We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“keep going past the cutoff up to 130...”
Review of Kalapana Village Cafe - CLOSED

Kalapana Village Cafe
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
seattle
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“keep going past the cutoff up to 130...”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great spot to grab lunch after hitting warm pools....

Uncle roberts place is nice if you don't want to wait in line at cafe.

We had excellent mahi plate lunch. $11.

Self guided walk over the lava out to former kalapana beach...can't really get down on beach due to lava shelf, but can see small black sand beach and steam from ocean entry lava off in distance

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank catydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little treasure at the end of the road!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We rented a house in the area and were told about this place by friends who vacation regularly in the area. We did breakfast there before our days adventures! It was great! Very fresh and great atmosphere! Perfect little outdoor cafe area. We ended up going there 3 out of the 5 in were in Pahoa. Will be stopping there again during our next trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmm1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Great place to eat before hiking or going to the black sand beach! It is the only place around but it is still a great option! A lot of food choices and everyone was friendly! We went twice for breakfast and once for lunch! The food takes a little longer than usual but not too bad, you can enjoy the scenery and relax while waiting. There is also a small store attached for snacks and drinks. The people working are also friendly and are willing to provide info if you ask!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jnland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great people, great food!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were staying at a house up the road and are glad we visited the Kalapana Village Cafe! Both the wife and I plus two keiki enjoyed petting the restaurant dog, and the young lady taking and serving orders that evening, she was very friendly and we LOVED the music she and the cook were singing and jamming to. (One song was Walk Off the Earth's cover of Rihanna's "Man Down") these bring great memories to our family as we listen to some songs we heard that night here. The food was worth the wait and very good, great portions also! This crew of two really made the time awesome here, and they work very hard at getting things done right. One thing we noticed was that other patrons weren't so kind by leaving their dirty plates on the cafe's recycling bin, it is clearly labelled! :( But my kids and I cleared a few of those plates to try and help these kind people out, how ridiculous is that? Come on people please clear your plates properly when you exit a friendly cafe like this!! Other than that, we truly enjoyed the company and outdoor ambience of this quaint and fun place to get some good grinds. The little store next door had some items we needed and the lady working in there was wonderful and also had lots of Aloha like the folks working the cafe. Stop by this cafe if you're in the area!!! GREAT STUFF!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KCreviewsU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Thankful to find food still available at the end of the red road; it is the only around for miles! However, disappointed with this place as compared to the former Verna's with incredible ice cream sundaes with fresh fruit that are sadly no longer available.
Ordered a chicken salad here, assuming it would be like most in the world....sliced grilled chicken, but not here! Shocked to received a fried chicken breast on top of greens! So much for trying to eat healthy. My husband's burger and fries was a better choice for him.
The worst part of this place was the unrelenting flies! I think we worked off calories while swatting continuously while we consumed our meals as quickly as possible to get out of here! Really could not enjoy eating due to this. Tip to the owner: invest in a screened eating area! Next time, we'll pack a picnic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtnwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapana Village Cafe also viewed

Kalapana, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing