We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hawaiian Food and Burgers!”
Review of Kalapana Village Cafe - CLOSED

Kalapana Village Cafe
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian, Cafe
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Great Hawaiian Food and Burgers!”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were happy with every meal. Big portions, yummy flavors, and they use a lot of local ingredients: Big Island grass fed beef, local veggies, and they serve Hilo handmade icecream!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MicheleT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Yummy Grinds at the End of the Road.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We always look forward to eating here. The hamburgers are ono. Lot's of different menu items.
The banana splits and sundaes are very good. To rid some of those extra calories walk across the road to the lava field with a path to one of the newest beaches on the Big Island. It's an easy hike and we always enjoy seeing how much the palm trees have grown. The trees were planted by locals when the original beach was destroyed by this lava flow. We also enjoy the beautiful drive to get here on Highway 137. Prices are reasonable and they take credit cards.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Had the beer battered ono and it was good! Crispy on the outside, light and flaky on the inside. Dipping sauce was tasty too. Reasonably priced. Staff was very friendly and nice.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yellowknife
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“We ate here 4 times!”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We were staying at a B&B just down the road and not only was this the closest restaurant we were also impressed by the food. Local grass fed beef burgers with great ono fish sandwiches and salads. It was quick. The atmosphere may not be for all. It has a take out type style with seating at plastic chairs outside near the decade old lava flow. The salads were great and we always bought our soda/pop at the little convenience store in the same building to save more money. Our usual price, without apply, was $14-28CAD for two mains. Delicious and excited about eating here again in the future because of it's pure value. Again, it's not fancy!

They close at 8pms weekdays and 9pms weekends.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank novacanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
155 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Funky beach café with good eats and fascinating history!”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

A short walk from the spectacular Kaimu black sand beach, this little restaurant is a popular hangout for surfers, tourists, and local residents. It has an interesting history, being one of the few structures left standing at their original location after a massive lava flow from Kilauea volcano completely destroyed the old Kalapana fishing village in 1990.
For "ono grinds" (good eats in Hawaiian slang), Kalapana Village Café is a perfect choice for lunch or dinner. We eat here quite often because it’s close to where we live (there's no other restaurant with 30-40 miles radius!) and we like the fun relaxing atmosphere. The food is only OK but affordable and comes in big portions. We also like meeting interesting people from all over the world here, including a few incognito vacationing celebs! You order food through a window and eat outside on the picnic tables in the lovely garden, under the shade of the kukui tree and coconut palm. Try the delicious local-style lunch plates (our favorite is the grilled fresh ahi with rice and macaroni salad, $13) or juicy hamburgers (we love the Blue Hawaiian Burger, topped with melted blue cheese, grilled pineapple, red onion, tomato, and served with a big heap of crunchy fries, $11). Ice cream, milk shake, and other tasty homemade treats like macadamia nut fudge brownies are also a must try! In the evening, the place takes on a festive look with tiki torches around the garden and candles on the picnic tables. Bring your own wine/beer as the restaurant doesn’t serve alcohol, or better yet, order your food to-go and take it to the beach, spread a blanket on the rocks, enjoy your dinner and the sunset!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank punacoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapana Village Cafe also viewed

Kalapana, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
Pahoa, Island of Hawaii
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing