We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hated to Leave”
other travelers have booked this property
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Huge sunny front yard overlooking the jungle Jungle Farmhouse on 2.3 acres
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Enjoy the beauty of a organic farm and three bedroom redwood home set in a lush tropical jungle!
Huge sunny front yard overlooking the jungle
Jungle Farmhouse on 2.3 acres
Lots of seating areas on porches.
Parking area to view the active lava flow is just 15 minutes from the farm.
View from kitchen of living room.
Complete kitchen with everything you need.
Open floor plan.
The 2nd bedroom with Queen bed with antique dresser and desk.
Bath features slate tile and tub and shower
Enjoy the optional solar heated hot outdoor shower.
Private drive to farmhouse
Beautiful water gardens
Beautiful edible gardens (Passion Fruit Blossom)
Water gardens with pond
Our tiki overlooks the pond
Tropical flowers abound (Red torch ginger)
Enjoy native plants in garden (Hawaiian Taro)
View of beautiful jungle from Lanai
Ducks enjoying the pond.
Our ducks will greet you.
The pond.
Taro growing throughout the gardens.
Our baby ducklings
Our baby goats.
Mama goat with baby.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laurie_B...
Springfield, VA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Hated to Leave”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed our first 3 nights on the island at the Jungle Farmhouse. What a wonderful place to wind down and actually feel like you're on vacation. Ducks, chickens, goats, dogs, and fresh fruit hanging on the trees all around prove you are in someplace special. The sound of the rain and the frogs make the best night time soundtrack ever, so soothing and so easy to lull you to sleep. From the minute we arrive, Matthew and Danny made us feel at home, offering us fruit, fresh eggs, use of the washer/dryer, ideas for dinner, etc. From the JF, we had a great base of operations to enjoy Kaleo's, the Red Route, the Sunday market-which IS NOT to be missed, the grocery store, etc. Everything was within reach, but everything melted away once you were back on the porch and listening to the frogs, watching the goats, or just looking at the birds. We slept well all 3 nights and were very sad to leave for Kona. Pahoa and the JF just feel so live and vibrant and apart; the dryness and traffic of the west side of Hawai'i feel less like vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the porch
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurence3...
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Paradise on earth”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed in the Jungle Farmhouse with our 3 kids (3, 5 and 7 years) and for them and for us it was paradise: right in the jungle with chicken, goats, ducks, dogs cats and of course geckos and of course the osund of the coquis :-) The Farmhouse is decorated with a lot of taste and you are feeling like home immediately. The location of the farmhouse is great for discovering Puna district: it was the side of Big island we preferred: away from the main tourist areas you are living real hawaii every day! Thanks to the owner who welcomed us so openhearted!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig T
San Rafael, California
Level 6 Contributor
941 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Jungle house for four days during the Merrie Monarch festival in Hilo. We absolutely loved it! Danny and Matthew have a real winner here. Very tastefully decorated and a really comfortable house in a great location. You are within an hour of Volcano National Park, a half hour of wonderful Hilo, and a few minutes from the most Hawaiian of places, Kalapana (go to Uncle Robert's kava bar). We had farm fresh eggs everyday from their many chickens. A full kitchen and a nice grill is right there. 3 very nice bedrooms and a full bath and half bath. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, comfortable home.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FeatherFa...
Abq
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise....”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Ecstatic about our stay @ the Jungle House. Old Hawaiian Style abode, with kimono style stitched curtains, 1950's style furnishings with modern amenities. Make sure to check out the cupboards and the collection of dishes, I loved the unique styles yet another addition to the the quaintness and unique style of the Jungle House.

2 min from Pahoa the Jungle House sits on the highest point of the property with a beautiful view of the property allowing a rich intake of the luscious greenery of many shapes and forms that surround the house.

The enclosed Lanai was agreed upon as our favorite room in the house. The lanai sits on the back side of the house giving yet another breathtaking view. ( I suggest using the out door shower under the lanai.... there is nothing like a shower in the middle of the jungle!)

Did I forget to mention the Jungle House and it's beloved owners Matt and Danny hosted a cocktail party of nearly 50 people. During our visit we were able to celebrate the marriage of our sister. Danny and Matt were gracious not only to allow us to use their property they even helped set it up! Spectacular!!

Do yourself a favor and make it easy. Stay at the Jungle House, it is in a great beautiful SAFE location. You can easily make this location your home base and travel along the Eastern side of the island.

Mahalo~ Danny, Matt, Olive and Doob

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rem008
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing jungle retreat in a great location”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at The Jungle Farmhouse for 4 nights. Matthew and Danny were awesome hosts that live right next door to the house. They are there to make sure you feel comfortable and have everything you need during your stay, not to mention that they are just plain really nice guys. Right when we arrived we noticed that there was ripe tropical fruit waiting for us to eat. Lilikoi (passionfruit and our favorite), tangerines, bananas, avocados and more can be ripe and ready for you to eat depending on the season. There are also quite a few domestic and farm animals on the property that are all well cared for and mannered. The chickens are a hoot and lay a LOT of eggs for you to eat. Several times we saw a chicken or 2 slyly come up the front steps, jump on the wicker chair, look around to make sure the coast was clear, and then leave a nice and warm freshly laid egg as a gift.

The house is quaint but has a lot of charm and includes most modern luxuries such as a flat screen TV and WiFi. There is a nice screened-in lanai on the back of the house overlooking the lush jungle surrounding the property. Washer/dryer are available to use right outside of the kitchen. Covered parking was convenient, as there were a few rainy days while we were there. The bed in the Captain's Room, where we slept, was the most comfortable we had out of 3 different places we stayed on the island. The worst part of staying here was the frogs at night. They are loud (almost like a whistle) and take some getting used to, but they are everywhere in this area. Once you get used to them you will sleep soundly.

The location is really awesome, literally a few blocks down from the main street in Pahoa but in the middle of the jungle. If you need to grab some groceries or want to go to a restaurant, it's just a few minutes from the house. The Kapoho tide pools (awesome snorkeling!) and other warm pools are a short and beautiful 15 minute drive. The lava viewing area (end of road 137) and the new Kaimu black sand beach (near Uncle Robert's) are also just a short drive away. If you want to see flowing lava (the only place you can on the island), go early in the day and be back at your car by 2PM at the latest. The lava/steam plume still looks amazing during the daytime and you will avoid getting lost/hurt and harassed by the security guards that arrive at 3PM (it's supposedly a restricted access area but there is nobody around before 3PM). Trust us, this is what the locals told us and they were right. Hilo is also a short 20 minute drive and has LOTS of things to offer in and around it. If you like snorkeling, give Richardson Beach Park a try!

Overall a pleasant stay and a good bet for the Puna area. Enjoy! ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, fresh eggs and fruit
Liked least: frogs at night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreainV...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful jungle retreat”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

I visited the Jungle Farmhouse with my parents and two of my friends when we were in the area for a walk to the flowing lava. Though Pahoa is a bit away from the current activity it was the perfect home base for us. It is close to several fantastic restaurants in Pahoa and a short drive to the coast and to the lava. Matthew was a wonderful host and has a great home for visiting. The farmhouse is super clean, has a lot of space, and is fun to explore - where else do you get to see avocado trees, papaya and tangerine trees, passionfruit, plants galore, and a chicken that lays an egg on a chair of one of the lanais/patio?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The jungle sounds
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BostonFal...
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation home”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

This is a great place to relax. If you are looking for a place to get out of the rat race and away from the noise this is your place. The owners are wonderful. You get the whole house, with a supply of fresh eggs and fruit from the garden. They have their own chickens and ducks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large Backyard
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing