We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ohia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ohia House
Ranked #1 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodbridge, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the Ohia House B&B for 3 days in February. Cindy was a very gracious hostess and very knowledgable about the area. Breakfast time was a real treat each day because she would share tips and suggestions about things to do and see in the area. In addition, the food was delicious and very nicely presented.
We truly enjoyed the screened Lanai and beautifully landscaped grounds.
Our quarters were attached to the house by a breeze-way which gave us complete privacy. It was very clean and nicely furnished.
Great place! You wouldn't go wrong staying here. We would like to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iluv2travel1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
157
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

With the best breakfasts anywhere on the island, and a location that gives access to not only the whole of the southeast of the island but is also only an hour from Volcano National park, and easy reach of Hilo town, what more could you want?
Excellent hospitality and the nearby town of Pahoa has some great restaurants and also an excellent health food store which is great for takeout lunches and even dinners which can be heated up back at the accommodation.
Have stayed here several years in a row, and will do so again...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singingbowl777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Cindy & Rick really strive to make every guests stay perfect! From the personalized, delicious (awesome) breakfasts, to the dinner reservations, and the recommendations for local activities and locations, they excell! We appreciated the very private accommodations and large lanai and the amenities like snorkel gear, beach mats & chairs, umbrellas, mini-kitchen and the reusable chico bag gift! The location is centrally located for exploring Hilo, Volcanoes National Park, and the beautiful seashores of the Puna region. The reason for 3 stars on sleep is we're used to sleeping in a king size bed and often find a queen too small. We recommend sleeping with the bedroom window closed if you don't like the 'jungle' 'white' noise. Cindy & Rick were very generous, helpful, and friendly, and we appreciate all their help & insight. We will definitely consider staying with them again if we find ourselves in the Pahoa area!

Room Tip: Only one room to choose from! Very private with spacious lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suspv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neustadt, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We enjoyed this property so much that we extended our stay for two additional nights. Rick and Cindy are great hosts who offer useful local insights and suggestions for restaurants etc. It's a quiet location, yet is perfectly placed to enjoy the Puna region, which became our favourite area on the big island. We appreciate being the only guests with our own spacious lanai to enjoy...much better than some of the more commercial "b and b factories". We felt more like friends than customers. On several nights, we chose to heat simple meals in the microwave so we could enjoy the evening on the lanai listening to the coqui frog chorus rather than go to a restaurant. The breakfasts were superb, with every day's offering different. The room had everything we needed, and we particularly appreciated being able to make free phone calls to all of the island as well as to family on the mainland. We looked forward to getting back "home" after our daily outings in this beautiful part of Hawaii. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Telfer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Rick and Cindy are friendly, low-key, gracious host and hostess who really know the area and share insights and tips freely. We also had dinner in town at a popular, lively restaurant that is so tucked away we wouldn't have found it without their advice and directions.

Excellent location to visit all the attractions on the Hilo side of the island as well as the amazing Volcano Nat'l Park.

Can't wait to return for our fourth visit.

Room Tip: This secluded B&B has only ONE guest room. Extremely private and spacious accommodations. Fant...
See more room tips
Green Features: The lovely breakfast is served on your private, screened lanai. Fresh fruits from the lovely gardens on the property are always served. Also, personal care products are high-end environmentally friendly, and pure.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our first visit to The Big Island because Cindy and Rick were perfect hosts, the location was beautiful, and the room had everything we needed. Additionally, Cindy's breakfasts cannot be topped, I gained 5 pounds, I ate everything and some of my wife's. Cindy has a keen interest of the Island and can tell you quite a bit about the sights to be seen. Don't miss Volcanos National Park including the night view of Kilauea.

If you land at Kona's Airport use Saddle Road to get to Pahoa.

Green Features: The whole house is environmentally friendly, have Cindy or Rick explain all they did.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KDTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

For any travelers who wish to visit the Big Island, The Ohia House is an amazing place to stay! The owners, Rick and Cindy, went out of their way to make us feel welcome, treating us like Ohana (Hawaiian for family). They far surpassed what your average Bed and Breakfast provides for guests, as not only were the accommodations incredible, but they gave us insight on what to do while on the Big Island.

My girlfriend and I arrived shortly after Christmas in 2013,and stayed until New Years Eve. While at the Ohia House, we enjoyed a hot breakfast and coffee (Oh the coffee!) each morning as we woke up. Ask for the "Egg Basket," or the Quiche. Rick and Cindy showed us how to the get to the coffee plantation where they order their coffee from, and we bought 2 bags ourselves.

The room we stayed was quite spacious, along with satellite TV, books to read, and the decor was truly Hawaiian. The beautiful manicured grounds enhanced the tranquility of The Ohia House.

Rick and Cindy will surely treat you right, no matter your travel preferences. Its about 20 miles from Hilo, so know you are going to be away from the big city. You will need a rental car in order to maximize your stay on the Island and at The Ohia House. Its a short distance to the beach, and volcano (which was awesome!). Their expertise on the Island led us to some great things to see and do while in Hilo and Pahoa. They even showed us where to watch our beloved 49ers up in HIlo.

It was a romantic excursion, essentially in the rain forest. We would honestly recommend The Ohia House to anyone who want to enjoy Hawaii in more personal setting.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
20.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
20.3 mi away
Arnott's Lodge
Arnott's Lodge
#1 of 8 in Hilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
21.9 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ohia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ohia House

Property: The Ohia House
Address: 13-3357 Hookupu St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ohia House 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohia House, a private, warm, intimate Bed and Breakfast located in Pahoa, Hawaii serving up aloha the way it has always been meant to be experienced. We blend luxury, serenity and personal service, to give you a true feeling of seclusion and serenity so you may truly enjoy your vacation. Our Hawaii accommodations are set back off the road in the tropical rainforest in Leilani Estates, we have only one well-appointed suite, and you are our only guest, no sharing the common areas with other guests! Come let Ohia House B & B be your private retreat on the Island. We are a permitted B & B by the state of Hawaii, the perfect centrally located home base for your Big Island vacation. Located between Hilo International Airport and Volcanoes National Park, just minutes from the quaint village of Pahoa, where you will find numerous restaurants and shops. Whatever your pleasure, whatever your special need, you will be pampered so your visit will be full of true aloha, we're waiting for you. One room, your private screened lanai, & a private pool. Enjoy a great Island breakfast each morning to meet your special dietary needs. We look forward to your visit! Ohia House is waiting. Aloha, Cindy & Rick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Ohia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ohia House Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing