We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pele's Kitchen

Pele's Kitchen
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Pahoa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef-grown organic produce in most meals, in a rainbow of colors and flavors, in an intimate cafe setting in historic Old Pahoa town. We have wonderfully eclectic tastes for the gourmet as well as vegans who just want "REAL" food. Most of our customers compliment us on how beautiful our food looks as well as how great it tastes, and for the price, it is a deal well worth the drive from Kona! We are in lava zone 1, so, you may have traffic, vog, or Lava to contend with, but you may also have the best time in your life coming here!
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

This restaurant is a hidden treasure in this small town. The presentation of the food was superb. The colors and textures were far more elegant than your would ex[ect at this small town restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshineyellow08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    24
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Tropical Tastebud Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I went to Pele's Kitchen for brunch and enjoyed delicious, locally grown food. Everything was homemade at this family owned and operated restaurant. Everyone was friendly and gave us great tips about what to do while on the island. Pele's also has an authentic Japanese chef Thursday-Saturday who makes fresh sushi, delicious. Don't miss out on this gem while in the Hilo/Pahoa area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Licrosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't miss this...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We wandered into one of the cutest towns ever and found this great restaurant. You are treated like one of the family, by staff and patrons alike, and the food was awesome!! Auntie Liz advised I get the onion rings, fresh cut and fried in tempura - yum! I had the pulled pork sandwich, which was wonderful. My husband had the fish sandwich - mahi mahi - and said it was the best he had ever had (and he's had a few, trust me!!) The greens are grown in their garden and served with homemade dressing. Gotta go, we are going back for breakfast now :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, positive mood, and awesome service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

One can't go wrong when they stop into Pele's Kitchen. First, they are greeted with a warm aloha from Liz, co-owner of the restaurant; then, they are intoxicated with the aroma's coming out of Chef Steven's kitchen where he makes homemade meals from breakfast skillets to top-notch local Ono and everything in between. The place is a must see in Pahoa, especially if you're into farm-fresh, non-GMO ingredients. Liz and Steven create an environment that is as inviting as your grandma's chocolate-chip cookies. I love this restaurant, and went twice a week for about two months until I left the island. I can't wait to go back and remember what true satisfaction tastes like.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I stopped here after a lava boat tour on our way to the airport and we could not be happier we drove by this place. Cute atmosphere, very pleasant owner/staff, and the food is incredible. Fresh everything. Homemade everything. This place is an absolute must!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah_emily317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pele's Kitchen also viewed

Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Pele's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing