We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Want to Go Back!”
Review of The Ohia House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ohia House
Ranked #2 of 17 Pahoa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We Want to Go Back!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Cindy and Rick obviously enjoy running a B & B, and they make you feel very welcome. The room was wonderful, with everything we needed (plus more). Cindy chatted with us at breakfast every morning, giving us tips and sharing stories. We asked tons of questions and she happily answered them all. The food was delicious, we looked forward to it every morning. We stayed at a condo on the other side of the island after staying here, and we felt much more comfortable at the Ohia House. Wish we would have stayed there all week instead!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaursieBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
160
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed with Rick and Cindy for two nights and had a wonderful time. We really appreciated Cindy's tips on where to go and what to do - she even kindly researched information about where to view the transit of Venus for us. We also thought that they were incredibly thoughtful about our entire stay - from the way the room was laid out and its comfort, to the delicious breakfasts that Cindy served.

Stay here if you want to enjoy the lush beauty of the big island and ambience of the forest in a peaceful and secluded setting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed for three nights at the Ohia House and it was such a wonderful, private, and relaxing experience! Cindy was so kind and thoughtful, she gave us many tips on where to go, what activities to do in the area, where to eat, etc. We did everything she said, and had an amazing time! Her breakfasts were gourmet! The banana and macademia nut souffle was incredible - her creative egg baskets were so yummy - and her amazing baked french toast! Plus an abundance of pineapple, mango, papaya, and litchi grown in her backyard. Definitely the best food we had during our stay in the Big Island and Oahu. The room was very private and the lanai was so nice to sit in during the morning. Thank you Cindy for a most wonderful stay - truly the highlight of our trip

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green River, WY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Definitely the best place we've stayed in the islands. We were there for 6 days and enjoyed all of them. Cindy and Rick were great hosts and Cindy fixed perfect breakfasts. Her help with things to do and places to go and eat was invaluable! This retreat makes the perfect base of operations and we really did feel right at home. We left friends and would love to come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We had a two night stay and loved it. The room is very private...and you have a private lanai too. Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic!!! It was enough food that were able to skip lunch and were fine till dinner. Cindy and Rick were the perfect hosts. We got great tips for things to see and where to go for dinner. The area is quiet.....except for the frogs. I'm sensitive to night noises but just closed the windows and was fine.
We would definitely stay again and will be recommending Ohia House to friends.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We had a delightful two-night stay at the Ohia House B&B in Pahoa, HI. Our original intention was to stay in Hilo, but we happened to be there during the Merrie Monarch Hula Festival (a very big deal in Hawaii). Everything within 20 miles of Hilo was booked. A TripAdvisor search led us to the Ohia House. What a fortunate circumstance.

This enchanting one-room B&B and our two days for exploring the Volcanoes National Park and the Puna Coast were the highlights of our vacation. The house is secluded in a mature ohia forest with wonderful grounds filled with orchids and other tropical flowers. The hosts, Cindy and Rick were charming and offered great tips for exploring the area. The guest suite is separate from the main house and has its own bath, a microwave, a refrigerator, coffee maker, and a huge screened lanai. Day trip supplies such as a cooler, beach mats and towels, snorkel gear, and umbrellas were available to borrow.

Breakfast was served on the Lanai complete with fresh orchids and Hawaiian music. Cindy’s breakfasts were luscious and memorable. The first morning, we had juice, coffee, the best papaya ever, croissants, and a killer frittata. The second morning included baked French toast with local blueberries.

Sleeping in the ohia forest was really relaxing on a comfortable queen bed, but here is a warning: Like most of the wet side of the big island (including Hilo), Pahoa is filled with coqui frogs. From just after sundown to a few hours before dawn the woods are filled with their bird-like chirps and whistles. Some people (myself included) find the sound soothing and restful. Others consider the little beasties irritating. Like the vast majority of houses (and hotels) on the east side of the island, the Ohia House does not have air conditioning and you will probably want to leave the windows open at night…bring ear plugs if nocturnal background noise bothers you.

The Ohia House will defiantly be included on our next big island adventure. Thank you Cindy and Rick.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lino Lakes, MN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very clean and well kept.The room was nicer and more private than I had expected it to be - it is on the side of the main house and the large lanai you see in the pictures is for the use of the B&B room (there is only 1 room so you are the only guests at the time.) Cindy and Rick were lovely hosts - low key but available and interesting. We travel a lot and were very impressed with all the special touches such as that little extras were placed in the room for our use...from umbrellas to snorkel gear to beach towels to bandaids. Very helpful when flying with just carry-on baggage! Breakfast is phenomenal - and Cindy introduced us to Dragon Fruit. We were lucky to be able to go out on a guided night hike across the lava flow fields and get very close to where the lava was falling into the ocean - an unforgettable experience. The location of the Ohia House is very convenient for amazing night viewing when the lava is flowing. We would go back and have recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MakiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahoa
21.8 mi away
Chalet Kilauea
Chalet Kilauea
#1 of 2 in Volcano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
20.8 mi away
Castle Hilo Hawaiian Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hale Moana Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Kimos' Ohanas
The Kimos' Ohanas
#3 of 17 in Pahoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Inn at Kulaniapia Falls
21.9 mi away
Lotus Garden Cottages
Lotus Garden Cottages
#1 of 31 in Volcano
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ohia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ohia House

Property: The Ohia House
Address: 13-3357 Hookupu St, Pahoa, Island of Hawaii, HI 96778-8407
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Pahoa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pahoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ohia House 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohia House, a private, warm, intimate Bed and Breakfast located in Pahoa, Hawaii serving up aloha the way it has always been meant to be experienced. We blend luxury, serenity and personal service, to give you a true feeling of seclusion and serenity so you may truly enjoy your vacation. Our Hawaii accommodations are set back off the road in the tropical rainforest in Leilani Estates, we have only one well-appointed suite, and you are our only guest, no sharing the common areas with other guests! Come let Ohia House B & B be your private retreat on the Island. We are a permitted B & B by the state of Hawaii, the perfect centrally located home base for your Big Island vacation. Located between Hilo International Airport and Volcanoes National Park, just minutes from the quaint village of Pahoa, where you will find numerous restaurants and shops. Whatever your pleasure, whatever your special need, you will be pampered so your visit will be full of true aloha, we're waiting for you. One room, your private screened lanai, & a private pool. Enjoy a great Island breakfast each morning to meet your special dietary needs. We look forward to your visit! Ohia House is waiting. Aloha, Cindy & Rick ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Ohia House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ohia House Hawaii/Pahoa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing