before viewing the lava flowing into the ocean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
We are happy to hear that our tenants are enjoying the cottages. We have made some very nice upgrades lately and really make this spot a great value.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenda M
Fullerton
1 review
“Lovely and cozy”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Upon opening the door I was pleased to see a lovely 'cottage' - just like it said!! It was clean, furnished and decorated nicely with a perfect patio for two looking out to the ocean. Not much traffic but many frogs and ocean sounds made the ambience perfect for us nature lovers. We especially loved that we were in a jungley area as it is quite diverse in this part of the island including being near the road where you can walk, bicycle or shuttle close to the lava flow. There are not close by stores so stock up on the way in. There were a couple small things that needed tending but I know they will be remedied quickly. The owners were prompt in their replies. We look forward to our return as we throughly enjoyed our stay.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2017
Glad you enjoyed it. We have hundreds of wonderful reviews on other sites as well because it is a great place. Hope to get more bookings on Flupkey and TripAdvisor some day.
Btw, there is a store on the same street as the cottage just 3 miles down the road. Directions are clearly visible in the refrigerator.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggabo
Hungary
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed February 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Nothing to complain. Clean, big, has everything you need. And the owner was great, whatever we needed he was there right away. Also left great advises on the fridge. No kitchen stove inside the house, but we were not there to cook anyway. To have breakfast on the terrace is a big plus! Beautiful flowers everywhere. The area where you can start the walk towards the lava flow is a short drive, worth every cents, but suggest to bike, we did the hike...was not that fancy on the way back:) And take the boat tour to the lava flow...I think I will talk about this amazing experience for the rest of my life :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cacurlyto...
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, peaceful, close to lava boats”
Reviewed November 4, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

One of three cottages across the street from Kekaha Beach. About a 20 minute drive from Isaac Hale Beach Park - which is important if you're taking the dawn boat trip to see the lava flowing into the sea. Everything was clean and ready for us, and Susan made it very easy for us to come and go - and made sure we had arrived safely. I'd return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2016
Yes, these cottages are across the street from Kehena Beach and just down the road from where the boats leave for the lava boat tours. We work hard to keep our cottages clean as that is what we expect when we require lodging. Mahalo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaushiks...
Southborough, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good enough but no kitchen”
Reviewed August 30, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We had expected kitchen as mentioned in the details (may have missed the fact that there's only one kitchen for three cottages and you may not get the one with kitchen). Owners should clarify on the web that Dolphin Cottage doesn't have a kitchen.

But the town was nice though bit of a drive from main center. The cottage rate was also comparable to the neighborhood.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2016
OK, let me explain our position. First and foremost, our cottages are 5 star on Air Bnb and that is hard to do. If most people felt like this gentleman, we would never have a '5 star rating' w/ well over 100 reviews.
What we have here is 3 cottages on a large oceanfront property. Per county regulations, only 1 cottage can have a full kitchen and that's the Whale House. We didn't advertise a full kitchen in the Dolphin Cottage or even the Oceanfront Cottage next door. We do have a microwave and toaster oven available for everyone in the utility room , in back of the Whale House - just 15 feet away. Each cottage does have a full refrigerator, coffeemaker, plates, glasses, utensils and extras in our cottages. If you want to heat something up, 'its really not too much effort to do this' and most people don't complain. It appears that there 'always' will be one person that won't be happy. BTW, a lot of folks don't want to cook while on vacation and we do have two restaurants on the same street as us. We provide this info in the cottages and we can't make our customers read it or do the research if they don't want to. Again, it doesn't cost but a few dollars more for the Whale House that has the full kitchen.
We know that YOU will love this place!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed July 19, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sound of the Ocean
Liked least: the couquis
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing